Customer Reviews for

Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    Rainbow falls

    OOH! Rainbows! OOH!!!!!! A leprchaun!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    Heartbreaking and True.

    Adrian makes you feel like a fly on the wall, in the lives of Jessica, Coco, and Cesar.
    Their honesty is heartbreaking but true. I am a Bronx native and I wish I Had read this in H.S..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    Great Read

    I thought this book was a great read. I couldn't put it down at some points. It's definitely worth reading....you really get attached to the characters. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    One of the few great books I LOVED.

    I love this book, it open up some old thoughts i had inside me. I love how Adrian grasp the true life as a girl growing up in the bronx, it shows people the cycle these young women go though till this day. I really love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble and Coming of Age in the Bronx

    Over all the book was a 'Good' read. The writer tries too hard to get too many characters into one story. Made me dizzy at times, and I had to re-read previous chapters to find out which character (person) the author was talking about. It was well written though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    The best detailed book about the ghetto

    I have read this book tree times already just to make sure I soak up every detail. It is like seeing my life on paper and many other girls my age as well. Everything is captured the abuse , culture and atmosphere. It doesn't get better than this and maybe for once an outsider can really look in at the life of someone from the ghetto.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    What A Way To Live

    I think that the book 'Random Family' was a very good book. It provided insight to me on a subject that I never had to deal with. I hope that I will never have to deal with it also. The only problem that I had with the book was that in the middle it kind of slowed down some. It came back though towards the end. It just amazed me that this book wasn't fictional. After each reading I was like wow, this is a true story. I would recommend trhis book to anyone who lives in poverty or even if you don't. The book will still provide and insight on a subject that is so forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    Mind-blowing...

    Reading Random Family has opened my eyes to a world that I never knew existed. The author writes about the struggles that young minority people face on a day-to-day basis. I recommend this book for people of all ages, races, and financial standings. Leblanc has given her readers urban dilemmas like food on a silver platter. The urban adversities such as drug wars, teenage poverty, and the inevitable adolescent fathers that are sent off to jail. This particular book helped me realize how stable and caring my family really is. I have learned to appreciate the lifestyle that I have, after reading this work. This book was a once in a lifetime read. I hope viewers take my advice and read this gripping Bronx tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Did not want to put it down!

    I guess being a woman made me not want to put this book down. Its the nosiness in me! I felt for the children in this book. I would love a sequal or an update on how the individuals in this book are doing. I am in search of other writings similar. Although, I make it a habit of reading books by Latina authors this one I picked up by chance and truly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1