BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ransome's Honor (Ransome Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read for the Historical Romance Lover

Often, people think of romance novels as wild romps through contrived plots and outlandish characters in unrealistic settings. And sometimes that is true. Not so for Ransome's Honor. It's a fun, satisfying read, but without the unrealistic contrivances.

The author ha...
Often, people think of romance novels as wild romps through contrived plots and outlandish characters in unrealistic settings. And sometimes that is true. Not so for Ransome's Honor. It's a fun, satisfying read, but without the unrealistic contrivances.

The author has a way of weaving details of her extensive knowledge of ships and The Royal Navy so that the reader is given a good sense of Regency life for sailors and their families. Characters are fleshed out and easy to keep straight, assisting the reader's imagination.

As you might have guessed, Ransome's Honor is right up my alley. I am so thankful for talented Christian authors, Like Kaye Dacus, who write about my favorite genre: historical fiction. And especially historical romance. This novel fits the bill wonderfully. I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

posted by jubilee on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tried to downloadb

Would not download beyond book title and info

posted by 9198273 on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wonderfully writen

    What a soulful read. Truely a great piece of writing. I just wish that the begging part wasnt so slow going. It made it hard for me to keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Very good

    Kept me on the edge of my chair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great story

    Really enjoyed this. Can't wait for the next 2 books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasant Romantic Weekend Read

    Pleasant familiar romantic novel set in historic nineteenth century England. All of the nose snubbing, wanna be higher on the food chain, aristocratic personalities are in attendance trying to claw their way higher up the social and financial ladder of nobility by any means, fair or foul. Also in attendance are the classical upstanding gentleman hero's of the age, putting back to social right the carnage left in the wake of archetypal royal villainous behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Good read.

    Very enjoyable way to spend a few hours. Looking forward to reading subsequent books in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Good read and the second in this series is even better. Ransomes crossing kept me engaged the whole time cant wait till Ransomes quest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good regency era novel.

    I really enjoyed reading Ransome's Honor. The title fit the story perfectly. It was like a blend of Marylu Tyndall's pirate stories as well as Linore Rose Burkard's novels. I've never read Jane Austen (oh the shame...) but I hear it has a similar feel to it. Ransome's Honor was filled with culture and details about the mid 1800s that gave it an authentic feel. Plus the use of language from that day in age made it seem like I was part of the era as I read along. I found William to be quite the gentleman and an exciting hero as well.

    The story had just enough romantic tension to make me smile when things got tense between them. Julie was a likeable heroine and I found her feelings and responses to be authentic. I loved that she didn't wuss out and that she cared about other people more than herself, especially toward the end. It was interesting, too, how this book contained the other man's POV on occasion as well as a few other characters. It wasn't distracting like it often is when you get just a snapshot from one character's POV. In Ransome's Honor it added to the story rather than distracting from it.

    All in all, I found this story delightful and I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys Regency era novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Outstanding Regency

    In the first book of her Ransome Trilogy Series, Ransome's Honor, Kaye Dacus brings the English Regency period to vivid life in the tradition of Jane Austen, but in her own distinctive voice and style. The plot is engaging and the hero and heroine sympathetic and believable, as is the entire cast of well-drawn characters who populate this book- including the delightfully villainous villain. You quickly begin to care about William and Julia and root for them to cast their past aside and finally give in to their love for each other.

    One of the best things about this story is how Dacus incorporates extensive research in an unobtrusive and involving way. Readers learn a great deal about the world of 1814 England, the town of Portsmouth, and the Royal Navy without feeling as though they're being given a history lesson. The element of faith is also exceptionally well integrated and central to the main characters' lives. Delightfully, the crisis is just hair-raising enough to keep the reader turning pages without becoming overwhelmed. My kudos to Ms. Dacus for another excellent read! I'm looking forward to the second book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Horatio Hornblower meets Jane Austen

    A Regency era historical fiction with a navy man in blue. Need I say more?

    Inspired by her love of C.S. Forester's dashing Royal Navy hero Horatio Hornblower and Jane Austen's novel Persuasion, new author Kaye Dacus' Ransome's Honor is a moving Regency era historical fiction novel infused with naval lore and engaging characters. The novel is set in Royal Navy port of Portsmouth and begins in 1802 as the war with France has come to end. Seventeen year old Julia Witherington will never forgive Lieutenant William Ransome for not proposing to her when she and all of Portsmouth society expected it. He is a promising young naval officer who has earned his advancement but no fortune. She is an heiress and the daughter of his Captain. Feeling he will be tagged a fortune-hunter, his honor prevents him from proposing. Reunited twelve years later, the intelligent and proud Julia is still harboring strong resentment and Captain Ransome his regrets. Pressured by her unscrupulous relatives into an alliance with her ne'er-do-well cousin Sir Drake Pembroke, she enters into a bargain with Captain Ransome for a one year marriage in exchange for her dowry. He is not interested in her money, but is honor bound by his promise to her father his commanding officer and his own heart to assist her. Will Ransome's honor prevail and soften Julia's resolve and rekindle her affections?

    A sweet romance, this novel is actually classified as Christian fiction, but I did not find the religious vein overly preachy or imposing. A most delightful voyage with the distinguished and dishy Captain Ransome, I am all anticipation of his further adventures in romance and the sea when the next installment of The Ransome Trilogy, Ransome's Crossing makes port next July.

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2