Customer Reviews for

Ransom

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lois Duncan-Ransom

This book is thrilling and kept my interest throughout the whole story. The question of 'What will happen next?' was always going through my mind while i was reading and I found it impossible to put this book down. The story of 5 children held hostage all started one da...
This book is thrilling and kept my interest throughout the whole story. The question of 'What will happen next?' was always going through my mind while i was reading and I found it impossible to put this book down. The story of 5 children held hostage all started one day when they were kidnapped while on the school bus on their way home from school. This story explains how close people can become aside from their differences. I highly recomend this book to anyone.

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ransom

Ransom By Lois Duncan This is a story focused on 5 kids, Bruce, Marianne, Glenn, Dexter, and Jesse, who live in a rich neighborhood called Valley Gardens. It all starts when at the end of the school day there original bus driver is out and a sub is in the seat, and ...
Ransom By Lois Duncan This is a story focused on 5 kids, Bruce, Marianne, Glenn, Dexter, and Jesse, who live in a rich neighborhood called Valley Gardens. It all starts when at the end of the school day there original bus driver is out and a sub is in the seat, and at the moment they didn¿t think much of it. They went through the normal routine dropping off everyone except those in Valley Gardens. He took them to a lake where another car was parked with a woman, his wife, waiting there. They switched from the bus to that and traveled up to the mountains to a cabin far away from any village. The kidnapper and his wife planned to keep them there until their parents paid the ransom. I recommend this book to someone around the age 12-14 and who loves books focused on suspense and action, which is mainly the author¿s style of writing. Anyone who enjoys reading and watching cliffhanger plots would love to read this book. In my opinion this wasn¿t the best book but it was decent and enjoyable. Such as when somewhere along the story someone gets shot! Also when the kids attempt a thrilling escape plan. Find out for yourself by reading Ransom. Overall I would probably give this book a rating of 3 out of 5 stars. If you like split stories where different characters come together with all different backgrounds than this is the book for you.

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Lois Duncan-Ransom

    This book is thrilling and kept my interest throughout the whole story. The question of 'What will happen next?' was always going through my mind while i was reading and I found it impossible to put this book down. The story of 5 children held hostage all started one day when they were kidnapped while on the school bus on their way home from school. This story explains how close people can become aside from their differences. I highly recomend this book to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Ok sorta

    It was, for lack of better term, a complete bore. The characters were underdeveloped and typical. The girl with a devoriced family. The boy with a haunting past he cant get over. The loner girl. The self obsorbed jock and his scrawny, less populare brother who admires him but in the end finds out the truth. I felt nothing for them. No feelings supported ANYTHING. Not worth the money.
    15 year old girl.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Ranson by Lois Duncan

    This book is amazing. It only took me an hour to read. I loved it so much i couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Ransom

    Ransom By Lois Duncan This is a story focused on 5 kids, Bruce, Marianne, Glenn, Dexter, and Jesse, who live in a rich neighborhood called Valley Gardens. It all starts when at the end of the school day there original bus driver is out and a sub is in the seat, and at the moment they didn¿t think much of it. They went through the normal routine dropping off everyone except those in Valley Gardens. He took them to a lake where another car was parked with a woman, his wife, waiting there. They switched from the bus to that and traveled up to the mountains to a cabin far away from any village. The kidnapper and his wife planned to keep them there until their parents paid the ransom. I recommend this book to someone around the age 12-14 and who loves books focused on suspense and action, which is mainly the author¿s style of writing. Anyone who enjoys reading and watching cliffhanger plots would love to read this book. In my opinion this wasn¿t the best book but it was decent and enjoyable. Such as when somewhere along the story someone gets shot! Also when the kids attempt a thrilling escape plan. Find out for yourself by reading Ransom. Overall I would probably give this book a rating of 3 out of 5 stars. If you like split stories where different characters come together with all different backgrounds than this is the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Lois lover 18

    Lois has not dissapointed e yet!!!!! I love her books so much and this one is one of her best master pieces! Every teen character is relatable in some way. I recomend this book to anyone who loves Lois Duncan, or a thriller. She can write some awesome "never let go" books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Highly Recomended

    Ransom by Louis Duncan is a book about 5 kids in Vally gradems who get kidnapped and they also are held for ransom.I highly recomend this book to teenagers and young adults.The book is very well writtten and in every chapter the book,builds on supense and emotion.Lastly,when you pick up the book,you can never put it down. So do the right thing and buy the book.Trust me you will love it as much as I do !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Reality check.

