Customer Reviews for

Rampant

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

Think unicorns are sweet, magical horse-like creatures? Think again!

Diana Peterfreund introduces us to the darker side of unicorns in her novel RAMPANT. Peterfreund's unicorns are man-eating monsters. They can kill with poison in their horns, rip someone apar...
Think unicorns are sweet, magical horse-like creatures? Think again!

Diana Peterfreund introduces us to the darker side of unicorns in her novel RAMPANT. Peterfreund's unicorns are man-eating monsters. They can kill with poison in their horns, rip someone apart with their sharp teeth, and some have breath that can kill (literally).

Astrid Llewelyn has listened to her mother's crazy stories about extinct man-eating unicorns for years. Astrid never believed the stories - until the night her date ended up on the sharp end of a unicorn horn.

Now her mother's stories are all too real, and Astrid is sent to Rome for training as a unicorn hunter. She meets a group of other virgin descendants of Alexander the Great, and together they train to hunt and kill unicorns.

But Astrid doesn't want to be a hunter.

I enjoyed reading RAMPANT. There was some sexual tension and scenes of passion, as well as discussion about sex, but not enough to bother me. I'd recommend this for older readers 14+ because of the content.

I enjoyed the characters and learning about their lives. Astrid is strong, and yet vulnerable enough to make her real. The characters and their lives will run Rampant in my memory for a long time, but in a good way.

posted by TeensReadToo on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A little strange but it was good...

I actually received this book my mistake when ordering on line but I decided to give it a shot. The premise is a little strange but the story is interesting. I wish that it would have included more information at the end. A chapter explaining what happens after the b...
I actually received this book my mistake when ordering on line but I decided to give it a shot. The premise is a little strange but the story is interesting. I wish that it would have included more information at the end. A chapter explaining what happens after the big "battle" would have been good. The character names made it seem a little silly as well. If you love supernatural/fantasy books but need a change of pace from the current vampire/werewolf frenzy then this might be what you are looking for. If nothing else it provides good conversation. "yeah, I am reading a book about unicorn hunters who protect people from venomous unicorns with razor sharp teeth that try to eat people!" lol

posted by acsimps on December 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A little strange but it was good...

    I actually received this book my mistake when ordering on line but I decided to give it a shot. The premise is a little strange but the story is interesting. I wish that it would have included more information at the end. A chapter explaining what happens after the big "battle" would have been good. The character names made it seem a little silly as well. If you love supernatural/fantasy books but need a change of pace from the current vampire/werewolf frenzy then this might be what you are looking for. If nothing else it provides good conversation. "yeah, I am reading a book about unicorn hunters who protect people from venomous unicorns with razor sharp teeth that try to eat people!" lol

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A bit of a let down

    I read this book while I was at a weekend reunion with some of my college friends, and the first line of the synopsis became a running joke among us: "Forget everything you ever knew about." fill in blank. However, even in this text, that's not entirely true anyway. There are several different types of unicorns, but they're mostly still horse-like with a horn on the end of their heads. They still largely embody the image that comes to mind for the unicorn, just not the mythology surrounding it.

    The premise of the book was also a bit of a running joke, but these particular friends are lit nerds, so something like Rampant or even Harry Potter is likely to be scoffed at. Give me dry, literary realism or give me death!

    I can say, though, to the readers who love nothing more that to lose themselves in high-octane fantasy thriller that this book will leave you disappointed. Astrid, the narrator and main character, is wretchedly, painfully, make me want to punch myself in the face whiney throughout the entire book.

    Oh, I feel so bad for you Astrid-you poor, poor soul. You mean to tell me that you have super unicorn hunting powers that enable you to be part of an ancient secret society with all sorts of killer perks, and all you want to do is be a normal girl who loses her virginity at prom? Sorry, but I don't buy it. Stephanie Meyer's writing may not be stellar, but she really sells the vampire mythology in a way that makes you want to be part of it. I'm sorry Diana, I think you have a great concept for what could be a very engaging new sort of fantasy world that people want to be part of, but you didn't do the best job convincing us we should care. Perhaps it would have been better told from the perspective of one of the unicorn hunters who did want to be there, and loved nothing more than the thrill of driving that knife through the throat of the blood-thirsty, one-horned beast.

