Customer Reviews for

Rampant

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

Think unicorns are sweet, magical horse-like creatures? Think again!

Diana Peterfreund introduces us to the darker side of unicorns in her novel RAMPANT. Peterfreund's unicorns are man-eating monsters. They can kill with poison in their horns, rip someone apar...
Think unicorns are sweet, magical horse-like creatures? Think again!

Diana Peterfreund introduces us to the darker side of unicorns in her novel RAMPANT. Peterfreund's unicorns are man-eating monsters. They can kill with poison in their horns, rip someone apart with their sharp teeth, and some have breath that can kill (literally).

Astrid Llewelyn has listened to her mother's crazy stories about extinct man-eating unicorns for years. Astrid never believed the stories - until the night her date ended up on the sharp end of a unicorn horn.

Now her mother's stories are all too real, and Astrid is sent to Rome for training as a unicorn hunter. She meets a group of other virgin descendants of Alexander the Great, and together they train to hunt and kill unicorns.

But Astrid doesn't want to be a hunter.

I enjoyed reading RAMPANT. There was some sexual tension and scenes of passion, as well as discussion about sex, but not enough to bother me. I'd recommend this for older readers 14+ because of the content.

I enjoyed the characters and learning about their lives. Astrid is strong, and yet vulnerable enough to make her real. The characters and their lives will run Rampant in my memory for a long time, but in a good way.

posted by TeensReadToo on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A little strange but it was good...

I actually received this book my mistake when ordering on line but I decided to give it a shot. The premise is a little strange but the story is interesting. I wish that it would have included more information at the end. A chapter explaining what happens after the b...
I actually received this book my mistake when ordering on line but I decided to give it a shot. The premise is a little strange but the story is interesting. I wish that it would have included more information at the end. A chapter explaining what happens after the big "battle" would have been good. The character names made it seem a little silly as well. If you love supernatural/fantasy books but need a change of pace from the current vampire/werewolf frenzy then this might be what you are looking for. If nothing else it provides good conversation. "yeah, I am reading a book about unicorn hunters who protect people from venomous unicorns with razor sharp teeth that try to eat people!" lol

posted by acsimps on December 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    Think unicorns are sweet, magical horse-like creatures? Think again! <BR/><BR/>Diana Peterfreund introduces us to the darker side of unicorns in her novel RAMPANT. Peterfreund's unicorns are man-eating monsters. They can kill with poison in their horns, rip someone apart with their sharp teeth, and some have breath that can kill (literally). <BR/><BR/>Astrid Llewelyn has listened to her mother's crazy stories about extinct man-eating unicorns for years. Astrid never believed the stories - until the night her date ended up on the sharp end of a unicorn horn. <BR/><BR/>Now her mother's stories are all too real, and Astrid is sent to Rome for training as a unicorn hunter. She meets a group of other virgin descendants of Alexander the Great, and together they train to hunt and kill unicorns. <BR/><BR/>But Astrid doesn't want to be a hunter. <BR/><BR/>I enjoyed reading RAMPANT. There was some sexual tension and scenes of passion, as well as discussion about sex, but not enough to bother me. I'd recommend this for older readers 14+ because of the content. <BR/><BR/>I enjoyed the characters and learning about their lives. Astrid is strong, and yet vulnerable enough to make her real. The characters and their lives will run Rampant in my memory for a long time, but in a good way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who says YA fiction is just for kids?

    I picked up a copy of Diana Peterfreund's "Rampant" the day it was released, and from the moment I began reading it I was completely absorbed in the story. I found it hard to put down, even when I knew I should be working instead of reading (shh, don't tell my boss)!

    Diana really seems to have done her homework on this one - she paints amazing, vivid pictures of locations, characters, and even mythical beasts. That her main character grapples with the thought of virginity's worth (an issue that many young women are faced with) is an especially interesting touch, one which I don't remember reading about in any young adult fiction that was available to me as a kid.

    In fact, though this book is sold as YA fiction, I feel like it's accessible to adults as well, and have recently pitched it to my book club as our September read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Astra

    She st there her fox tail twitching. (If you dont know what an anthro is ask me)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Bookworm

    Very awesome violent and cool!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Capturing

    I couldn't put this book down. It was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!!

    This was by far the best book I have ever read! Though I wouldn't reconmend for any one under 12 or 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Forget the history books, unicorns are fearsome.

