Customer Reviews for

Ramona Quimby, Age 8

Average Rating 4
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Ramona Strikes Again!

I loved Beverly Cleary books when I was younger. I remember this one in particular. Ramona and smashing the egg in her hair because she thought it was hard-boiled..only it wasn't, the Yard-Ape, the umm dinner that could taste you back. I remember it being a reassuran...
I loved Beverly Cleary books when I was younger. I remember this one in particular. Ramona and smashing the egg in her hair because she thought it was hard-boiled..only it wasn't, the Yard-Ape, the umm dinner that could taste you back. I remember it being a reassurance to read about Ramona's life and to know that all of that stuff was normal. Families fought, parent's were annoying, school was tough, but in the end, everything was okay.

I loved sharing it with my daughters this time around. My oldest is eight, which makes her a "young adult" according to her. She could totally relate with Ramona. I think the mind of an eight-year-old was clearly captured by Cleary. Ramona is a bit more trouble that my daughter, but I'm pretty sure she feels the same way, she just doesn't act on it!

This is my first post relating to my 'official' Newbery Challenge I am hosting. Please feel free to join in! See my blog below to enter.


Please come and visit me at my blog, Between the Lines, at www.jennifermorrill.wordpress.com. I'd love to hear from you!

posted by BetweenTheLines on October 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Ramona

These books are great! I love reading them because they are so short. Short chapter books are great for ages 8 because they are just starting to read chapter books and they should start with a short, simple, easy read. All of the Ramona books are great, and the movies. ...
These books are great! I love reading them because they are so short. Short chapter books are great for ages 8 because they are just starting to read chapter books and they should start with a short, simple, easy read. All of the Ramona books are great, and the movies. I like the books better because they have more detail, but thats my opinion. I love these books and I know you will love them too. So go to the Nook Book Store and buy yourself a Ramona book and it doesnt matter which one their all good books!

posted by 4656558 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Ramona is relatable!!!!!!!

    I was 8 once and I can relate to a lot of things in this book. I was a pest to my older siblings like ramona and beezus. Ramona takes on the 3rd grade and family. The book has a good ending. I would recomend this book!

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!

    I have read this book A LOT of times and every time i love it even more than i did the last time! I LOVE beverly clearly! She is a GREAT author!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I thought that this book was just amazing. One of my favorite parts was when Ramona was sick in bed and she acually ended up doing the report. When I read about her friends being cats and about her report, it just made me laugh. If you make any more just like this book, I would just love to read it. Don't stop and keep up the good work.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    Awesome!

    I think that Ramona Quimby was the book character that I related to the most while growing up. We faced the same 'major problems' and I was able to read the funny things ahe did and said to fix her problems so that i could try to fix mine in the same way. Beverly Cleary does a wonderful job at showing her understanding of an eight year old and Ramona is the rounded character that anyone can relate to. Cleary, Beverly. Ramona Quimby, Age 8. New York: William Morrow and Company, 1981.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    G

    Ramona Quimby has always been one of my favorites growing up. If you enjoy junie b jones you will enjoy this

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Ramona age 8

    It is her best book yet

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Shes 8 and in 1st grade?

    I read it and its good but arent you supposed to be in 3rd grade when you are eight....?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Ramona quimby age 8

    This is the best book ever made its #1

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Bob

    This book is one oc the best books i have ever but it is too expensive.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Beautiful.

    This is a very heart warming family story that would most likely attract ages 6-12. Beverly cleary has once again proved herself a guenis. I compleately and very strongly recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure. Have fun reading and stay in school kids. ;)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    best book

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great

    Awesome

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Zander

    Cool

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    it's a pretty great book, i love reading ramona series of book a

    it's a pretty great book, i love reading ramona series of book and i love the author beverly clearly too

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Cool

    Wow i never knew the book was that good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    A young girl...

    As a little girl i have always loved and still do beverly's stories. Ramona is an instant classic that has warmed many hearts along with me 4 many generations. And it will live on for lifetimes for an eternity...i have grown up with these books. Wonderful captivating realistic heartwarming perfectly marvelous hilarious lovely and memorable:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Ramona

    GOOD Book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Dghjuytrffffvvvhhhh

    THE BEST BOOK EVER!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Great book!

    Loved this book as a kid. Read it over and over. Would recommend to any kid old enough to read chapter books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Ramona hoped her parentes forget to give her a little talking to

    It is a great book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8