Customer Reviews for

Rapture (Shadowdwellers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Paranormal Suspenseful Romance...Sexy and well written

Rapture is an amazing read, but it is not for the faint of heart. The book was an emotional rollercoaster plumbing the depths of human strengths, weaknesses, & depravity.

This book stands alone, but it does continue on from where the last book, Ecstasy, leaves off. ...
Rapture is an amazing read, but it is not for the faint of heart. The book was an emotional rollercoaster plumbing the depths of human strengths, weaknesses, & depravity.

This book stands alone, but it does continue on from where the last book, Ecstasy, leaves off. Rapture has more intrigue & suspense - we see glimpses of other characters, but the book truly revolves around Dae - a woman who had lived in slave-like captivity with her Aunt & Uncle, & Magnus - the Shadowdweller's high priest who was betrayed & left for dead in Ecstasy.

The character development in this novel is the strongest in any of the books from either the Nightwalker or Shadowdweller series so far.

Dae is a funny, witty character with complexities & baggage that make her so real. She'll make you laugh, she'll make you cry, & she'll amaze you with her inner beauty despite all the horrors & wickedness that she lived through. Magnus is a great match for Dae. He is strong, intelligent, & reliable, & he eventually recognizes the true strengths & inner beauty of his match. Although his occasional traipsing into male chauvinism can be frustrating at times & has you rolling your eyes.these negative qualities are so typical of even the best of men in real life, & makes him a little more believable & genuine.

I think that's the core strength of this book.it feels the most "real" of all of the Nightwalker & Shadowdweller books. There are some scenes in this book that are very disturbing & upsetting.but Ms. Frank delves into the dark evils that exist in every society & every religion.Where innocence is preyed upon by the power hungry & corrupt. You go on a trip through the hell & helplessness that victims suffer, & she makes thirst for justice burn in you as it does in her characters.

Although tried & tested, her heroes emerge stronger & better. We get glimpses of the not so sterling qualities they possess as well as their strengths & triumphs. Just like all of us, these characters are presented with all their best qualities as well as their worst. & they are even more lovable because of their lack of perfection & because of their victories over their less attractive traits.

There is a "Happy ever after" in this book, yet as in life, it is not neat & tidy. So, although they neutralize the current threat, there is still a greater one that is affecting the Royal House, & the siblings that are currently ruling the Shadowdwellers. You know that they'll make it through things together, but that it won't be an easy journey.

If you have been following the series, we do get some answers as to who was behind attacks in Ecstasy. But there are more questions that still need answering because the corruption is entrenched much higher up in the food chain & that leaves you wanting more.

Ms. Frank's descriptive writing paints amazing pictures & scenes.& her love scenes were truly beautiful & sensual. They were so well written.

She takes you on a journey of beauty & juxtaposes it with evil & depravity.making you all the more appreciative of the goodness in life. & again, taking a paranormal story & grounding it in reality.

I think that Ms. Frank's writing has reached a new maturity & depth. Rapture goes beyond being a great romance or a great paranormal story. It delves into people's character & their development t

posted by blndmschf1969 on July 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intersting

I read this book and its a little far off our world. I just seems odd that this civization has sex/love classes to teach its citizens how to make love and satify a woman. It's a little twisted, but worth the reading and keeps you reading.

posted by Martha4415 on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible Paranormal Suspenseful Romance...Sexy and well written

    Rapture is an amazing read, but it is not for the faint of heart. The book was an emotional rollercoaster plumbing the depths of human strengths, weaknesses, & depravity.

    This book stands alone, but it does continue on from where the last book, Ecstasy, leaves off. Rapture has more intrigue & suspense - we see glimpses of other characters, but the book truly revolves around Dae - a woman who had lived in slave-like captivity with her Aunt & Uncle, & Magnus - the Shadowdweller's high priest who was betrayed & left for dead in Ecstasy.

    The character development in this novel is the strongest in any of the books from either the Nightwalker or Shadowdweller series so far.

    Dae is a funny, witty character with complexities & baggage that make her so real. She'll make you laugh, she'll make you cry, & she'll amaze you with her inner beauty despite all the horrors & wickedness that she lived through. Magnus is a great match for Dae. He is strong, intelligent, & reliable, & he eventually recognizes the true strengths & inner beauty of his match. Although his occasional traipsing into male chauvinism can be frustrating at times & has you rolling your eyes.these negative qualities are so typical of even the best of men in real life, & makes him a little more believable & genuine.