    I want to know more about the fantasy, the history, and the magical powers that the girls have. More or less, they're not great at hunting unicorns, they sit on a chair which gives them special powers, and then they're great at hunting unicorns, soon culminating in a 'final battle' that blurs by in just a few pages. Alas, maybe we'll see a better sequel.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    Think unicorns are sweet, magical horse-like creatures? Think again! <BR/><BR/>Diana Peterfreund introduces us to the darker side of unicorns in her novel RAMPANT. Peterfreund's unicorns are man-eating monsters. They can kill with poison in their horns, rip someone apart with their sharp teeth, and some have breath that can kill (literally). <BR/><BR/>Astrid Llewelyn has listened to her mother's crazy stories about extinct man-eating unicorns for years. Astrid never believed the stories - until the night her date ended up on the sharp end of a unicorn horn. <BR/><BR/>Now her mother's stories are all too real, and Astrid is sent to Rome for training as a unicorn hunter. She meets a group of other virgin descendants of Alexander the Great, and together they train to hunt and kill unicorns. <BR/><BR/>But Astrid doesn't want to be a hunter. <BR/><BR/>I enjoyed reading RAMPANT. There was some sexual tension and scenes of passion, as well as discussion about sex, but not enough to bother me. I'd recommend this for older readers 14+ because of the content. <BR/><BR/>I enjoyed the characters and learning about their lives. Astrid is strong, and yet vulnerable enough to make her real. The characters and their lives will run Rampant in my memory for a long time, but in a good way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely unique!

    I have just started this book and I must say, it is very unique in it's story-line. Lately, it seems all the newest books are vampires. I say "MOVE OVER VAMPS!" We've got us some evil unicorns ready to rock the world. I hate putting this book down at school and can't wait to finish it. So far, I love it. It is sure to take your mind off the real world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who says YA fiction is just for kids?

    I picked up a copy of Diana Peterfreund's "Rampant" the day it was released, and from the moment I began reading it I was completely absorbed in the story. I found it hard to put down, even when I knew I should be working instead of reading (shh, don't tell my boss)!

    Diana really seems to have done her homework on this one - she paints amazing, vivid pictures of locations, characters, and even mythical beasts. That her main character grapples with the thought of virginity's worth (an issue that many young women are faced with) is an especially interesting touch, one which I don't remember reading about in any young adult fiction that was available to me as a kid.

    In fact, though this book is sold as YA fiction, I feel like it's accessible to adults as well, and have recently pitched it to my book club as our September read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Astra

    She st there her fox tail twitching. (If you dont know what an anthro is ask me)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first heard about this book, I had no idea that is was se

    When I first heard about this book, I had no idea that is was set in the present day, but it
    was definitely the type of book I needed as a pick-me-up from the mid-semester drag. The story was unique (killer unicorns, enough said), and I'm now eagerly anticipating the sequel.

    Plot: After Astrid is forced by her mother to move to the cloisters, in Italy, to train as a unicorn hunter, she's confronted with danger, romance, and questions about her heritage. Her new roommate, Cory, is hell bent on destroying all unicorns, and despite all of the lore, no one really seems to know what to expect. Of course, this all changes over the course of the book. We learn more about who the hunters were, why Cory has a particular hatred toward the creatures, and just how dangerous hunting can be. Astrid also has run-ins with a unicorn, Bucephalus, who has some historical ties to Alexander the Great (so, you can imagine how much I loved that aspect).

    One thing that I love about Peterfreund is that her work is never predictable. The story never dragged, and I was on the edge of my seat.

    Characters:Astrid's growth over the course of the book felt very real, and at various points in the story I sympathized with her. Overall, she was an intriguing character that I look forward to reading more about.

