Customer Reviews for

Ramona and Her Father

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Book to Span Generations

"To start off I need to just say, I'm a huge fan of Beverly Cleary. Her book, Socks was the book that started my reading journey when I was very little. Somehow Cleary manages to capture the heart and mind of whomever she is speaking for in her characters. It's truly as...
"To start off I need to just say, I'm a huge fan of Beverly Cleary. Her book, Socks was the book that started my reading journey when I was very little. Somehow Cleary manages to capture the heart and mind of whomever she is speaking for in her characters. It's truly astounding! This, I feel, is exactly why in her years of writing she has accumulated numerous awards (Newbery, Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award in '84, and many more) and a devoted following of all ages. Cleary also participates in National Drop Everything And Read Day on April 12th, which also happens to be her birthday. She encourages reading every day, but this event is focused on getting individuals and families to take time and sit down to read together. An amazing author with wonderful books and an ability to reach readers of all ages!

"Now, on to Ramona and Her Father...It was awarded the Newbery Honor in 1978, which also happens to be the year I was born, but I guess that's besides the point. Even with the book being originally printed in 1978 I found it highly relevant for today's audience, especially considering our current economic climate. In the very beginning of the book Ramona's father loses his job, unfortunately something many families are dealing with now. The story consists of Ramona's reaction to all that occurs because of this dramatic event in her families life. Ramona goes from trying to make a million dollars, to just trying to make everyone in her family happy, to trying to help her father quit smoking, and eventually just trying to keep a positive attitude herself.

"What I most loved about the story was how well it was told from the perspective of an eight year old. As a parent sometimes it can be difficult to step outside of yourself and actually truly see how your child might feel about something. Cleary understands how the impact of the main 'bread-winner' losing their job could affect even the youngest member of a family. It opened my eyes to all sorts of situations and points of view. Ramona was kind and concerned for everyone in the family, but obviously still had very 'typical' child-like moments. A very well written and playful story told from the viewpoint of an eight year old. A must read, especially in these difficult times."

posted by the1stdaughter on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have the paper book

I have the paper back book.I like it better if it was like the books I have on my NOOK.

posted by 18925881 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Book to Span Generations

    "To start off I need to just say, I'm a huge fan of Beverly Cleary. Her book, Socks was the book that started my reading journey when I was very little. Somehow Cleary manages to capture the heart and mind of whomever she is speaking for in her characters. It's truly astounding! This, I feel, is exactly why in her years of writing she has accumulated numerous awards (Newbery, Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award in '84, and many more) and a devoted following of all ages. Cleary also participates in National Drop Everything And Read Day on April 12th, which also happens to be her birthday. She encourages reading every day, but this event is focused on getting individuals and families to take time and sit down to read together. An amazing author with wonderful books and an ability to reach readers of all ages!

    "Now, on to Ramona and Her Father...It was awarded the Newbery Honor in 1978, which also happens to be the year I was born, but I guess that's besides the point. Even with the book being originally printed in 1978 I found it highly relevant for today's audience, especially considering our current economic climate. In the very beginning of the book Ramona's father loses his job, unfortunately something many families are dealing with now. The story consists of Ramona's reaction to all that occurs because of this dramatic event in her families life. Ramona goes from trying to make a million dollars, to just trying to make everyone in her family happy, to trying to help her father quit smoking, and eventually just trying to keep a positive attitude herself.

    "What I most loved about the story was how well it was told from the perspective of an eight year old. As a parent sometimes it can be difficult to step outside of yourself and actually truly see how your child might feel about something. Cleary understands how the impact of the main 'bread-winner' losing their job could affect even the youngest member of a family. It opened my eyes to all sorts of situations and points of view. Ramona was kind and concerned for everyone in the family, but obviously still had very 'typical' child-like moments. A very well written and playful story told from the viewpoint of an eight year old. A must read, especially in these difficult times."

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AWESOME!

    It is a fun-filled book for kids and adults. Who ever reads it is sure to fall of the couch laughing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    WOW!

