Customer Reviews for

Raphael/Parish

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Can never go wrong with Laura Wright

This was my first read from Alexandra Ivy and she didn't fail me. Laura Wright is one of my favs so I had no worries there. This was face paced (since they are novellas) and I like that about books. It's fiction and paranormal, things are suppose to happen quickly, it's...
This was my first read from Alexandra Ivy and she didn't fail me. Laura Wright is one of my favs so I had no worries there. This was face paced (since they are novellas) and I like that about books. It's fiction and paranormal, things are suppose to happen quickly, it's the magic of it all. The shifters are hot and the women are strong. Can't wait to read the next one. I was so involved that when I realized it was the end I was like WHAT?! nooooo! LOL

posted by 8544502 on January 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Felt unfinished, like their should be more to the story.  I enjo

Felt unfinished, like their should be more to the story.  I enjoyed what their was, just wasn't wrapped up left to many loose threads.

posted by Beadnut on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Pantera shapeshifters exist only in legend, a story told to

    The Pantera shapeshifters exist only in legend, a story told to humans about a place that is not a place within the deep bayous of Louisiana.

    The brilliant and dangerous diplomat of the Pantera shapeshifters, Raphael has devoted his life to discovering the key to the infertility that is threatening the extinction of his
    puma race. Creating a vast network of spies worldwide, he never expected to discover that the answer might be beneath his very nose. But when Ashe, a beautiful human female, crosses his path, his most primitive instincts are stirred.
    Unable to resist, he takes her to his bed, and is shocked when she becomes pregnant with his child. It’s a miracle that might prove to be the salvation of his people, but only if he can keep her safe from the mercenaries determined to kill her.

    But they exist and Raphael, a dedicated diplomat of his people, is seeking the reason his people are failing to continue. The Puma have not bred successfully in years and he's been seeking the answer. A human female, Ashe, crosses his path and every mating instinct Rafael has suddenly lights up like a fire. He takes her to his bed and she conceives, and he finds he has to face not only the human mercenaries hunting her but his own people who are not accustomed to having humans know about them.

    Parish is totally against Rafael's choice, humans killed a member of his family and, as a hunter, he is not given to changing his mind, or heart about anything. But with Rafael's obvious choice of mate, he is sent into New Orleans to try to convince a human doctor to come back to the Wildlands with him. He never counted on falling in love and bonding with the female, Dr. Julia Cabot, whose broken heart at the hands of a callous, uncaring mate has cast her into the void in life. Can he convince her to come back with him, to help Ashe, and also stay with him?

    I didn't know quite what to expect with this book. Two parts, two stories written by two different writers seemed a challenge. Could Alexandra Ivy and Laura Wright manage the two, untamed Puma males they had chosen to write about and make the story consistent enough to satisfy?

    Oh yeah. This did. The first two stories of the Bayou Heat series made quite the impression on me. Filled with a good story and some of the most smoking-hot sex ever to grace book pages. The males are hot, strong, and wild, the women very willing and smart.

    I cannot wait for the second book, with the furthering of Ashe/Julia's story and two more hot Pantera males, Bayron and Jean-Baptiste, due out in April, 2013. It's worth tracking down and reading. Just have a nice glass of ice tea to cool off with in the heat of this Bayou!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Loved this series!

    I bought the bundles and fell in love with the characters....I want my own pantera! Alexandra and Laura, do not disappoint...love their books, can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Xx

    Really enjoyed the storys, but I don't understand why she would end them the way she did. I really don't like the endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Raphael  3.5* Alexandra Ivy I enjoyed this story of Rafael a





    Raphael  3.5*
    Alexandra Ivy
    I enjoyed this story of Rafael and Ashe. It was a good beginning to this paranormal romance series about a bewitched part of the Bayou that created a legendary group of shifters. 




    Parish 4*
    Laura Wright
    Parish and Julia were great characters and my only wish was that we could of had more time with them before the end. Which by the way was a really mean way to end this book. What a cliffhanger! Now I have to start the next book right away.  I really needed to read something different. I'm on a schedule. 
    I highly recommend this book for any paranormal romance lover. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    An exciting new series by 2 wonderful authors. It the new must r

    An exciting new series by 2 wonderful authors. It the new must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Anonymous

    Nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Excellent Read

    I really enjoyed this book.... both parts. What I'd like to find out is if it's part of a series. I would definately stick with it. Light and fun, it's exactly what I like when reading a paranormal romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good

    I liked the books. They are short though. Leave you waiting for the next book :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Great read

    Enjoyed this new series. Haven't read anything from Alexandra Ivy that wasn't great. Looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good book.

    The book was a good read, able to finish in a day I just couldn't put it down. Can't wait for another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great book!!

