Customer Reviews for

The Rape Of Nanking: The Forgotten Holocaust Of World War II

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Powerful, A must read

I began familiar with Iris Chang after reading about her through The Writer's Almanac. If you love history you will instantly become entranced in the story of how the Japanese
invaded NanKing. But you will become horrified at how this group of soldiers took liberties...
I began familiar with Iris Chang after reading about her through The Writer's Almanac. If you love history you will instantly become entranced in the story of how the Japanese
invaded NanKing. But you will become horrified at how this group of soldiers took liberties with the men, women and children of NanKing, China. Chang is an excellent writer who tells the story from several perspectives and it's amazing the Japanese were able to get away with what they did. It is a story much like Nazi Germany and their
torture of Jews except on a smaller scale. However, the Japanese were far more brutal in their methods. This is a shocking, explicit book and not for the faint of heart.

posted by L.A.Carlson-writer on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Propaganda

This book contains a great deal of historical fact, however, it is really nothing more than an anti-Japanese diatribe. Ms. Chang would have better served her purpose had she remained neutral, or asked someone else to take her research and write the book.

posted by 178612 on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful, A must read

    I began familiar with Iris Chang after reading about her through The Writer's Almanac. If you love history you will instantly become entranced in the story of how the Japanese
    invaded NanKing. But you will become horrified at how this group of soldiers took liberties with the men, women and children of NanKing, China. Chang is an excellent writer who tells the story from several perspectives and it's amazing the Japanese were able to get away with what they did. It is a story much like Nazi Germany and their
    torture of Jews except on a smaller scale. However, the Japanese were far more brutal in their methods. This is a shocking, explicit book and not for the faint of heart.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A 5 Star Book

    I have become more stingy in how I rate books. 3 Stars is a good book and 4 better than average. To get a 5 Star rating a book has to have exceeded all expectations. "The Rape Of Nanking" does that. I was aware of the Rape of Nanking but did not realize the scope of this incredibly horrible event in history. Iris Chang did a wonderful job in bringing it to light. Perhaps one of the strongest parts of this book were a few of the people who risked their lives to save others. Hollywood is missing a best picture winner if someone doesn't make a movie about John Rabe (a nazi no less!) or Minnie Vautrin among others. While I highly recommend this book I must also warn any potential readers that this book is highly disturbing. You will likely find yourself fluctuating between being incredibly saddened and very enraged. If you know little or nothing about this event please do yourself a favor and pick up this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    atrocity and war

    The book is must read. every war there is some degree of atrocity...if one like it or not ..., such is the war-even today, in the Gulf region or any other war torn region for that matter, the struggle still goes on..... To the Japanese reader and to the Kat S, who posted review here... your point is well taken but you misplaced youopinion as to review of this book. The point author was making as I understand it is not to expose atroicity but rather to urge reponsibility of the act comitted. As author has suggested, the shindler of China nanjing if you will, were German and Hittler admirer if you comitted a crime or atrocity in this case, one must accept his wrong doing and try to repent or at the least acknowlege the incident. (but)this is something the Japanese Government nor some of Japanese are still refuse to do. Why? is it the only crime war time Japanese committed against other culture and people of other national orgin? The answer is definately not, of course ther are other crimially insane acts comitted by other nation thru out history. the differences however between German and other nations versus that of Japan is German admitted its wrong doing and made in to law todo so as such is crime, where as Japanese is in denial and still refuses to do.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    A Necessary Read!

    I would like to say that everyone should read this book. It is a part of history, a part of what will never be told. At the same time not everyone can handle what was done to the people of Nanking. I can't even say that the Holocaust was the horrible genocide of our century after reading this. So many don't know about what happened. Why? We as humans, as people should know what is going on in this world at all times and make it a point to never have anything like this happen again. This book in NO way is for children, pre-teens or anyone who cannot handle violent rape, torture or murder that is graphically told & imaged. God bless Iris Chang(author), who died of a self inflicted gun shot wound. Thank you for letting the world in on a horror that would otherwise have been silent to us all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Crazy

    I can understand now how the japanese tortured the chinese in NanKing. And they got away just like they did in Shanghai. Now I know why my grandparents hate them so much. And they still havent apoligized to the chinese for their insane acts. My grandparents had to evacuate when the japanese stormed into Shanghai. THIS EVENT SHOULD BE REMEMBERED.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    The men and women in these pages are either demoniacally despicable, or among the bravest in the 20th century, if not ever. Although this book started a firestorm of controversy, it showed the defensiveness towards which the Japanese still hold all these years after the Nanking Massacre. It is remarkable to read since Ms. Chang's unfortunate death, by her own hand, as their is so much clarity and depth into the human psyche and as she put the 'an examination of the shadow self of mankind.' The Japanese, in these pages, do not come off as the cosmopolitan connoseuirs of commerce they have been attributed to in the last 30 years. In fact, their strategical alignments were at amateurish at best, and the repulsiveness of their Nanking 'campaign' enlisted a blood-lust of violence and viciousness which for its spasmodic orgy, might be unequaled. Thank you to Ms. Chang for clearing the dialogue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    An Amazing, Eye-Opening Read for every American!

