BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chuck the Great

Another great work of fiction... Not my favorite Chuck book, but a good read...

posted by daredog on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someon...
Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someone else's life. If we do see through that veil we can follow our own true path within our society. Or we can Chuck the whole thing and realise we are just clever animals. We can take the idea that life is 'nasty, brutish and short' to its extreme conclusion. Your garden variety rebel distills life to sex and drugs and rock and roll. Your true rebel distills life to sex and destruction and rant and rage. The trap is that for every authentic anti-hero, like Tyler Durden or Rant Casey, there is a pathetic cast of wannabes ironically trying to live someone else's life. This book would have been OK if 'Fight Club' had not been written first. Chuck Palahniuk rages against the tame homogenized life so many of us live. I think that puts a greater burden on him not to recycle his earlier successes.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Chuck the Great

    Another great work of fiction... Not my favorite Chuck book, but a good read...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    There hasn't been a better book about rabies since Old Yeller.

    This book reads like a documentary and that just adds to the fun and occasional humor of it all.
    The story really picks up when Palanhniuk sprinkles in some subtle Sci-fi, which came a bit late in the book, but it was welcomed.
    I loved the world Chuck built through the perspectives of the characters in Rant Casey's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Emris

    ?........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Hask

    'He chuckled,' Your the first one to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Reads like a video interview, nice format

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Different.

    My fiance recommended that I read this book. I've read other Chuck Palahniuk books and was delightfully surprised that I enjoyed them. I liked Choke and Invisible Monsters, but I was hesitant about reading Rant. It didn't look like something I would enjoy reading just by the writing style at the beginning, but the further I went on in the book, the more I found the style helpful.
    I can't wait to read Pygmy, his latest book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Great so far!

    i have been reading this book on the road and it completely goes along with all these redneck towns we are driving through. i am enjoying it a lot, not chuck's best book, but still really great as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    Return to Greatness of Earlier Works

    Rant is definitely a return of a good Palahniuk book especially since his last 3 books: Lullaby, Diary, and Haunted were a letdown compared to his early works. The concepts of Party Crashing and Time Travel is very interesting. Although the oral biography format the makes it hard to get a grip on the character of Rant Casey (and the rest of characters for that matter) but its just there to reinforce the theme of objectivity. The writing continues to be excellent and the story is interesting and outrageous but still has the ultimate purpose of getting the ideas of the book to the reader in a way that is easy to understand although I would not rank RANT among Chuck's best. (For those of you who have read all of Chuck's books prior to reading this one, don't put too much expectations on it, it will only make the book disappointing.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have always been a fan of Chuck's (even before Fight Club became a film). His style is unique, addicting, and perfectly insane. 'Rant' was a good example of his fine writing however, it lacked a 'wow' ending. The characters in 'Fight Club' and 'Survivor' seemed to face a beautifully inescapable fate, but it is well executed and left for the mind to ponder. 'Rant,' in contrast, left me unsatisfied with the ending- a little disappointed and unresolved. It was a quick read and an interesting take on the modern novel. It will make for a great summer read and perhaps provoke your thoughts, but I'm still waiting for another classic. I recommend 'Rant' as a great read, but it does not go down as a piece of his definitive collection. You will enjoy it for the subtle humor and the typical Chuck style- weird and interesting facts inserted throughout the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4