BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Chuck the Great

Another great work of fiction... Not my favorite Chuck book, but a good read...

posted by daredog on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someon...
Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someone else's life. If we do see through that veil we can follow our own true path within our society. Or we can Chuck the whole thing and realise we are just clever animals. We can take the idea that life is 'nasty, brutish and short' to its extreme conclusion. Your garden variety rebel distills life to sex and drugs and rock and roll. Your true rebel distills life to sex and destruction and rant and rage. The trap is that for every authentic anti-hero, like Tyler Durden or Rant Casey, there is a pathetic cast of wannabes ironically trying to live someone else's life. This book would have been OK if 'Fight Club' had not been written first. Chuck Palahniuk rages against the tame homogenized life so many of us live. I think that puts a greater burden on him not to recycle his earlier successes.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews must have been because they did not understand the work, or they just want a simple narrative that gives you a generic story. And this book is not even close to being Fight Club. It requires much more thinking, and is much more complex than Fight Club. This is a book that gets better every time you read it as well. I'm beginning to think some people that read this book has no clue what it is about!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews

    This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews must have been because they did not understand the work, or they just want a simple narrative that gives you a generic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    To all that responded with some school idea or complaining about stuff in rp

    Look people, sure, roleplaying helps grammer sometimes, it's not what it is about. Roleplaying is about having fun and being yourself. Or at least that what it used to be about. Let's say that you want to get a bunch of attention but in real life you are really shy. This is your ticket out of being shy in your whole life and you can be the energetic attention getter. And hen i made the post, "roleplaying isn't what it used to be" I was wanting people to actually think. What did I get? Some a$$holes that were like "you're right, now im going to make a stupid grammer schools for noobs" I wasn't wanting that at all. I mean all they did was put yes you are right, and then put a bunch of $hit after that. I know that I just sound like that person that is just really cranky about nothing, but this is something. I feel like all you grammeraphobes just think that you are doing the right thing, but your not. All you are doing is not wanting people to be ho thwy actually are. If they are por n driven freaks (Im just using this as an example) then just let them, it'll probably wear off eventually. Now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Chuck

    The greatest read in my lifetime. I have been waoting to get into a book this good for a long time, and years later I'm still lost looking, I love rant with a passion, this is my favorite book of all time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Tag

    She nodded and hummed happily. "Hey Hask..." she smiled playfully d flirtingly fluttered her eyelashes. "Has anyone ever told you that you look amazngly handsome when you're think hard about something?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Top 5

    One of my all-time favorite reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Ryan

    Rant About Noobs And Wh<_>ores Will Be Posted Later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Loved!

    Great Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great re-introduction to Palahniuk

    It has been quite awhile since I last picked up a Palahniuk book. This was an engrossing, interesting, fascinating read. I am glad that CP abandoned the repetitive archetype he had been relying on to fuel earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Excellent!

    One of my favorite Palahniuk books! Palahniuk always a has good twist in his books, but this one has been my favorite so far. The style is a lot of with everyone who knew "Rant" telling their own story of the interaction and the meaning the got from. Interweaving these stories together in the an Oral Biography just make the read so much more fun and different from anything I've read lately. Good for diehard Palahniuk fans or someone giving him their first try.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    In the top 3

    Ranks on up there with fight club and choke (two of my favorites). It's cool to finally have one of the great social commentators/satirists finally create a society of his own. Starts a little slow with a couple what are they talking moments (boosted peaks, party crashing). But picks up the pace. If you can try an get the audio, it's read by full cast and adds a lot more personality to characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Really, one of his best

    I absolutely loved this book. The story is so completely awesome and amazing. Quirky in the way that only Palahniuk can do, and even then he barely pulls it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    By far, my favorite Palahniuk book...

    I loved this book. Chuck Plahniuk commits to writing an oral biography for a story only he could pull off. This book will engage you from the start and take you for a ride. I wish every book he wrote was an oral biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    Unlike Any other.

    Rant, a book unlike any other! When reading this i was completely astounded by the way this book was put together, it was very interesting, the facts and characters all together gave it an different vibe. Once i began reading this book, i couldn't put it down. All through classes i'd stop just to continue where i had left off. Many turns and fictional outlooks, so don't expect it to be what you think.

    Rant kept me smiling and itching for more, it was very distinct and original plot, i promise you there is no other book similar, in the slightest bit, Party Crashing truly influenced my view on things, and the things i learned, along with any other Chuck Palahniuk book, were so very intruiging. I recommend this book immensly, to those who engulf themselves in novels with biographical features, along with Snuff, and Choke. This novel was truly captivating and i assure you anyone who appreciates literature will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2010

    I read this 6 months ago and I still think about it

    I read this book 6 months ago and I am still thinking about it. It was such an interesting read. I really enjoyed the format that it was written in. At first it was hard keeping all of the names straight, but you get to feel like you've actually been doing the interviews. How he is able to make each character so different in how they 'talk' just astounds me, you really feel their mannerisms. I plan on reading this again after I read a few more books by Chuck. I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW

    If you want a book unlike any other you've ever read, I reccommend this one. As you're reading you just can't get enough of the characters, you want to know then, be their friend, be their enemy, get inside their head. Once you reach the end, everything will make sence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Original, histerical, and impressive.

    Palahniuk's writing style never ceases to impress me. He takes on the persona of dozens of seperate characters with completely different personalities in this fictional oral biography, and does it flawlessly. Its one of the few books I can read more than once and still enjoy it. Chuck finds was to slip in forshadowing phrases from the beginning of the book that go unnoticed until the last few chapters where it all comes together. I would reccomend this book to everyone unless you like a romantic love story. It's pretty revolting at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    'This Is How Church Should Feel'

    I'd like you to meet Buster 'Rant' Casey, his hobbies include collecting poisons spiders, sticking limbs down holes waiting for mysterious animals to bite him, trading millions of dollars worth of coins for teeth, playing an underground demolition derby game known as 'Party-Crashing', and spreading rabies one kiss at a time. However, Rant has died in a fiery blaze of an car accident...or has he...So in other words I'd like you to meet Buster 'Rant' Casey, whose life is told to you by the people whose lives he's touch either directly or indirectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great One From Palahniuk

    This was an extremely original and fascinating book. I enjoyed the twisted imagination of Mr. Palahniuk for now the second time, the first being the classic Fight Club. I don't own any of his other books yet, but I'm thinking of getting Choke next.

    SPOILER ALERT!!! Anyway, this book is about a man considered one of the worst serial killers ever known, but it's like nothing you'd think just from hearing that. He, in fact, basically gets his thrills from animal bites and spreads rabies like wildfire. He starts off in a smaller town, but moves into the city and takes part in what's called Party Crashing; essentially a city wide version of bumper cars. There are a lot of twists and turns in the book that I don't want to give away here, and while it may not sound like the most interesting book immediately upon reading this review, trust me that it is a good book. If you have read and agreed with any of my other reviews, you will agree with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite

    Chuck Palahnuik is my favorite author of all times, but he is so much more than just an author. This book is a clear depiction of how original and unique he truly is. Rant is my favorite Palahnuik book and I have read all of them. He uses a writing style i've never seen him use that really keeps you interesting throughout the entire book. Some people may find it hard to get into it because of it but in the end you will want to re-read it over and over. It's the kind of book, whose ideas you will find yourself using in conversations with anyone and everyone you can. If you only read one book this summer, it should be this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7