    When I read this book, I read each word with tears in my eyes and a scream in my throat. The sadness, anger, and shame I felt after reading this book made me want to hold every person who suffered during the occupation of Naking. I wanted to comfort them in a way the world has yet to do. Ms. Chang's book has finally given these forgotten holocaust members a voice, and frankly, I believe that this holocaust should now be the one in the spotlight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2015

    A horrific aspect of WWII we should all know more about.  We rar

    A horrific aspect of WWII we should all know more about.  We rarely hear much about what the Japanese did, but this is a well researched and well written historical account of what was done to the Chinese in Nanking.  Hard to read, but for someone who cares about history and has an interest in WWII history a must read.   The Japanese were as cruel as Germans during this time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    To: emotionally pertinent, but i doubt it

    This actually happened. The reason reporters did not report this was becaus they were in a safe zone designated by an international organization, and they could not have seen the bodies. Only toward the end of the war were the Japanese driven out. As for 20,000 rapes, i doubt it, but 300,000 deaths i can believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    The Rape on Nanking is a fantastic book!

    Certainly one of the best books ever written about Japan's imperial idealism and overall plan for humanity. An excellent reference for any student of history. A must read-own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Amazing

    Amazing book about brutality

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Jale

    Suckes on ur pu$$y

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    The man

    He humpedher reallu hard

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Powerful and unforgetable

    A horrific example of the brutality that was the imperial japanese army. A must read for those interested in the events leading up to the war in the pacific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    The Rape of Nanking

    I read the Rape of Nanking for a book report. I found that the book was very good in the history and information aspect. I would not recommend this book for anyone who is looking to read it for pleasure, but I would recommend it to anyone who is seriously interested in finding out more about what happened in Nanking, China in the 1930's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    The things one never knows..

    I have to say that if I had the chance to put this book down.... I never could of done it! I never thought that this book would of pulled me in like it did. It was a real page turner. Also a complete eye opener. I loved this book! A must read!! What a powerfull book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Rape of Nanking, written by Iris Chang, a Chinese-American journalist, is historically accurate as it is written after years of research to obtain three perspectives: that of Japanese soldiers during the genocide in Nanjing, that of the Chinese, and that of a group of Westerners ?especially Germans and Americans -?who decided to stay in the city and set up a safety zone to protect 300,000 Chinese. Chang¿s evidence and descriptions of the event were from diaries, news articles of the incident at that time, and photographs taken by the Western journalists and officers who were in Nanjing at the time of the massacre. Additionally, she traveled to Nanjing to interview the survivors of the holocaust and to read Chinese accounts and confessions by Japanese army veterans. Despite the fact that she did not conduct research in Japan, she used different viewpoints of sources to support her claims and write the book. Moreover, the author examines the details of the sinking of U.S.S. Panay, a gunboat that was trying to leave Nanjing and bombed by the Japanese military without warning. She further explains about the American and European governments?responses to the massacre and dealing with Japan at the time of the event and after World War II. Because the diaries written by the leaders of the Safety Zone, the Japanese troops?reports and recordings provided detailed accounts of atrocities that they witnessed. The book also vividly depicts the kinds of torture, rape, and killing that were forced upon the Nanjing residents. They included live burials, mutilation, ¿death by fire,?¿death by ice,?¿death by dogs,?and much more. Based on the testimony of survivors of the massacre, Chang also described a killing contest amongst a group of Japanese soldiers to determine who could kill the fastest. On the rape of around 20,000 to 80,000 women ?even pregnant and teenage girls ?that occurred during the massacre, she wrote that ¿certainly it was one of the greatest mass rapes in world history.?After the gang rape, the Japanese soldiers ¿sometimes slashed open the bellies of pregnant women and ripped out the fetuses for amusement?and many Chinese families were forced to perform incest. Chang also wrote of the death toll estimates given by different sources, and stated that there is ¿compelling evidence?that the Japanese themselves, at the time, believed that the death toll may have been as high as 300,000. I believe that reading this book gives a very thorough understanding of the Japanese military¿s aggression in East Asia even before the start of World War, Tokyo War Crime Trials, how its government has been denying the massacre, and how the American government responded to it. This book explains more about the Panay incident, which was mentioned in only three to four sentences in the textbook. I would rank this a five not only the horrible facts and depressing stories that influenced me, but the author¿s passion and effort to have the history not forgotten also have inspired me. I highly recommend this book to anyone most people in the world grow up learning about the Holocaust of the Jews in Europe during WWII but not the Nanjing massacre. I personally wish many Japanese people get a chance to read this book, as they barely know about what their country did in the past.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    AP World History Review

    The Rape of Nanking by Iris Chang is a great book that goes into great detail on the attack on the city of Nanking. It is a great book that shows the Rape from many different view points. There are a collection of pictures included in the book that provided deeper insight into the Rape of Nanking. I think the book is a great read and is the best book about the Rape of Nanking out there. It shows the Rape from the stand point of Japanese soldiers, Chinese civilians and Europeans and Americans who refused to leave the city and built a International Safety Zone. Iris shows us how bad the Rape was and all of the terrible things that happened during the attack by the Chinese. It is a gruesome book that requires a strong stomach. It is very well written and Iris gets her point across with no problem. It is one of the best historical books that i have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Excellent book but people should know more.

    This was a great book. And the horrible acts that accured were wrong. How ever before people leave comment about the (evil) japanese and how they (got away) with what they did. Perhaps they should meet some the people that I know. See some of the things that I have seen. There were japanese civilians that had the same thins happen to them. By the americans, by the chinese, even by the germans. And these people (got away) with it. It was war. That doesn't make it right but it also means that not all the (evil) is just one sided.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    A story that everyone should know about

    What the Japanese did to the city of Nanking and the country of China can never be forgotten. I could not book this book down. It was nazism but with the Japanese. Graphic and detailed, a must read for anyone who enjoys a good military book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3