Customer Reviews for

Raphael (Vampires in America Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The first Vampires of America urban romantic fantasy, RAPHAEL, is a terrific tale

    Although the government and the people know that vampires exist, for the most part mortals prefer not to acknowledge the nocturnal species and the bloodsuckers concur keeping a low profile. There are eight vampire lords, each controlling a jurisdiction while respecting boundaries to avoid a lethal vampire war. Raphael is the most powerful of the octet with thousands of loyalists calling him Master throughout his domain, the Western states in America.--------------------

    Two human traitors from within storm his Malibu estate in daylight while he is away; they kidnap Alexandria, a vamp he vowed to protect with his life. To deal with mortals, Raphael hires human private investigator Cynthia Leighton, who works vampire cases. From the moment the client and the sleuth meet they are attracted to one another, but Cyn learned early in life not to believe in love, passion, or trust as they will be used as a weapon of mental destruction. Still she is determined to help the vampire lord rescue his sister.---------------------

    The first Vampires of America urban romantic fantasy, RAPHAEL, is a terrific tale that if it is an indication of the series, sub-genre fans are in for a treat. The protagonist is tough yet vulnerable as she uses psychological defense mechanisms to conceal her weaknesses behind a kick butt façade. The title hero is more aligned towards typical vampire behavior as an arrogant haughty alpha leader used to obedience until his dependant is abducted showing a rare weakness and then meeting the sleuth showing that rarity is a little more common than his minion thought. The investigation enhances the fine story line as star-crossed lovers try to mount the rescue.------------------

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Oh bloody hell,  freaking cliff hangers.  Maybe I need to read s

    Oh bloody hell,  freaking cliff hangers.  Maybe I need to read some non-series books for a while.  Probably not.  Anyways... I read book 6 in this series a few books ago and decided to check out the beginning.  I was not disappointed by book one.  I found much of what I enjoyed in book six in this book too.   




    The author seems to have a love of guns, as they have played a prominent role in both books.  Much of the information about them went right over my head and I could have probably been told less about them and still enjoyed the story as much.  For those gun lovers out there though, this is a series you should definitely check out.  Again we have a strong Alpha male who is in charge of a large territory and used to having others quake in his presence.  We also have a strong female that is used to doing things on her own and not depending on anyone for much of anything.  She is used to having things her way too and being self reliant.  Both are strong personalities that can't help but butt heads.  Makes you want to smack the both upside the head every now and again.  




    This story like Lucas's centers around a kidnapping and a power play, I wonder if this will be a reoccurring theme for the series.  I liked how the lead couple don't just jump into bed despite the mutual attraction.  The author lets things simmer a little bit, which is a nice change of pace.  Another change of pace I can't talk about because I don't want to spoil the ending, but things are not quite settled between this couple and I am so tempted to jump ahead a few books to see how it is resolved.  Hence the upset over the cliffhanger.  




    This is a smart series and well thought out.  There is a mystery to move the story along and a yummy Alpha male to keep you reading on.  Looking forward to the next book, which I am starting right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great book Contemporary,

    A great book Contemporary, Paranormal, Malibu, California


    Cynthia “Cyn” Leighton once was a cop but is now a private investigator that is sexy, smart and tough. She is also tired of tracking down and spying on cheating spouses so when she is asked to help tracking down some kidnappers, Cyn is more than happy to accept this newest case. Cyn soon realizes that while she thought the danger came from the humans the biggest danger is from her newest client, Raphael the king of the vampires.

    Raphael is very powerful and charismatic. He also has the power of life and death of every vampire in existence though he isn’t the only one that has that power. Raphael is determined to catch the ones responsible for a daytime raid that killed many of his people and kidnapped the one female vampire that he would willingly give his life for. He knows that one way to track the humans is to get Cyn’s help. Now they are fighting for their lives and are caught up in the passion of blood and violence that could destroy them both.


