BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    This is a must read book

    If you know about the bronx the way I do, then you will enjoy this book..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This book should be required reading

    This is an amazing true story that reads like a novel. LeBlanc really did her research writing this book. She narrates an incredible family saga.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    Wow!!!

    This book is GREAT,only took me one week to read and the only reason for that is because i have two children and they take much of my time.<BR/>This book is very well written and really connects you to the characters. I only wish there was a sequal, so i could know what happened to Coco, Jessica and Cesear. Will there be a Coco and Cesear? I love love love this book and recommend it to anyone looking for a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    I couldn't put the book down!!!!

    Anyone can enjoy this book. It was so good that i've started looking for more books by this author. Once you read it you'll never get over it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Just brilliant

    Didn't want it to end- became so attached to these characters that I felt/feel a sense of loss not knowing what happened to them past the last page- enough said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    A very intense, heartbreaking, and eye opening novel! You will not be able to put it down!

    Random Family, was one of the greatest novels I have read. It was very detailed and made me realize that some people's lives are indeed difficult. The lives of Jessica, and Coco were very complex and heartbreaking. I was not able to put the book down, and I finished it in about a week. This book showed me that life shouldn’t be taken for granted. We have opportunities that many people do not have, and wish they had. It helped me open my eyes to problems, and abuse that people experience when they should not be going through it at all. This book is very detailed which helps us put ourselves in their shoes and see what they’re going through. I never would have thought that this actually happens. I actually felt bad and my heart went out to both Jessica and Coco and their families and children. I felt bad for Jessica and Coco, and as every chapter passed, I hoped that their lives would start getting better. I felt that they deserved much better, and that if I was in their shoes I honestly wouldn’t know what to do myself. I also felt bad for their children that had to grow up in such a terrible environment. This book was really vivid and as I was reading I felt like I was actually there and that I actually experienced everything that they went through. I would recommend this book because it makes you feel for these girls and the life their living. It makes you realize that sometimes the life we have is being taken for granted when other people would die for a life like ours. This novel was a great way to help us see a world through someone else’s eyes, and see what they have to go through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    Great Book

    This stunning piece of reporting describes about eleven years in the lives of Jessica and Coco who we meet as young teens in the South Bronx. Surrounded by crime, drugs and relentless poverty both women give birth to multiple children by a series of fathers. Jessica ends up in federal prison after refusing to turn against her abusive drug kingpin boyfriend. Coco struggles alone through numerous partners and housing arrangements trying valiantly to raise her kids amid a whirlwind of hangers-on who take advantage of her generosity and hospitality. The book certainly proves its title, Random Family, as it details the lifestyle of the ghetto. However, it also elicits the humanity that underlies its characters--however flawed they may be. As the jacket copy promises, Random Family does indeed read like a novel and it is hard to put down. Regretfully, this being nonfiction, there is no resolution to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Excellent look at a side of Life we don't all see

    I was engrossed in this book. I have learned about a lifestyle that exists commonly around us, and have come away with an indepth understanding of a different culture. The writer puts you in the middle of these families and quickly can get you to empathize with a situation that many of us criticize. It was well written, very easy to follow, a bit long but needed to be. I have recommended this book to many.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    This sounds like the Addams Family theme song!

    They ate my frosted cookies, the dad looks like a wookie
    And then I ate some squid with a random family!
    FISHYBUTT 12 IS OUTTA HERE! bye. Reply back soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    G

    Oooh! *eats leprechaun and steals its pot of gold*
    Hey Starstar! We're rich! *eats rainbows* AAAH!!! PINKIE PIE WAS RIGHT!!! THEY'RE SPIIIIIIIICYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!! *drinks 2,000,000 gallons of water* whew. That's better. Here's the gold. *eats rainbows again* SPIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIICYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!
    TAAAKE THE GOOOOOOLD!!!! *drinks 99,999,999 gallons of water* whew. *gives gold to Starstar and randomly tap-dances while singing my theme song* RAVENRAVENRAVENRAVENRAVENWIIIIIING!!! RAVENWING IS AWESOOOOME!! RAV-RAV-RAVENWIIIIIIIIIIIIING!!! RAVENWING IS THE WARRIOR CAT VERSION OF RAVEN FROM TEEEEEEN TITAAAANS GOOOOOOO!!! RAVENRAVENRAVENRAVENRAVENWIIIIIIING!!!!!
    RAV-RAV-RAVENWIIIIIIING!!!!
    RAAAAVEEEEENWIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIING!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Rainbow falls

    OOH! Rainbows! OOH!!!!!! A leprchaun!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Devon

    Just watches everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Riverstripe

    She beacons to stormheart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Stormheart and Thnderclaw

    Both wait for toms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Howleen

    Howleen has a sexy but

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Le Blanc's writing is beautiful and honest. We see her intellige

    Le Blanc's writing is beautiful and honest. We see her intelligence and her humanity in the way she steps back as a narrator and simply allows these people to tell us about their lives -- their hopes, fears, disappointments, and (in the most profound ending, truly the only ending this book called for) their joys. Moving, challenging, and deepening. A GEM. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Left me wanting more!

    The only thing this book was missing was photos of the characters (although I get why there weren't any). I became so invested in those characters I feel almost desperate to know what has happened in their lives since the book ended. I feel equally interested in knowing more about how the author must have embedded herself into their lives to be able to write this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Brillant

    I just love this book! I didnt want it to end, i fell in love with one of the characters. And i was attached to the reat, i cryed when they cryed, i was angry when they were. I mean this story is very detailed and thats what i love sbout it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Randomness

    CHEESE ENCHILADAS !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Heartbreaking and True.

    Adrian makes you feel like a fly on the wall, in the lives of Jessica, Coco, and Cesar.
    Their honesty is heartbreaking but true. I am a Bronx native and I wish I Had read this in H.S..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6