Customer Reviews for

Ransom Beach

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

A Real Find

I read crime fiction exhaustively & have rarely come across a mystery as clever as this one. Without spoiling the plot, the author's red herring is a true show stopper. Detective Chalice closely resembles a female cop I have known for many years. She is clever, sure-foo...
I read crime fiction exhaustively & have rarely come across a mystery as clever as this one. Without spoiling the plot, the author's red herring is a true show stopper. Detective Chalice closely resembles a female cop I have known for many years. She is clever, sure-footed, and at times laugh out loud funny. A reviewer recently complained about blank pages. Giving a fine book a poor review for a conversion error is like eating at a five star restaurant and giving it a poor review because the table wobbled. This book is a gem and for my money as good as anything being released by the big publishing houses.

posted by LawrenceKelter on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

While the premise of the storyline was good, I had a hard time with all the blank pages, grammar and spelling errors. I wish someone hsd checked to see how this book had converted. Overall a disappointing novel.

posted by Beverooni on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A Real Find

    I read crime fiction exhaustively & have rarely come across a mystery as clever as this one. Without spoiling the plot, the author's red herring is a true show stopper. Detective Chalice closely resembles a female cop I have known for many years. She is clever, sure-footed, and at times laugh out loud funny. A reviewer recently complained about blank pages. Giving a fine book a poor review for a conversion error is like eating at a five star restaurant and giving it a poor review because the table wobbled. This book is a gem and for my money as good as anything being released by the big publishing houses.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Good suspense, great mystery. worth the time

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Kelter does it again!

    Ransom Beach held my interest from start to finish! The characters are well developed. They are dramatic and amusing all rolled into one. I loved the ending. I have read other books by this author and am never disappointed. I'm looking forward to the next one!<BR/><BR/>Michele P

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    GOOD READ

    Again, no cover page. 745 pages? The pages turn 1, 2, and sometimes 3 at a turn. However, this is a full length book. Good suspense, complete with subplots. Good enough, that I purchased the next one in the series. Well worth reading.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Two thumbs uo

    This is the first book i have read by this author. I enjoyed his writing style and characters. Good storyline, easy to get back into when frequently interrupted. I really liked the heroine, will read more in this series.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great Book

    I have never read anything by this author. This was a great book, well developed characters and suprise ending. I wouldn't mind a series using these same characters. I will definitely read more by him.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    wow

    Since when did the review section become a chat room. Go elsewhere so those of us who might actually want to buy the book can read real reviews

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great book!

    Held my interest from beginning to end. A thoroughly great read. Highly recomend.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Ht Hey you read my coment

    Its a great book:)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    Great book with great story line. Stayed up late to finish it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Ranson Beach

    Couldnt put it down. Great suspence book!! Leaves you wanting more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Even better than the first book.

    Great book. Hard to put down. Starting on the third book. Cant wait to see what happens next.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Disappointing

    While the premise of the storyline was good, I had a hard time with all the blank pages, grammar and spelling errors. I wish someone hsd checked to see how this book had converted. Overall a disappointing novel.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I flew through the book! It was well written and with it being from differentangles throughout, made it very intriguing! A must read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    5 star

    I have enjoyed all Lawrence Kelter's books, I would highly recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Excellent book

    Fun read. Story line was interesting. Can't wait to read more books in series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    MS

    Fun read, good plot with suprise ending . However too wordy, skipped mx paragraphs

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Loved the diverse and rich characters!

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns,this story took. Just when I thought I had it figured out, Bam! it takes off in another direction! The heroine is tough and tenacious. A really good read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent storyline, not so great writing

    The plot of the book kept me interested, but I was disappointed by the number of spelling and grammatical errors in it. Also, the writing style of the author seemed a bit disjointed. Overall, not a great book. I won't be reading the rest of this series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    This book is written in first person from Stephanie's perspectiv

    This book is written in first person from Stephanie's perspective, and all I can say is Kelter shouldn't write a book from the perspective of a woman. Ya, we women like sex, but the patois he gives to Stephanie is pure male. She sounds more like Mike Hammer than a woman cop. An example: Stephanie's lover wakes up amorous and here's what written &quot;He was probably hoping for a fast glass of freshly squeezed me,, and a skillet full off girlfriend over easy...&quot;. Was that supposed to be clever, satirical, funny? It was none of that, and the book is full of uneven writing. The story was interesting and definitely worth 99 cents. Would have rated it higher except for the uneven writing. I really don't know who Stephanie really is; poor character development.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8