    This is a very different vampire story. It gives new life to a genre that has had many books written about it. The story line pulls the reader in from the very first page and keeps them engrossed until the very last page. While the plot of this story is tied up very nicely it also leaves the story between Raphael and Cyn open for the rest of the stories in this series. If the rest of the books continue along this line it is sure to be a fantastic series that will have readers wanting to read all the books. It will also have readers wanting to know what will happen to Raphael and Cyn in the end. The way the back story for Raphael is woven into the overall story is well done and keeps the story moving along well and doesn’t leave the reader wondering what is going on. For those that love vampire stories this is one to definitely check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Sometimes there's little more than you can say than "Wow&qu

    Sometimes there's little more than you can say than "Wow". Well, I rarely have that problem, so I'll say "wow", and then a whole bunch more. ;) I can't believe this is this author's first book. It's cleverly engaging from beginning to end. The plot sucks you in, and the hot vampires keep you there.

    Loved all the characters. Raphael was everything you hope for in an alpha male, powerful, sexy, slightly aloof and normally a bit detached until he encounters the heroine. Cyn is strong and independent and, as with most strong, independent female characters, has a couple tstl moments. But, they end up working out well for her so they're easier to forgive. She's a bit wounded, kinda the poor little rich girl type of thing. Not enough to be off putting, but enough to remind that even silver linings sometimes surround gray colored clouds. I also enjoyed Duncan, the main secondary character and his relationship with Raphael.

    The ending was slightly unexpected, but I rather liked the approach. I'm looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***NetGalley Giveaway*** Mmmm Raphael... After reading the Bl

    ***NetGalley Giveaway***

    Mmmm Raphael...


    After reading the Black Brotherhood series by JR ward, I have been searching for a good vampire series to sink my fangs..um teeth into. Well ladies and gents? I've found it! Whoo hoo. This book delivers. Its got action, suspense and romance. I truly enjoyed it and can't wait to continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The first book in the Vampires in America series is an action pa

    The first book in the Vampires in America series is an action packed vampire romance.
    A powerful  Vampire Lord, Raphael holds the power of life and death over every vampire in existence but must turn to a human private investigator when someone kidnaps a female that he cares for in a brazen and deadly daylight attack.  A private investigator and former cop, Cynthia Leighton, takes on the case, but soon realizes that the greatest danger to her comes from Raphael himself.  Betrayed by those they trusted, Raphael and Cyn fight for the lives against Russian mobsters and treacherous vampires while caught up in a passion of blood and violence.
    This fast paced plot keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with lots of action, suspense and romance.  The story comes to life with vivid images that makes the reader feel as if they are part of the story and the bewitching characters have strong charismatic personalities that practically leap off the pages ensuring that the reader is totally caught up in the story.
    The chemisty between Raphael and Cyn explodes from the pages and the sex scenes are hot and steamy leaving the reader’s sizzling with passion.  The reader can easily relate to the characters and understand their motivations, while they resist the romance for their own personal reasons and issues, the tension builds and they can’t fight it indefinitely.
    This vampire world captures the imagination with great characters and I love how the author has mixed the human and vampire worlds, yet kept them apart at the same time, which adds some interesting elements to the story. I wasn’t too happy with the ending of the book, such a cliffhanger, but of course I will certainly be reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!! Yummy Vamp book

    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 unicorns - I loved it!! Yummy Vamp book!  Must Read for Vamp lovers :)
    ***Received ebook through Netgalley for an honest review

    The cover was redone, and I love the facelift.  Let’s just say the eye candy is yummy :)  Definitely makes me take notice of the book :)

    The book started a little slow as some first books do while building the world for us, but in no time at all, there was all sorts of action.  I have a few books that were realistic fiction, so I had to have a paranormal fix and chose this one because I needed a good vamp book.  D.B. also challenged my vocabulary in this book, so I had to break out my Google to learn some new words :)

    Okay this is totally an adult book with several very steamy scenes that wow is all I can say :) Cynthia or Cyn as she is fondly called is an amazing woman who fits into my warrior category who doesn’t sit on the sidelines like a damsel in distress.  She definitely has issues thinking she is always unwanted because of her upbringing.  