    I loved both stories!! Left me wanting more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Recommend

    Enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    OMG, this series has really great potential. Novellas are fine

    OMG, this series has really great potential. Novellas are fine but man make their stories full lenght. Cannot wait until the next set is available.

    Both stories are well written to the point that you want more when they are done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    "The cajun feel of the setting and the sexy characters will keep me coming back for me for sure." ~ Under the Covers

    Bayou Heat is unrelated to either Alexandra Ivy's or Laura Wright's worlds, and it features one of my favorite shifters...pumas. No need to go into any more detail than that. Yes? Oh...you want me to? Fine.

    Pumas are the less talked about felines of the shifter world and, to me, they're so sexy. Something raw and primal always surrounds them. In this series it's no different. The Pantera shapeshifters of Louisiana are somewhat of a myth. Humans don't really believe in the tales of magic that surrounds the area they live in. And the Wildlands is an area full of magic. Actually that's the only place the Pantera can shift.

    Raphael by Alexandra Ivy

    I have to say this was my favorite of the two stories. It caught my attention with the story, the intro to the world and, of course, the sexy as sin Raphael. After what he thought would just be one night of hot sex with a woman he couldn't resist, she ends up pregnant with his child. Due to the rarity of that occurrence, Ashe has some mercenaries after her. Raphael, big bad mate that he is, steps up for the protector role. The alpha male sparks were oozing off the pages. This story was all raw sex appeal.

    Parish by Laura Wright

    Parish can be sexy and scary at the same time. I mean, he lives in a cave, never smiles and prefers his animal form. That can be intimidating. Then he's sent on a mission into the human world to bring back a Doctor that can help Ashe through her pregnancy. Of course, the terms talking and asking are not very familiar to him so he pretty much kidnaps Julia and brings her to the Wildlands. There's a little bit more action in this story and probably more world building than in the previous story, but I connected less with the characters. At the end of the day, Parish still won me over because he did what was necessary to make sure that his woman would be happy.

    I am looking forward to reading more of this series. The cajun feel of the setting and the sexy characters will keep me coming back for me for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put it down. Loved the characters and couldn't believe it was over! I was pissed.... wanted to read more. Can't wait for the next book and hope its going to be a much longer read. Hurry up, the suspense is killing me!

    I can see these characters are going to be favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Too short

    Ok the stories are great the characters are great the length not so great. The stories are incomplete. What's the deal with that? Instead of 'the end' it should say ' to be continued'. I will be watching for the next installment in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Myth & Legend turn into reality in Alexandra Ivy and Laura W

    Myth & Legend turn into reality in Alexandra Ivy and Laura Wright’s Raphael/Parish. Books one and two in Ivy & Wright’s new joint series Bayou Heat.

    In Raphael (bk1) we get introduced to the world of the Pantera Shapeshifters. Ivy does a great job of creating the world in this first story. Boy does Raphael’s story start with a bang. We get to meet Raphaels mate as she is being kicked out of her house by her drunk of a mother for being pregnant. Problem is Ashe can’t remember who or when.... But this is going to be the least of her problems when she wakes up to find Raphael in her dark hotel room talking about lost myths, shifters and that they are now mated.

    In Parish (bk2) we pick up with Parish on a mission to find a human doctor for Ashe. But when Parish see Julia for the first time something in him changes. This change scares Parish. He doesn’t like humans, doesn’t trust humans not after what happened to Keria. But Parish is drawn to Julia so much so that he is willing to kidnap her and keep her if that is what it will take to make her his.

    I really enjoyed both of these stories and good golly Wright leaves us hanging at the end of Parish. I am so looking forward to Bayon/Jean-Baptiste (bk 3&4) release day is scheduled for April 15th, 2013 (Happy Tax day to me!!) and Talon/Xavier’s (bk 5&6) scheduled for release summer of 2013


    Disclaimer:
    I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Too short!

    Moves very fast. I was looking for new authors and series to tide me over while waiting for new offerings in my current favorite series. I will be checking out more of this duology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing New Series This book is the first in a new series of si

    Amazing New Series

    This book is the first in a new series of sizzling hot puma shifters. The great Panteras are in danger and must travel into the human world for the answers. We get two wonderful stories with love, sex and tragedy. These books are adult reads.

    The main characters are Raphael, pantera diplomat, and Ashe Pascal, pregnant human. They are in uncharted waters as humans can’t breed with panteras or can they? Ashe must come to grips that the Pantera are more than just a bayou legend and Raphael must learn to deal with a strong scared independent human female. Parish, pantera head hunter, and Dr. Julia Cabot, OBGYN also have great issues and dangers to overcome. They both have a past that leads them to distrust the other for things they cannot change. They must face other evils that want to stop them from bring together.

    The plot is exciting and hot. There are still many questions to be answered and problems to solve. This was a very quick interesting read. I am looking forward to the next set of books for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3