Customer Reviews for

Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Alternative to the OED

As a writer, I've always wanted the slipcased edition of the Oxford English Dictionary with the magnifying glass. But since the OED is pretty pricey, I began looking for a good unabridged dictionary. A writing instructor I admire recommended this edition of the Random...
As a writer, I've always wanted the slipcased edition of the Oxford English Dictionary with the magnifying glass. But since the OED is pretty pricey, I began looking for a good unabridged dictionary. A writing instructor I admire recommended this edition of the Random House Webster's Unabridged, and I've been nothing but delighted with the purchase. As an example of its depth, I was working on a piece about desert flora and fauna and had lost the exact spelling of the name of a particular bird. There on page 1575 was "pyrrhuloxia." In addition, the word origins are particularly useful to me. When a word origin dovetails with the meaning I'm trying to convey, I know I've chosen le mot juste. I highly recommend this affordable, authoritative dictionary.

posted by LMcHugh on March 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not New

This is merely an older edition repackaged in a new cover. There is no new copyright date, and if you look up a new word such as 'blog' it is not present.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    Excellent Alternative to the OED

    As a writer, I've always wanted the slipcased edition of the Oxford English Dictionary with the magnifying glass. But since the OED is pretty pricey, I began looking for a good unabridged dictionary. A writing instructor I admire recommended this edition of the Random House Webster's Unabridged, and I've been nothing but delighted with the purchase. As an example of its depth, I was working on a piece about desert flora and fauna and had lost the exact spelling of the name of a particular bird. There on page 1575 was "pyrrhuloxia." In addition, the word origins are particularly useful to me. When a word origin dovetails with the meaning I'm trying to convey, I know I've chosen le mot juste. I highly recommend this affordable, authoritative dictionary.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    This is the best dictionary on the market

    This book is absolutely amazing. It contains every single word in the english language and its origins. It also contains many words in other languages. It includes tons of other handy information: foreign alphabets, such as Hebrew, Arabic, Russian and Greek, flags of every country, a Spanish-English,French-English, Italian-English dictionary, lists of every college in North America, maps and various other bits of info and trivia. It's a phenomenal resource, a dictionary, encyclopedia and atlas rolled into one. I have used it to prepare presentations for work, my kids have used it for papers and projects. Whatever you need, it's in there!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Random House Webster's Unabridged dictionary

    An excellent dictionary. Everything I wanted (except for the fine print). Sometimes I would have preferred a little larger book with larger print due to my aging eyes, but with readers, I find this dictionary a pleasure to just pick up and read a page or two at random. I often glance at it, then say what letter do I want to start with today? Then read through that page for new meanings and new words. A great comprehensive work. PaulRN, a perpetual student and care giver.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    THIS IS THE BEST DICTIONARY I HAVE OWNED...

    I HAVE HAD SOME OF THE LARGEST DICTIONARIES IN MY LIFE BUT THIS ONE IS PROBABLY THE EASIEST TO USE **NOT COUNTING DIGITAL DICTIONARIES** AND THE MOST DETAILED...I LOVE IT!!! MY WHOLE FAMILY USES IT...AND LET ME TELL YOU, WE STARTED PLAYING SCRABLE EVERY WEEK BECAUSE OF IT AND WE ENJOY EVERY MINUTE OF IT...I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS...IT'S THE BEST THERE IS!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    BIG BOOK

    This book is a dictionary and replaces the very old one I had since college over 30 years ago. My only complaint is that the book is so heavy. However,I wanted one with the most available words and that's what I got.I've found that the smaller paperback dictionaries are extremely limited and were not meeting my needs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Five star!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This a great dictionary for almost everything. Spelling bees, games, activities, college papers, school essays & progects, etc., etc., etc.!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I like this dictionary

    Websters is just fine for in depth word explorations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    At last a REAL BIG dictionary

    You will find the word you're looking for plus you'll get detailed info on word origin and extensive definitions. Good for word-lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    Best of all software dictionaries

    Easy to use, yet thorough and feature-loaded. Placing an icon for this dictionary in your task bar makes it available just about anytime, during most programs, on- or offline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1