    This book was so real I felt like this could happen to me or anyone who has ever ridden a school bus. I couldn't put it down. It's a real page turner and had me scared for the characters. Recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Ransom by Lois Duncan

    It wasnt her best but it was ok. I wouldnt recomend it or anything like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    HEADLINE

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!! Jessse and dex are so cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    AWESOMEST BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK IS SOOOOOOOO COOL!!!!!!! It has so much suspense, this story will leave you hungry for more. SO BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Great

    This book is really good if u like mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Book review

    Ransom by Lois Duncan, is about five teens: Dexter, Jesse, Bruce, Glenn, and Marianne. All five students were kidnapped from their bus coming home from school one day. The story takes place in Albuquerque.The cool thing about all five characters is that all five of them have the same thing in common, they are all from the same part, Valley Gardens. Valley Gardens is where all the rich people live so this was one of the reasons why they were kidnapped. The title pretty much explains it all because the kidnappers only kidnapped them for money.
    Ransom was one of the better books I have read. I really love thriller books and horro books and this book was a combination of the two. I really hate reading but I actually enjoyed this book. What was really cool about this book was how the kidnappers picked five students who were pratically exactly alike. The only thing I didn't really like about the book was how the title pretty much gave the book away. Lois Duncan is my favorite author when it comes to horror books. I would recommend this book to young adults who are looking for a book that keeps you constantly on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    enjoyable

    This book is really lovely. It is a book you can really get in to. The characters are okay but other then that the book is great. It has a lot of detail to. I would recommond this book to people but i would recommond another book first to be honest. But this book is really gooooooooood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    this is sorta a good book but I do not recomend it

    Ransom is a good book but too much detail and the characters feel like they are with you which I suppose to. When you get to the back of the book it starts to lose all of the details and it Is good for me and probably not for someone who likes detailed books. The setting of the kidnapping was great because you think you are like right there with them and feeling what they are feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    A piece of art, keeping you on your toes.

    My review of this book is a book to cherish and remember, as it opened up a world of reading. There was a suspenseful beginning, built body, and a classic resolving end. The exposition starts off with clear details on where the victims were and how they got there. The body has clear real details that could've happened in real life. This keeps the reader interested and on their toes. The writer also uses tricks like cliffhangers and an unresolved chapter at the end of each chapter. The ending was a classic. One adult goes to the place where they're keeping the child, the ransom is not needed, the bad guys die, and they all make it back safe. Although this story is extremely good book, if you read it then u can clearly point out its simplicity, which can only get four out of five stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept me on the edge of my chair

    This book was definitely a page turner, and was really good. It had a good plot line with developed characters. I would recommend this book to a friend, but it wouldn't be the first on the list. Overall, I liked it a lot and it is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    this book was really good

    i liked this book and i would be great to read if you didnt have anything else to read. i liked it, but it was a little unreallistic. i would read "dont look behind you" or "killing mr. griffin" before i read this, just to be quite honset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    Ransom Review

    Ransom was about five kids who got on the bus after school to go home. It was not their bus driver and they were kidnapped. They took them far away and called the parents asking for money. Whether the parents came though is the question and how long would the kidnappers wait? This is a suspense book and mystery, of course. <BR/> I think my favorite character was Bruce.He was the younger brother of the most popular guy in school, Glen. Glen was the football player and just an all around good guy. Bruce, on the other hand, was the nerdy kind of guy. The one that never really seemed to stand out and had to live in his brother's shadow. I liked Bruce though because the book made it very clear that he wasn't at all jealous of his brother. In fact, he is quite proud of him and very boastful about his brother's social status. I found this to be very unique and it made it to where i really didn't know the character's importance at the beginning. He does play a significant role in my eyes though.<BR/> Ransom is a pretty good book. I like the individuality of the characters and the role that they play. I think Lois Duncan did a great job at keeping the suspense there and not giving away the ending too soon. I've always been a mystery kind of guy also so of course, i liked that part about it. I didn't really like the way it just jumped into the kidnapping at the beginning. It confused the characters for me a little bit but i eventually caught on. Overall, i say it would be a pretty good choice to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    ransom

    lois duncan was slow to start out with but as you continue to read you start to care about what happens to these charaters and with out realizing it you are unable to stop reading because you really want to find out what happens to the kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Ransom!!!

    This book is soooooo awesome. Before the first page was done i was sucked into reading it and i loved it! Out of all the books you could read i recomend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4