Customer Reviews for

The Rape Of Nanking: The Forgotten Holocaust Of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A 5 Star Book

I have become more stingy in how I rate books. 3 Stars is a good book and 4 better than average. To get a 5 Star rating a book has to have exceeded all expectations. "The Rape Of Nanking" does that. I was aware of the Rape of Nanking but did not realize the scope of thi...
I have become more stingy in how I rate books. 3 Stars is a good book and 4 better than average. To get a 5 Star rating a book has to have exceeded all expectations. "The Rape Of Nanking" does that. I was aware of the Rape of Nanking but did not realize the scope of this incredibly horrible event in history. Iris Chang did a wonderful job in bringing it to light. Perhaps one of the strongest parts of this book were a few of the people who risked their lives to save others. Hollywood is missing a best picture winner if someone doesn't make a movie about John Rabe (a nazi no less!) or Minnie Vautrin among others. While I highly recommend this book I must also warn any potential readers that this book is highly disturbing. You will likely find yourself fluctuating between being incredibly saddened and very enraged. If you know little or nothing about this event please do yourself a favor and pick up this book.

posted by Zor-El on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Propaganda

This book contains a great deal of historical fact, however, it is really nothing more than an anti-Japanese diatribe. Ms. Chang would have better served her purpose had she remained neutral, or asked someone else to take her research and write the book.

posted by 178612 on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    AP World History Review

    My impression of this book was that it was very factual, however gory it was. It was a disturbingly detailed account of the Rape of Nanking. I had never heard about this event, as most people haven't, and it was shocking to learn about such a frightening genocide. I felt as if this event had been completely under-publicized. I liked this book, because it not only told you of the events, but it was written with a passionate purpose. The author was upset that there had not been any kind of retribution to the Japaneese for their acts or repentance from them.

    Since there aren't many accounts of information available to the public about this event, i believe Iris Chang wrote this for all it's victims. She wanted the public to know about this event, because she felt it had been kept under the radar. (Which is a very innapropriate place for so brutal an event.) I believed the author did a wonderful job completing her purpose. Becasue she wrote this book, the rape of Nanking has been brought to light to more than people than before. I would definitely recommend this book to someone that has not heard of the rape of Nanking becasue it is an event that deserves to be heard.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    AP WORLD HISTORY BOOK REVIEW

    Iris Changs book, The Rape of Nanking, was very informative and she displays her research accordingly. It can be easily unerstood, but it also goes into great detail. As stated before, this book I would definently not recommend for the younger adults, or anyone who does have a weak stomach. She goes into great detail about the different tactics used to abuse or molest the Chinese citizens of not only Nanking, but all of China. They showed no mercy. No matter what the age, the abusive tortures were all the same.

    As for the history, she displays it very well, being it is from three different perspectives; The Japanese soldiers, the Chinese, and Westerners. She doesn't display any biased opinion throughout her book, other than those of the three perspectives. As the book progresses, she tells the perspectives of each group, the Japanese being the first, the chinese being second, and westerners being last. Overall, it was a very moving and informative book. It gives you an idea on what was valued to each ethnic group, whether it be money, tradition, or connection with the outside world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    AP World History Review: a description of your opinion of the book.

    Iris Chang's documentation of the atrocities suffered by the Chinese people of Nanking at the hands of the Japanese helps to show just how deadly the world is. The book is rather graphic, but it needs to be in order to truly show just how beastly the events were that took place. While Chang does seem rather biased against the Japanese, it still is a rather thorough description of what happened in December 1938. With over 80,000 women raped and 300,000 people killed, it is impossible to illustrate this part of history without being graphic, so it is understandable that Chang would hold no punches.
    The book gives insight into what happened, the reaction to it (especially that of the Western world), and an explanation of what might have happened. Chang wrote bluntly in her book, and this helps to reinforce her point. The book is a very well-written, informative read on something that should be common knowledge to people. It is easy to recommend, so long as the reader has the stomach for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Interesting read

    I've read several books about battles during WWII, but found the Rape of Nanking was a subject often just skimmed over in passing. I was interested to delve into what really happened there, and this book gave a very good background as to why the world ignored it, and what atrocities took place. I felt like the author started getting a little redundant toward the end of the book, but overall it was a very interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    I say this book should be recommended because you can learn about how the japanese killed the chinese. This book shows the deep feeling of how the prewar of it all started and how the U.S help finish it. The deepness of the story will make you seem like you are a victim in the war. A few things of where it started is in Nanjing, 'also Nanking'China in July 1937. I'll also say once you read the book, you might not want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Japanese Takes Over

    In 1937 the Japanese blasted into a city called Nanking, China. Nothing was on their mind except killing every Chinese that came into sight. In a few weeks over 280,000 thousands Chinese were killed. They were murdered, hung, tortured, raped, and shot. It was worst than a horror movie. The Japanese raided into the Chinese houses; forcing the men to rape their daughters and the sons to rape their mothers. It seemed like a nightmare gone wild. This book was an excellent read. It was really exciting and graphic. The details were greatly written by Iris Chang, with true facts and details explained by her parents. Iris Chang¿s parents barley escaped from the horror of Nanking. Chang interviewed survivors of the Nanking, and the Japaneses that were still alive to tell the story. Chang looked at this book as a new beginning for her. I recommend this book for young adults that would like to know more about history of China. This was my favorite book I have read. It was very thrilling and graphic. Why did the Japanese do this to the Chinese? Did any nations help out the Chinese? Well, the answer is just a few flip of pages away. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    A must read for students in high school

    This book should be on the must read list for all high school students throughout the world. We must not forget the atrocities committed by both the Japanese (in the book noted) , as well as the Holocaust committed by the Germans during WWII. As one can see, it wasn't on the list in Bosnia and the atrocities continued. A very good book, it takes note of man's cruelty, as well as compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    A decent revelation of far east atrocities during WWII

    The Rape of Nanking is an interesting account of the Japanese atrocities committed in China during World War II. While one must always be historically critical, Chang¿s book does provide a concise background on Far East events in the late 1930s, a vivid description of the Japanese attack on Nanking, and an assessment of the alleged cover-up of this incident. The book is very well written and involves the reader in the events. While some have condemned the work as ¿biased¿ because Chang¿s grandparents were directly involved in the event, the family relationship does not jeopardize the overall integrity of the work. The only scholarly complaint I found with the work is the frequent and unnecessary deferment to the jewish holocaust. It appears as though Chang is clearly trying not to challenge the uniqueness of the jewish holocaust in her assessment of an equally brutal , and I might say, and better supported episode of mass slaughter of humans. I am concerned by this overtone because it detracts from the Nanking story. It is a shame that Chang must ¿appease¿ other groups when her own story is compelling and well supported through written and oral evidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1