    One of the many great things about Peterfruend's writing is how strong her female characters are. In this book, as well as her other series, the women break free from gender stereotypes. Astrid, Phil, and Amy (from her other series) portray strength, knowledge, and power. I could rave about this particular aspect of her writing all day, and it's a characteristic that I really appreciate in YA lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Bookworm

    Very awesome violent and cool!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Capturing

    I couldn't put this book down. It was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It didn't live up to the reviews I read. I mean, the concept of

    It didn't live up to the reviews I read.

    I mean, the concept of the novel was great! I loved the unicorns and adored the plotline.

    The way it was written, however...

    The scenes seemed squashed together: I need this this this that and that to happen, so let's make it happen. Rampant could easily have been stretched out into a trilogy, each part dissected more thoroughly and made into a much better read.

    I didn't really get into the I-want-to-know-what-happens next mode until about page 240, where Astrid really begins to connect with her power. Even then, though, Astrid as a character isn't consistent throughout the entire novel. Her personality constantly shifts and her thought process changes - normal, yes, but not to the extent that it happens with Astrid. Her mother, too, is a huge problem. There seem to be three different versions of the character that Peterfreund toyed with, and she seems to have decided to use all of them at different points: the crazy-but-normal, the crazy-psychotic, and the crazy-depressed. They're all equally frustrating.

    Parts of the plot were rather frustrating, too.
    [SPOILER ALERT]
    The Remedy was never revealed, even though it was, apparently, a HUGE part of the plot. Um. Hello?

    Talking to the unicorns... through the mind. That would have been acceptable had it not been so sudden.

    Where did the Simon (I think that was his name), the man that raped Astrid's cousin, go? Apparently, that's important, but never revealed either.

    And learning how to hunt by sitting on a chair is rather anti-climatic.
    [/SPOILER ALERT]

    I do hope that there's a sequel; if there's not, I'll be rather disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Not as good story in Zombies vs. Unicorns but enjoyable.

    It's a pretty good read. Started the sequel, but felt like one book was enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!!

    This was by far the best book I have ever read! Though I wouldn't reconmend for any one under 12 or 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Avekit

    This book is the bestest book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forget the history books, unicorns are fearsome.

    What can one not say about Rampant!
    This book is a unicorn revolution.
    I love the opening; reading a shiny fluffy unicorn story to some girls full of rainbows and smiles. Then enter the boyfriend taking a walk with a girl and wait..... Wait.... The freaking unicorn comes slavering and mauling the boys leg with it's twisted horrific horn into his flesh.
    This story was amazing.
    The snark was excellent. The characters were awesome. The flow of the whole book rocked. I cannot wait to run out and buy the next book asap it was so good.
    I was so happy with the book because the characters were so amazing and the dialog was so fun to read. I was not slow, there was not too much description or back plot. I am surprised I had not heard much about the book before I picked it up.
    Go read it! You will be surprised and enjoy Rampant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Hmmm...

    I'm a big fan of Diana Peterfreund's Secret Society Girl series.
    Her writing sparkles, and she does a fabulous job of building relationships. So even thought I was skeptical when I first heard the premise for her new series, I figured I would give it a try. Killer unicorns? Hmmm. Now I know why I was skeptical. Peterfreund did nothing to make me believe in these deadly beasts, or even that the virgin girls who can kill them actually have special powers. It just came off flat. I felt like Peterfreund was trying too hard to be Buffy and The House of Night all in one. Stick to chick lit/romantic comedy, Ms. Peterfreund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Exciting Twist On a Legend

    I enjoyed each of the characters in this novel and loved the refreshing twist on the legend of unicorns. It was packed with action but still managed to slow down enough when it needed to so that I cared about the characters and became invested in the world. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    There is no My Little Pony magic here

    RAMPANT, by Diana Peterfreund, was a phenomenal story about the non-cuddly version of unicorns depicted throughout history. Peterfreund created a kick-ass female warrior that rivaled the best of the best. And also opened my imagination to the horrible nature of these creatures.

