Customer Reviews for

Ransom

Average Rating 4.5
( 569 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(407)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE JULIE GARWOOD!

    I love books that portray strong, intelligent women and, in this one, a man who falls hard and forever. This is full of love, humor, great chemistry, courage, mystery, suspense, and loyalty. A must read and a keeper! No boredom here! Other books that snapped me to attention, see below.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captavating

    I have read many books, but this book and Julie Garwood's other two books (The Secret, and Shadow Music)truly define the meaning of highland male-driven romance. I laughed, cried, and read until I finished each one. Then turn around and reread them at least three times a year. My daughters and other family members have recieved these books as a gift from me, and they frequently talk about how wonderful they are. I keep checking to see if Julie Garwood will take us back there again to see how the children of the main characters evolve.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    This was the second book I've read of Julie Garwood and I really like her writing style. Ransom tells a story of two sisters separated after the death of her father by someone in search of a treasure. Quite brutal in the beginning but this developes the intensity and urgency of the story. A lot of drama and in the end justice is served. A very good read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    One of her best!

    I laughed, I cried, I held my breath for the next happening. This is truly one of the best books I have read - and I am an avid reader. Alec was amazing, he made me laugh and he broke my heart, but he made you feel the wonder and vulnerability of a child. Gillian and Brodrick, along with Brodrick's guard were so much fun. I have read this book multiple times and definitely will again. Chivalry can be found in the strangest places. Thank you Ms. Garwood for such a wonderful surprise!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    amazingly good

    It's hard to follow at first because of so many characters, but i fell in love with the book. It's romantic, heroic and it makes you want to experience it yourself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    MEDIEVAL MAGIC

    Ransom truly puts the reader in the middle of things. From the moment I started the novel I felt as if I was part of all the adventure. I love how Julie Garwood shows the hatred between the English and the Scottish, but in turn defies this statement with the romantic matching of couples. This book was truly one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 1999

    A Most Enchanting Book!

    I could not put this book down. I truly enjoyed this book. I love how Gillians character is strong and how she speaks her mind even when she isn't supposed to. I'd like to have some of her qualities. Brodick's character is enjoyable too, especially his devotion, strength,and humor. I love how Julie Garwood always manages to put humor in her books too. I never quit smiling. I hope you read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 1999

    Enticing

    'Ransom' is one of the best books I have read of Julie Garwood's other than 'For the Roses'. 'Ransom' made me cry and laugh from one page to another. I loved the way that Gillian was strong and very proud of who she was, and very loyal to her family. I was also a little bit upset with the fact that her sister turned her away just like that. I could never put the book down for a second though. I read all the way through until I was done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    Just absolutely beautiful.

    Julie Garwood is one of my two favourite romance authors. I always eagerly await her books and as usual I was more than pleased with her latest, Ransom. I love her novels of a rich and beautiful culture and a proud and passionate people, the Highlanders. Her characters as usual melt your hearts and make you smile. I absolutely loved the book and spent a lot of late nights devouring it. With Julie Garwood's books I find myself reading them over and over.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Best book ever

    I loved this book. I have read it several times and it get better each read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Love, Love, Love this book! For those of you who read "Th

    I Love, Love, Love this book! For those of you who read "The Secret" I have two words for you... Brodick and Ramsey!
    This book has it all... a brooding, alpha-male type highland laird and a strong, quirky, lovable, demure English lady. Together the fireworks fly, the banter is fantastic, lots of humor , smoking hot chemistry, and a love to last through all time! One of my favorites by Julie Garwood! A Must Read or in my case a read it over and over again book!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    TERRIFIC!

    I didn't think The Secret could have an equal, but this follow-up book is awesome! I loved how there were two stories going on at the same time. I loved how the character's interacted with each other. I would loved to see how Gillian did at her husband's home though. This book had you laughing, on the edge of your chair with so much suspense and a lot of surprises. Great read! Ljb

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    My favorite of all her books

    I bought two copies of this book...It is my favorite one of all:-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    WOW! You must read!

    I couldn't put this book down! From page one, I felt as though I was part of the adventure with Brodick, Gillian, Ramsey & Bridget. (Brodick and his guardsmen are an absolute hoot!) I have read this book numerous times and each time I still cry and laugh out loud as well. Julie Garwood is truly a genius when developing characters and telling a story. Her sense of humor is terrific. I have read where she was discouraged from putting so much humor in her books. Boy, were they wrong!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    *****Miraculous book very intriging*****

    I am the type of person who doesn't enjoy reading much, but then I saw this book in the library and I just thought that I should read it.. And this is the best book that I have ever read in my life (so far!!!! Lady Gillian is a heroine and I love the way she always portrayed herself as a lady.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    Fabulous!

    I absolutely adore this book. I have read it three times, and occasionally I will pick it up and read from random pages. I would suggest reading The Secret prior to Ransom, but reading them backwards (as I did) is far from harmful! I have thoroughly enjoyed every book of Garwood's, though Ransom is my definite favorite. I highly recommend this enchanting tale!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    Lady Champion

    Julie Garwood shines in this novel. It really shows off her wonderful talent. The book is so well written it simply captures you. You can almost see the scenes take place in your mind as you read. The people have such strong characters whether hero or vilian. The mystery twisting throughout grabs you and you do not realize who is the traitor until the end just as the players figure it out. Even King John seemed very real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2000

    THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!

    I really enjoyed this story. I thought at first that it would be something that would be too much like a romance novel where the woman was helpless and the man was the strong, brave one... boy was I wrong. The way the characters were portrayed was phonominal(sp?) I think that this is a must read. If anyone has comments on this story, e-mail it to me please. ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Excellent

    this was a wonderful book, Ms. Garwood develops her characters very well. As a young reader, I thought it had a little bit of everything, a little adventure, a little romance, a little bit about family relationships. I thought it was very exciting and kept my attention until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    OUTSTANDING

    I have to say that RANSOM was my favorite of JULIE GARWOODS books,I love the medieval times ,she makes me wish i could go back to that time,I adore Brodick Buchanan enough to want more,I even liked him in THE SECRET.I love the plot to RANSOM.JULIE please if you can give us a sequel of how BRODRICK and GILLIN make out when they get to his home.I never get tired of reading about those two. JULIE you'er not keeping up with me,I have read all your books a dozens of times,i need more.I would also add to all your readers that if they have not read RANSOM to do so,they will love it as i do,and want more.I do not tell much about the book,because if i got started i will not be able to stop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29