    What can one not say about Rampant!
    This book is a unicorn revolution.
    I love the opening; reading a shiny fluffy unicorn story to some girls full of rainbows and smiles. Then enter the boyfriend taking a walk with a girl and wait..... Wait.... The freaking unicorn comes slavering and mauling the boys leg with it's twisted horrific horn into his flesh.
    This story was amazing.
    The snark was excellent. The characters were awesome. The flow of the whole book rocked. I cannot wait to run out and buy the next book asap it was so good.
    I was so happy with the book because the characters were so amazing and the dialog was so fun to read. I was not slow, there was not too much description or back plot. I am surprised I had not heard much about the book before I picked it up.
    Go read it! You will be surprised and enjoy Rampant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    There is no My Little Pony magic here

    RAMPANT, by Diana Peterfreund, was a phenomenal story about the non-cuddly version of unicorns depicted throughout history. Peterfreund created a kick-ass female warrior that rivaled the best of the best. And also opened my imagination to the horrible nature of these creatures.

    This book was nothing like what I could have dreamed of. The title of the series being 'Killer Unicorns' was comical to me at the beginning. But after the first scene with a unicorn almost mauling Astrid's boyfriend, I knew that this book would be quite an adventure. This story contained another mother that I was dying to get rid of. Her obsession with unicorns and being an embarrassment to her family made my skin itch and I was hoping for Astrid to get away from her. I loved that in this book, my wish came true! Astrid was sent off to Rome to train to be a real-life unicorn hunter.

    The characters were absolutely fantastic. The differing attitudes and cultures among the girls made it very funny to say the least. I found their spats and general conversation making me giggle. I absolutely loved Phil. She was the perfect older cousin and sidekick for Astrid. And Giovanni (swoon) was definitely the perfect gentleman. He was a perfect match for Astrid and he definitely kept her head on straight.

    Although the fight scenes with the unicorns were gruesome, graphic, and caused a lot of harm to the girls, I loved them. They were not sugar coated at all, and they depicted real life and death battles that made this profession very dangerous. It was a wonder that any of these girls answered their calling because personally I would not want to, but that is what you get when you create an amazing female warrior character like Astrid.

    I highly recommend this book. It is definitely a girl-power kind of book with some danger, battling, and a little bit of romance all mixed into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Wonderful

    This is a must read book. The author has an excellent writing style and is very educated in "real" unicorn lore and knows her setting well, Rome. It is always nice to read a book where the author knows a lot about what they're writing. I loved the twist on how unicorns are lurid killers and not angelic beings. I loved the strong female characters and despite the fantasy aspect of the plot the characters were very down to earth and relatable. It was a wonderful book and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes paranormal books or fantasy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    I found Rampant by Diana Peterfruend to be an excellent read! I thought it was exciting and new, and also romantic and sometimes touching. It had a fantastic cast of extremely strong girls, who, aside from being awesome and kick-butt, were also real people. There was just the right amount of romance, but the truly magical relationships were between the girls themselves. They were all living together, slaying unicorns, and some of them didn't get along, some of them were friends, and some were family. Just like real people. It was a book that made me wish it were longer. Can't wait for the next books to come out! I would recommend this to everyone in the world. It is truly excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    I was just attacked by a Unicorn

    Diana creates characters that are easily related to, exciting, and that you end up caring a great deal for. The novel seamlessly blends unicorn lore into the real world that we live in. Now if only I could stop seeing them in my backyard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    Had heard about this book on various blogs, but my initial thought was: killer unicorns? Yeah, right! But people kept raving about it, so decided to take a look. The first page had me hooked, and I stayed up much too late to finish reading it! This is one of my favorite types of books, in that it grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let go!

    Astrid is the main character, who grew up thinking her mother was more than a little crazy because she insisted that they were descendants of unicorn hunters. Then one night her new boyfriend is attacked by a unicorn! Before she knows it, Astrid is shipped off to Rome to begin her training as a unicorn hunter. Unfortunately, the training turns out to be trial & error as the order was disbanded way back when the unicorns were thought to be extinct, and it's left to a bunch of teenagers (and one young man) to try to figure things out.

    While the idea of killer unicorns and virgin hunters may be a little out there, Diana does a great job of making it all seem entirely possible. It doesn't hurt that Astrid is a skeptic as well, and we come to terms with the situation together.

    All in all, this was a great read and I recommend that everyone give it a chance. Had an interesting well-paced plot, good writing, and believable characters. Plus, I adored Bonegrinder, the baby unicorn! Gave it my highest rating as I didn't want to put it down despite having to work the next day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2