    This book was nothing like what I could have dreamed of. The title of the series being 'Killer Unicorns' was comical to me at the beginning. But after the first scene with a unicorn almost mauling Astrid's boyfriend, I knew that this book would be quite an adventure. This story contained another mother that I was dying to get rid of. Her obsession with unicorns and being an embarrassment to her family made my skin itch and I was hoping for Astrid to get away from her. I loved that in this book, my wish came true! Astrid was sent off to Rome to train to be a real-life unicorn hunter.

    The characters were absolutely fantastic. The differing attitudes and cultures among the girls made it very funny to say the least. I found their spats and general conversation making me giggle. I absolutely loved Phil. She was the perfect older cousin and sidekick for Astrid. And Giovanni (swoon) was definitely the perfect gentleman. He was a perfect match for Astrid and he definitely kept her head on straight.

    Although the fight scenes with the unicorns were gruesome, graphic, and caused a lot of harm to the girls, I loved them. They were not sugar coated at all, and they depicted real life and death battles that made this profession very dangerous. It was a wonder that any of these girls answered their calling because personally I would not want to, but that is what you get when you create an amazing female warrior character like Astrid.

    I highly recommend this book. It is definitely a girl-power kind of book with some danger, battling, and a little bit of romance all mixed into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I have to admit, I thought this book sounded interesting, but couldn't help but think of really bad horror movies. Killer unicorns just sounds so cheesy! But, actually the author does a great job of actually making them seem very terrifying. I liked how this takes place in the real world but ordinary people can't see unicorns. Although, I really wonder what people thought was killing all the animals (and occasionally people) in the area.

    Astrid was fun. She really doubts the stories her mom tells her, even after she witnessed the attack on her boyfriend. And when she does start to believe, she fights what others tell her she was born to do. But then really who would believe they were born to be a virgin hunter of unicorns. If the story wasn't so serious with the job the hunters are suppose to do, it would be almost comical. I liked the other hunters as well. Most of them are background characters, but they all have very distinct personalities. I especially liked Astrid's cousin Phil. I don't think she ever took her position seriously and she was a bit careless (not that what happens to her is in any way her fault). But she was fiery and didn't let anybody tell her what to do.

    I loved the myths worked in about the unicorns throughout history. The entire story seems entirely believable. I did think the sex stuff was a bit over the top. I got a little tired of hearing about the requirement of being a virgin to be a hunter (although the test of determining virginity raised my eyebrows lol). Plus I didn't like the scene with Astrid basically throwing herself at Giovanni. I know she was desperate to get out of her role as a hunter, it just seemed slightly out of character. So in that aspect, I think I would recommend this to older teens and those of us young at heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    new twist on unicorns!

    i loved the twist this book took on the classic view of unicorns. it was unique and a fun read. the plot kept momentum through the whole book and i finished it in 2 days! i would recommend it for a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Killer Unicorns!

    Killer Unicorns! You've got to be kidding me! That's what I thought when I saw this at my local bookstore. I mean, how cool is that? Poisonous horns and fangs, Secret Nun Societies, Mystical healing powers. It's just such a cool concept, you have to love it. Astrid is a kick-*ss protagonist. She's totally put-off by the idea of Unicorns in the beginning. Her crazy mom's always spouting nonsense about them being descendants of the greatest Unicorn Hunter ever! Then, when Astrid's boy toy is attacked, she has to consider that everything her mother's ever said about Unicorns is true. Lots of action scenes that get quite gory for those with a weak stomach. Definitely not for the under 12 demographic. Lots of sexual references, since to be a Hunter you have to be a virgin. So of course there's lots of sexual tension with the love interest. This is the first book in the Killer Unicorn series, with the second, Ascendant is due out Sept. 28 2010. So if you like to step out of the box with what you read, mix-it-up and try this one on for size. I doubt you'll be sorry you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4