Customer Reviews for

Ransom My Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great, although quite vulgar at times

The book was a true classic and I loved it, but due to the popularity of the Princess Diaries Series amongst really young girls, it is quite risky that it was released with the series as it contains quite vulgar scenes which may not be appropriate for young girls. But o...
The book was a true classic and I loved it, but due to the popularity of the Princess Diaries Series amongst really young girls, it is quite risky that it was released with the series as it contains quite vulgar scenes which may not be appropriate for young girls. But overall, GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 1766353 on August 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not what you think when you think Princess Mia...unless Mia has turned into a salacious beast...

I teach middle school. This book was sent by our school system to our school's library. The buyer for our system saw "Princess Mia" and made a logical, albeit vastly incorrect, leap that Cabot's book would be a great addition based on the success and readability of th...
I teach middle school. This book was sent by our school system to our school's library. The buyer for our system saw "Princess Mia" and made a logical, albeit vastly incorrect, leap that Cabot's book would be a great addition based on the success and readability of the Princess Diaries. NOTHING could be further from the truth. As an adult, the book is just fine for my eyes. Everything that has been said in previous reviews about characterization and adventure and strong female heroine and romance is absolutely true. BUT THIS IS NOT A BOOK FOR YOUNG ADULTS. Contrary to the marketing that misleads the reader into believing this is a natural extension of the Princess Mia ethos, this book contains graphic sexual detail and innuendo. This book should be in the adult Romance section of any bookstore and never, ever confused with a book that would be appropriate for the masses of girls who fell in love with Princess Mia (at least until they pass an acceptable age---and 13 and 14 ain't it). I was surprised because the book didn't really need the gratuitous, graphic sex to be a good read...the story could stand on its own without it. If you pick up this book thinking it will have the same mildly flirtatious and innocently romantic tone as the Princess Diaries series, you will be shocked and disappointed to find that Princess of Genovia Mia Thermopolis has quite the explicit imagination, as she is credited with the authoring of this book. I applaud that the proceeds go to a worthy cause, but at the same time please be aware this is a book for ADULT AUDIENCES...or at least the more mature, late teens...definitely not your Disney Princess!

posted by jinxminx76 on April 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Great, although quite vulgar at times

    The book was a true classic and I loved it, but due to the popularity of the Princess Diaries Series amongst really young girls, it is quite risky that it was released with the series as it contains quite vulgar scenes which may not be appropriate for young girls. But overall, GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ransom My Heart

    The people in Finnula Finn's town are starving. Luckily, she's can wield a bow and arrow like nobody else. She's been keeping the town's people fed so they don't starve. She likes looking after people and not being a conventional women. When her sister comes to her needing help, she can't refuse. However, she knows nothing about capturing a man and holding him for ransom. When she finds one to her liking, she doesn't realize that she's in way over her head. First of all, he infuriates her. Second of all, she finds herself divulging all her secrets to him - well not all of them. She still doesn't want to talk about what happened on her wedding night. That subject is off limits, but nothing else appears to be off limits including her lips. How did she get herself into this mess and how could it end other than badly?<BR/><BR/>An adult romance novel written as a senior project by Princess Mia Thermoplis. She uses a pen name in an attempt to become an author without using her title. All the proceeds from this book will go towards Greenpeace.<BR/><BR/>An addicting and satisfying read. I read this yesterday during my snow day. And loved it. It was the perfect treat for the day.<BR/>~ yabooknerd @ http://yabooknerd.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Must read

    I luvd readin this buk ive read it 3x, i would definately recommend reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Awesome!!

    I thought it was realky funny how meg cabot actually wrote the book that she mentioned mia writing in the princess diaries. When i read the princess diaries and this book was mentioned, i wished it was a real book, and i just thought id look it up for kicks not expecting to find anything, but its actually a real book. :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    Great+book%21%21%21

    This+book+is+awesome%21+It+is+one+of+my+fav.+books%21+And+i+read+alot%21+It+is+a+must+read+for+those+who+love+romance%21+Its+a+great+book+%3A%29

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Loved!!!!

    I loved this book. It is a great love story. It is based in the 1800s so it may be a little difficult to understand all thee words. I think this is one of Meg Cabot's yet!!!!! it is a wonderful book about a strong fearless woman who iisn't afraid to be herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    A great read!

    I had this book sitting on my bookself ever since it came out. I never found time to read it, but I just finished it and this is definitely my new favorite book! Plot twists, danger, romance, what more could you want?! Definitely not for young kids, but a must read for both young and old adults looking for a fun and gripping read. You won't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    One of my favorite books of all time!