    This was a really good book my teacher read it to me and it was cool. It was sad but just wait to see what happens.
    :D

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Jbjvnvn

    "Thank goodness today is payday," said mrs.quimby or so she thought little did she relize when her husband came home he would have no job. Ramona lost all hope of ever going to the whooper burger crushed. She wanted to be on a commercial ever since her father lost his job. I think this was a great book my favorite chapter was the last one. If you want to find out more about this book? Read it





    Like this book? give it a five star review or like it on facebook








    Dont have enough money? go to the library








    Library dosent carry it? ask a friend








    Still cant find the book? save up some money a buy it









    Like this review? Hit yes









    This revieiw was posted by ,

    Cant get along without my Ramona



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Nooks rock i hate kendels

    G

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Grace4414

    I loved this book!!! It was so sweet seeing how strong ramona's conetchen betwen her and her father!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Ramona and Her Father

    The 1978 Newbery Honor book ¿Ramona and Her Father¿ by Beverly Cleary was published in 1977. Cleary was born in McMinnvillem, Oregon on April 12, 1916. She is one of the most popular authors in America, and she is the author of over 30 books for children and young adults. She earned a degree in librarianship from the University of Washington in Seattle, and became a Children¿s Librarian in Yakima, Washington. She and her husband moved to Oakland, California where they had twins who are now grown. Cleary¿s husband passed away in 2004 and she currently lives in Carmel, California. ¿Ramona and Her Father¿ is about a little girl, Ramona, who just wants her family to be happy. One day Ramona is making her Christmas list early because she was in a ¿ye-e-ep¿ mood, but as the day progressed she finds out that her father lost his job. Ramona knew her family couldn¿t afford the items she had listed, so she crossed them all out. She then ¿studied her crayons, chose a pinky-red one because it seemed the happiest color, and printed one more item on her Christmas list to make up for all she had crossed out,¿ which was ¿one happy family.¿ Things got rough after this horrible news, but Ramona was determined to make her family happy again. She wanted her father to smile and joke again, her mother to not be so sad and worried, her sister to be happy again, and even for her cat to eat his food again. Ramona tries very hard to make her family happy again by rehearsing for life pretending to be a rich and famous star on a television commercial. Her attempts only make things worse, and everyone gets agitated and impatient with her, even her teacher. One day Ramona¿s father admits something to her, something so big that it may make things a lot easier on little Ramona. What do you think it is? You will have to read to find out. This book is wonderful. It is a simple book about a young girl and her family. Children who are going through similar situations could get some comfort from reading this book. The book is fun, amusing, and heartwarming as well. I would recommend this book to others. The age range for this book is 8 to 10 and the reading level is five. Cleary, Beverly. Ramona and Her Father. New York: William Morrow and Company, 1977.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Ramona and her Father

    ~* Ramona and her father have a really weird relationship. You can tell Ramona likes her father because she doesn't want her father to Die by the effects of Smoking Ciggarettes. Ramona is a very funny little girl and I love her books. Beverly Cleary Thank You, for writing such wondeful books. I dont want them to end. Keep on writing Ramona. You have a great Imagination~*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Great book read it and you will know what I mean:)

    This book is funny cute and adictive trust me on this one you
    Will open up this book and read till the last page... please read
    It you will love it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I thought it w

    I read this book for my 3rd grade book report and I thought it was really good. Ramona's family was having a lot of money problems and her dad lost his job. He was not happy or in a good mood. Ramona worked very hard to have a happy family. I think people should read this book because it is a good book for everyone. The main character, Ramona, is very warmhearted and funny. All she wanted was for her family to be happy. While I was reading I felt like I would want to be friends with Ramona. I think having a playdate after school at her house would be fun. She seems to have a fun personality and can be adventurous. The one part I did not like was when Ramona's dad, Mr. Quimby, was upset with Ramona and Beezus when they put paper rolls in his cigarette box and wrote, "Smoking is bad." Overall, I think this book is really well-written and has a sincere and funny main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2014

    this book was so good that it mad me cry it was so so so cool

    this book was so good that it mad me cry it was so so so cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Ramona And Her Father Ramona and Her Fathwe

    It's a good book about the relationship of a girl and her father. When Ramona Quimby' s father looses his job, it'a hqrd time for the family. This is what happens.
    Sarah Baird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Ramona and her father!

    I remember reading these books and when I was young and today I saw a kid reading Ramona and her father. I got teary eyed. It is a great book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Gret book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Awsome

    I love this book!it is awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Eve

    I thought it was really good and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Gr

    Elli

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Okay

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book

    The book was about Ramona's father losing his job. The book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5