    Raphael, hmmm what can I say about him.  At first, I think I hated him for his arrogance and dictator like rule, but things happened and then BAM I loved him and wanted him for my own ;)

    Watching Cyn and Raphael is infuriating and comical at times, but you can read the book to get more details.  This book has intrigue, betrayal, lust, battles, and so much more.  I can’t wait to read book 2 :)  Then I’m going to have to invest in the rest of the series because I won’t be able to not read it.

    If you are a paranormal vamp book lover, you must read this book.  LOVED IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    A thrilling beginning to a brand new series! In this brand new

    A thrilling beginning to a brand new series!

    In this brand new world where Vampires are known to mankind and a force to be reckoned with, Raphael is the ultimate leader. Vampire Lords rule their territories with an iron fist and demand loyalty and acquiesce from their people, Vampire and human alike. 
    However, as with all cultures, the Vampire race and its leaders are constantly faced with danger, power plays, and deception in a world where strength reigns supreme, and greed can result in stupidity. 
    I have read many Vampire Series, but after reading Raphael, have become a staunch D.B.Reynolds fan and know this series will continue to be brilliant. 
    The Vampires in America are dark, violent and powerful, yet totally devoted to those they love. I strongly recommend this series to even one that loves Vamps, and no one, has failed to love it!!

    Here’s a little snippet to whet your appetite:

    “Raphael came through the door like a child's nightmare, his eyes glowing an almost solid silver with wrath, his gleaming fangs fully extended, blood painting his mouth a brilliant red, dripping from his chin to shine wetly against the tattered remains of his black shirt. His huge chest was heaving with the fury of his breath, and his hands curled into claws as his gaze found her and he growled a warning. 'Release her, human.'
    'Who are you? the man rasped, fear taking away his breath, coarsening his voice.
    'Release her.'
    The man tightened his grip, 'Come closer and she dies.'
    Rachael's mouth widened in a terrifying smile, 'You think to bargain with me?”

    Can you see why I love him?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Raphael is Hot, Sexy and Lethal!!

    This was my first OF MANY D.B. Reynolds books! I loved this book! First of all cyn is one tough woman!! She is a private investigator and she can stand her ground against the toughest of people and she is even able to prove her skills against some pretty nasty vamps! (0f course it was proven to be helpful to have a few vamps on her side of the ring!) Raphael is VERY tough, Very sexy and VERY lethal!! he hires Cyn to find out who has kidnapped his sister upon recommendation from a fellow vamp who has come to know her. Raphael is very much used to being in control and having his orders followed without a question. So, working with Cyn has proven to be somewhat of a challenge. *Not to mention that his alpha side seems to kick in when she's around* This story has a LOT of action. I found myself in many nail biting moments! I was literally on the edge of my seat and speed reading to find out what was going to happen next!! The adventure is most definitely plentiful and the romance sizzles ? I was astounded with the "to be continued" ending. Raphael is the first book in a series I believe I am going to devour!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    RECOMMENDED READING!!

    I am an avid fan of the vampire genre and this caught my attention purely by accident. Once into it, I found Raphael to be an atypical vampire but the way he's written, you can't help but find the man HOT! The writing is on the wall that Cynthia will get with him and, to be honest, they compliment each other. I found the story fast paced enough not to start skipping paragraphs like with most romance stories. I adored Duncan and how he takes care of Raphael. The ending wasn't the regular happy ever after moment but it's okay with me since this is a series and still time to wrap up that moment for Raphael and Cynthia. This is a must for vampire admirers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Neat new series

    Interesting characters, and vampire thing going on, but the lack of a HEA took my happy buzz away at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Great Read!!

    I love the characters in this book. They are strong, dark and very sexy. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1