    Meg Cabot is one of my favorite authors, so of course I just had to read this book! I am currently re-reading this book for the second time, and am absolutely loving it! I forgot how good it is! When I saw some of the not so great reviews on this book, I just had to create an account to tell you all how amazing this book is! I love the back-and-forth between Finulla and Hugh, and how unpredictable they are. This book has kept me on the edge of my seat, waiting to see what happens next. Like some of the other reviews said, this book has some pretty graphic sex scenes and sexual comments, so I don't recommend this book for younger readers or for those who are sensitive to those kinds of things. Overall, I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Entrancing

    I could not put this book down!I loved the story and how the chapters switched between the characters' point of view. I am confused about the whole "Mia Thermopolis wrote this" but the story was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book, the characters are great and the plot is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ransom My Heart

    Ransom My Heart was really romantic and thrilling,set in 1291 England,Finnula Crais is feisty and a great huntress, instead of helping out at home,she prefers to hunt then she kidnaps a knight returning home from the Crusades and sparks fly.She also doesn't know that he is the earl of her town but Hugo Fitzstephen is quite thrilled to be kidnapped especially by such a beautiful girl but when complications arise the two may be torn apart.The language was a little challenging as the story is set in medieval times.But i really loved this historical romance novel and totally recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Natalie Tsang for TeensReadToo.com

    Girls will laugh and swoon with RANSOM MY HEART. Princess Mia Thermopolis, heroine of Meg Cabot's THE PRINCESS DIARIES, pens a fun, flirty debut novel that's spiced with the occasional mishap.

    Finnula Crais is out to catch a rich man. Why has Fair Finn switched from hunting game to hunting men? To help out her beloved sister, of course!

    The family beauty, Mellana, has spent her entire dowry and needs Finn to capture and ransom some poor unsuspecting fool so she can marry the man of her dreams. As luck would have it, her prey is none other than the new local lord, Hugo Fitzstephen, a seasoned knight and womanizer who has just returned from the Crusades.

    Inevitably, things begin to heat up as Finn uses herself as bait to lure Hugo. Her hostage is all too happy to find himself the center of attention of such a determined huntress.

    I blushed and giggled my way through their mutual and often awkward physical attraction as it blossomed into a romantic but still comedic courtship. I really liked that there were quite a few rocks and some hard slogging to get to true love. There were moments when I envied Finn, but there were also times when I was so glad that I was not in her shoes.

    While RANSOM MY HEART has its share of historical romance tropes - scheming teenage girls, corrupt bailiffs, mistaken identity, and disastrous miscommunication - readers will find these as familiar landmarks rather than repetitive scenery. Meg Cabot seems to have a lot of fun playing with our expectations and then subverting them.

    Finn may be a seventeen-year-old tomboy, but even when head-over-heels in love, she knows better than to compromise herself or her family over some guy. Likewise, it's super-refreshing to have a hero and heroine who have lives and dreams outside of each other.

    Readers, beware! There is a high chance of silly smiles, laugh-out-loud moments, and holding your breath as you frantically turn the pages. Five Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    HUGE FAN

    This book was amazing. I gave it to ALL of my friends to read. The attraction between Finnula and "Sir Hugh" is almost tangible; you can feel it as you read. Finnula's strong desire for independence and Sir Hugh's love for control bring a whole new meaning to "opposites attract". Most of all I love the mystery. Anyone who likes a good story and a great romance will LOVE this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ransom My Heart

    This book is filled with an almost forbidden romance, taking place back in 1291. The story of a tom-boy, Finnula, captures Sir Hugo for ransom, only to find out that she is madly in love with him. Irritated by her feelings toward him, she no longer wishes to hold him for ransom, trying to set him free only to discover that his feelings for her are stronger than ever, leading them both on a journey towards eternal love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect Historical Fiction Romance

    If you like Historical Fiction Romance, read this book! It is amazing, funny, romantic, and sweet. Don't be afraid that it will difficult to read because it is set in the Medival Times. Meg Cabot never makes her historical fiction characters speaking too challenging to understand. <BR/><BR/>It really is a wonderful book, and I can't wait to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is an amusing medieval romance

    In 1291 Stephensgate, England the miller Crais¿ oldest daughter Mellana is pregnant with the father being a traveling troubadour. Since the family has no money set aside for a dowry, Mellana¿s prospects for marriage is zero unless she takes direct action. She persuades her sister Finn to assist her by kidnapping for ransom a wealthy man.<BR/><BR/>After due diligence, they decide on an Earl just back from the Crusades. Finn abducts Hugh Fitzstephen, who has plenty of gold and jewels that he brought home from his overseas venture. Fitzstephen acts docile more out of curiosity than any threat from his guard. However, to both their shock, Finn and Hugh are attracted to one another, complicating an already out of control plan.<BR/><BR/>This is an amusing medieval romance ¿written¿ by Mia with Meg Cabot¿s help. Fans of the author will understand who Mia is especially if they read the last Princess Diaries entry while newcomers will seek her previous starring work. The story line is fast-paced, humorous and at times zany once the gender battle takes shape. Fans will appreciate this fun historical romance, in which the Princess is donating the profit to Greenpeace.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4