Customer Reviews for

Ramona and Her Father

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Book to Span Generations

"To start off I need to just say, I'm a huge fan of Beverly Cleary. Her book, Socks was the book that started my reading journey when I was very little. Somehow Cleary manages to capture the heart and mind of whomever she is speaking for in her characters. It's truly as...
"To start off I need to just say, I'm a huge fan of Beverly Cleary. Her book, Socks was the book that started my reading journey when I was very little. Somehow Cleary manages to capture the heart and mind of whomever she is speaking for in her characters. It's truly astounding! This, I feel, is exactly why in her years of writing she has accumulated numerous awards (Newbery, Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award in '84, and many more) and a devoted following of all ages. Cleary also participates in National Drop Everything And Read Day on April 12th, which also happens to be her birthday. She encourages reading every day, but this event is focused on getting individuals and families to take time and sit down to read together. An amazing author with wonderful books and an ability to reach readers of all ages!

"Now, on to Ramona and Her Father...It was awarded the Newbery Honor in 1978, which also happens to be the year I was born, but I guess that's besides the point. Even with the book being originally printed in 1978 I found it highly relevant for today's audience, especially considering our current economic climate. In the very beginning of the book Ramona's father loses his job, unfortunately something many families are dealing with now. The story consists of Ramona's reaction to all that occurs because of this dramatic event in her families life. Ramona goes from trying to make a million dollars, to just trying to make everyone in her family happy, to trying to help her father quit smoking, and eventually just trying to keep a positive attitude herself.

"What I most loved about the story was how well it was told from the perspective of an eight year old. As a parent sometimes it can be difficult to step outside of yourself and actually truly see how your child might feel about something. Cleary understands how the impact of the main 'bread-winner' losing their job could affect even the youngest member of a family. It opened my eyes to all sorts of situations and points of view. Ramona was kind and concerned for everyone in the family, but obviously still had very 'typical' child-like moments. A very well written and playful story told from the viewpoint of an eight year old. A must read, especially in these difficult times."

posted by the1stdaughter on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have the paper book

I have the paper back book.I like it better if it was like the books I have on my NOOK.

posted by 18925881 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great!

    Im so glad i purchased this on my nook color!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Cant wait

    I havent read this book but i hear its realy good.there ar no issues with beaverly cleary its just AWSOME

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Love

    I love this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    I love this book

    I love this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    I love this book so much

    This book is a good one i hope you read it and find out if the father stops SMOKING

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    One of the best books i have read!!!!

    I think that this book is one of the best books in the history of the greatest books.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Ramona is AWSOME!!!

    Ramona and her father is a amazing story with a funny plot line I highly recomended it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    kk

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    i recommend this book because it is really interesting and youll really like it...please read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    College Review for Class

    When everyone in your family is unhappy and something has happen to one of your parents jobs is there a way to make them happy again? In Ramona and Her Father, a children¿s fiction book for ages 8-12 that won the 1978 Newbery Honor Book, Ramona just wants everyone to be happy. If only her father would smile and joke again, her mother would look less worried, her sister would be cheerful, and Picky-picky would eat his cat-food. Ramona tries to cheer up her family as only Ramona can. She rehearses for life pretending to be a rich and famous star on a television commercial. Her best efforts only make things worse. Her sister, Beezus, calls her a pest, her parents lose patience with her, and her teacher claims she¿s forgotten her manners. One day Ramona father admits . . . read the rest of this wonderful book by Beverly Cleary to find out what Ramona father admits too. The author Beverly Cleary was born in McMinnville, Oregon where she lived on a farm in Yamhill, which was so small it didn¿t even have a library. She entered the School of Librarianship at the University of Washington, Seattle. There she specialized in library work with children. She was Children¿s Librarian in Yakima, Washington, until she married Clarence Cleary and moved to California. They have twins, now grown. Other books you will enjoy reading by this author: Ramona Quimby, Age 8 and Dear Mr. Henshaw. Cleary Beverly, Ramona And Her Father, William Morrow and Company: New York, New York, 1977

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    I loved it. It was great.

    In this story Ramona's father has lost his job.Everyone is grumpy. Ramona tried to help her father stop smoking but that only makes him more upset. But finally someone offers him a job. That makes everyone happy again. But not Ramona. Her mother did not have time to make her a sheep costume for her school play and it was tonight. She had to wear her pajamas with bunny prints on them. I'd say this story was a really good book! I liked this book because it reminds me of the time my family was in a similar situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    JUST A GREAT BOOK

    This book, like all the books by Cleary, is honest and funny. I've been reading the Ramona books since I was in kindergarten. They're just simple books about a family. Not every book has to be about magic or things like that. (That doesn't mean I don't like Harry Potter- I do...I LOVE HIM). But these Ramons books are just a fun read that will make you feel good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    its a very sweet story

    I loved the relationship between the father and Ramona because they showed each other how much they cared for one another, like when Ramona tries to stop her father from smoking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Do you argue with your parents?

    One thing I can tell you about Ramona and Her Father is that Beezus and her father Mr.Quimby argue about his smoking habits. Beezus feels his lungs must be black by now. That's why you want to read this book so yu can find out if he stops smoking or not. I think anyone that can read should sit down and read thi funny book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    My recamendation

    I think this book was a great book and I recamend it to people that always want to help out in their family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Great!

    'Ramona and Her Father' is a great book. It not only was fun to read, but it tells about what may happen in real life and how a girl tackles the problem. It is a touching story about a little girl who wants to find her father a job and to help him to stop smoking. I recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4