Customer Reviews for

Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chuck the Great

Another great work of fiction... Not my favorite Chuck book, but a good read...

posted by daredog on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someon...
Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someone else's life. If we do see through that veil we can follow our own true path within our society. Or we can Chuck the whole thing and realise we are just clever animals. We can take the idea that life is 'nasty, brutish and short' to its extreme conclusion. Your garden variety rebel distills life to sex and drugs and rock and roll. Your true rebel distills life to sex and destruction and rant and rage. The trap is that for every authentic anti-hero, like Tyler Durden or Rant Casey, there is a pathetic cast of wannabes ironically trying to live someone else's life. This book would have been OK if 'Fight Club' had not been written first. Chuck Palahniuk rages against the tame homogenized life so many of us live. I think that puts a greater burden on him not to recycle his earlier successes.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someone else's life. If we do see through that veil we can follow our own true path within our society. Or we can Chuck the whole thing and realise we are just clever animals. We can take the idea that life is 'nasty, brutish and short' to its extreme conclusion. Your garden variety rebel distills life to sex and drugs and rock and roll. Your true rebel distills life to sex and destruction and rant and rage. The trap is that for every authentic anti-hero, like Tyler Durden or Rant Casey, there is a pathetic cast of wannabes ironically trying to live someone else's life. This book would have been OK if 'Fight Club' had not been written first. Chuck Palahniuk rages against the tame homogenized life so many of us live. I think that puts a greater burden on him not to recycle his earlier successes.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Pick any other Palahniuk but this one

    I love Palahniuk's books. I give them to everyone after reading.

    I wanted to throw this one in the garbage after reading.
    It is as interesting as all the rest of the books until the last few pages. It's as if Chuck was simply tired of writing the story and finished it at 9am before a 10am deadline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was a big disappointment. I am a huge fan of Chuck and this was totally not what I expected from him. It's very repetitive and all the important information about the main character is in the first few pages. Nothing new about him is discovered throughout the rest of the book. If you're into bad books, be my guest but if you're looking for a good read or am a fan of Chuck's, please spare yourself the disappointment and wasting money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews must have been because they did not understand the work, or they just want a simple narrative that gives you a generic story. And this book is not even close to being Fight Club. It requires much more thinking, and is much more complex than Fight Club. This is a book that gets better every time you read it as well. I'm beginning to think some people that read this book has no clue what it is about!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Chuck the Great

    Another great work of fiction... Not my favorite Chuck book, but a good read...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Rant is one of Chuck's worst books. I am glad I got it from the libary and did not buy it. I am a fan of Chucks, but this books was not well written (errors all over the place) and had no plot. Every voice is the book was the same. Everyone was a redneck 'who could not talk' even the the people he claimed had PHD's. There's however are a few funny parts, but like his other books, they are really just sick and stupid. More sick than stupid. Thing is, Chucks fan's for the most part will love anything he writes. If it has his name of it, it must be gold they think. This book however is not gold. His other books are much better, but who I am kidding, no one cares about his material anymore. I will give him lots of credit for being true to his fans, but at some point, he has to come up with something new. Plus, lets face the facts, reading 'the dude' who wrote the book for the movie fight club seems cool. And without 'fight club' the movie, not the book, I would not care about Chuck and neither would you.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews must have been because they did not understand the work, or they just want a simple narrative that gives you a generic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    There hasn't been a better book about rabies since Old Yeller.

    This book reads like a documentary and that just adds to the fun and occasional humor of it all.
    The story really picks up when Palanhniuk sprinkles in some subtle Sci-fi, which came a bit late in the book, but it was welcomed.
    I loved the world Chuck built through the perspectives of the characters in Rant Casey's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    To all that responded with some school idea or complaining about stuff in rp

    Look people, sure, roleplaying helps grammer sometimes, it's not what it is about. Roleplaying is about having fun and being yourself. Or at least that what it used to be about. Let's say that you want to get a bunch of attention but in real life you are really shy. This is your ticket out of being shy in your whole life and you can be the energetic attention getter. And hen i made the post, "roleplaying isn't what it used to be" I was wanting people to actually think. What did I get? Some a$$holes that were like "you're right, now im going to make a stupid grammer schools for noobs" I wasn't wanting that at all. I mean all they did was put yes you are right, and then put a bunch of $hit after that. I know that I just sound like that person that is just really cranky about nothing, but this is something. I feel like all you grammeraphobes just think that you are doing the right thing, but your not. All you are doing is not wanting people to be ho thwy actually are. If they are por n driven freaks (Im just using this as an example) then just let them, it'll probably wear off eventually. Now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Emris

    ?........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Chuck

    The greatest read in my lifetime. I have been waoting to get into a book this good for a long time, and years later I'm still lost looking, I love rant with a passion, this is my favorite book of all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Hask

    'He chuckled,' Your the first one to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Tag

    She nodded and hummed happily. "Hey Hask..." she smiled playfully d flirtingly fluttered her eyelashes. "Has anyone ever told you that you look amazngly handsome when you're think hard about something?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Top 5

    One of my all-time favorite reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Ryan

    Rant About Noobs And Wh<_>ores Will Be Posted Later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Worst book yet

    I love Chuck's books but this one is horrible. I have tried to read it three times now and each time ends with me say "Why did I buy this!!?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Loved!

    Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great re-introduction to Palahniuk

    It has been quite awhile since I last picked up a Palahniuk book. This was an engrossing, interesting, fascinating read. I am glad that CP abandoned the repetitive archetype he had been relying on to fuel earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Excellent!

    One of my favorite Palahniuk books! Palahniuk always a has good twist in his books, but this one has been my favorite so far. The style is a lot of with everyone who knew "Rant" telling their own story of the interaction and the meaning the got from. Interweaving these stories together in the an Oral Biography just make the read so much more fun and different from anything I've read lately. Good for diehard Palahniuk fans or someone giving him their first try.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    In the top 3

    Ranks on up there with fight club and choke (two of my favorites). It's cool to finally have one of the great social commentators/satirists finally create a society of his own. Starts a little slow with a couple what are they talking moments (boosted peaks, party crashing). But picks up the pace. If you can try an get the audio, it's read by full cast and adds a lot more personality to characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14