Customer Reviews for

Rao's Cookbook: Over 100 Years of Italian Home Cooking

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Authentic, Simple Southern Italian

    I am a cookbook collecter. Many are worth their price, some not worth the paper they are printed on; but Rao's is one of the best. The recipes are easy, the ingredients are found in most italian pantries, and the finished dish...never a disappointment. Baked clams oreganata, meatballs, lemon chicken...delicious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2001

    Next best thing to being there!

    I figured that since I'll probably never get a chance to eat there, I should buy the book. Glad I did! The simplicity of preparing some of the dishes, such as the lemon chicken, contributes to the enjoyment of sitting down to a delicious meal. Haven't tried a recipe that I didn't like yet. Highly recommended the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Love this book!

    I have had this cookbook for a few weeks now and have made three recipes out of it...all were excellent. I have about six more recipes picked out to make in the next few weeks. The recipes are easy, the stories and commentary are entertaining, and the food is amazing. I highly recommend this cookbook to anybody who loves to cook and loves Italian Food.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    My familie's cuisine....but better! Sorry Mom

    Rao's, the toughest place that you'll never eat at has produced a beautifully simple Sicillian cookbook.These are the recipees I grew up on but were never written down.I showed it to my Italian mother and she wouldn't give it back to me ! It has become our gift to the other cooks in our family! I totally recommend it.Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    The Undisputed King of Genuine Italian Cooking!

    Some time ago, while living within close proximity of Rao's, I never got a chance to eat there. Until, one day (after having relocated), enroute home, I got stuck in heavy traffic a few blocks from Rao's. Frustrated, thirsty and hungry, I stopped in for a drink. After satisfying my thirst and enjoying interesting food/drink related conversation with the bartender, and a few of the 'regulars' there, I was invited to 'join' them for dinner. I did. Needless to say, Rao's al dente pasta topped with a delicious red sauce, afforded me with the greatest of pleasure. For years I yearned to relive that taste. Now, with Rao's collection of recipes, I have the chance of being there - AGAIN! They're not only enticing and delectible, but easy to cook. I know. I collect Italian recipes; and have already tried a few of Rao's inspiring dishes...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    A Must Have for Any Complete Cookbook Library

    A foolproof cookbook for those who enjoy the richness of fine, traditional Italian cuisine. It will make a fine chef out of anyone. Makes an impressive meal and presentation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Besides delicious recipes, the book tells a story of the Rao family. Very similiar to my in-laws life at the same time. I found it very interesting and heat warming. I hope to at least see the restaurant on my next trip to NYC., as I know tables are booked for years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Interesting

    This cookbook is one I bought on impulse shopping and I do not use all that often. It has very nice recipes but I do not find this cookbook a necessary staple for any cooks kitchen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Wonderful book

    The marinara sauce and the lasagne are both excellent. I look forward to trying more recipes in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2002

    Not for starters

    I bought this cookbook to learn how to make Italian food. I didn't find it very helpfull. I think this book is definately for advaced cooks who want to try something different. Not for beginers

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1