    I think that's the core strength of this book.it feels the most "real" of all of the Nightwalker & Shadowdweller books. There are some scenes in this book that are very disturbing & upsetting.but Ms. Frank delves into the dark evils that exist in every society & every religion.Where innocence is preyed upon by the power hungry & corrupt. You go on a trip through the hell & helplessness that victims suffer, & she makes thirst for justice burn in you as it does in her characters.

    Although tried & tested, her heroes emerge stronger & better. We get glimpses of the not so sterling qualities they possess as well as their strengths & triumphs. Just like all of us, these characters are presented with all their best qualities as well as their worst. & they are even more lovable because of their lack of perfection & because of their victories over their less attractive traits.

    There is a "Happy ever after" in this book, yet as in life, it is not neat & tidy. So, although they neutralize the current threat, there is still a greater one that is affecting the Royal House, & the siblings that are currently ruling the Shadowdwellers. You know that they'll make it through things together, but that it won't be an easy journey.

    If you have been following the series, we do get some answers as to who was behind attacks in Ecstasy. But there are more questions that still need answering because the corruption is entrenched much higher up in the food chain & that leaves you wanting more.

    Ms. Frank's descriptive writing paints amazing pictures & scenes.& her love scenes were truly beautiful & sensual. They were so well written.

    She takes you on a journey of beauty & juxtaposes it with evil & depravity.making you all the more appreciative of the goodness in life. & again, taking a paranormal story & grounding it in reality.

    I think that Ms. Frank's writing has reached a new maturity & depth. Rapture goes beyond being a great romance or a great paranormal story. It delves into people's character & their development t

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Just...Wow

    Wow! I highly recommend this book! LOVE IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Great

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intersting

    I read this book and its a little far off our world. I just seems odd that this civization has sex/love classes to teach its citizens how to make love and satify a woman. It's a little twisted, but worth the reading and keeps you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    excellent paranormal romantic fantasy

    The Shadowdwellers live underground in a complex metropolis of caves and tunnels underneath the mountains of Alaska. They are the Nightwalkers who avoid the rays of the sun which destroys them with the slightest contact; they thrive in the moonlight. The war is over and the monarchy is restored. There is new hope that the race will become more honorable, tolerant and technologically advanced like the other nightwalker races.

    Daenaira has been treated as a slave by her uncle and aunt for eight years, forced to wear a shock collar to enforce her obedience. The day comes when she is sold and before she leaves her aunt's home is shocked into unconsciousness. When she awakens she is in Sanctuary, the church of the Shadowdwellers led by High Priest Magnus who enforces the law and the morals of his people. He informs Dae that the goddess Drenna gave him visions that she was to become his handmaiden. Dae takes awhile but soon trusts Magnus and finds some serenity in Sanctuary even though treachery by unknown people wanting more power has her watching her back. He has enemies who want him dead, but they had not counted on the ferocity of the innocent in love protecting like a lioness her beloved; nor the priest also in love willing to die to keep the former slave safe.

    The second Shadowdweller book (see ECSTASY) is more complex and delves deeper into the culture of the Shadowdwelllers that is much different than our own. Magnus and Daenaira are a fascinating coupling as he has justifiable doubts about having a hand maiden who has the duties of a wife since the last handmaiden tried to poison him while she fears people after the torture her aunt put her through. .Unlike his former handmaiden who he had for decades and was celibate with, he can't control his desire for the woman the goddess chose for him. Jacquelyn Frank is one of the best paranormal romantic fantasy authors writing today and is a favorite of this reviewer.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Highly recommended!!

    Great book. I couldn't put it down and I love Jacquelyn Frank.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    The Twisted Webs We Weave

    It took me a while to get into this book. I’m not sure why, probably just preoccupation. I finally set myself to the task of reading it. And lucky for me, I found myself at the scene with the observation tower. I definitely took notice.

    The political affair of the Nightwalkers is a central piece in all the Jacquelyn Frank novels I’ve read. This was no different. Oh the twisted webs we weave. Ms. Frank did an excellent job with the intrigue. I can’t say I had an idea of whodunit until the culprit stood up and said, I did it! One thing which did confuse me was villain behavior. Not sure why so many villains insist on letting their victims know they’re going to kill them before doing it. I know if I were a villain I’d so be into backstabbing.

    I think I mentioned it once in Chatterbox, but I’ll mention it here again. Now this is just a preference thing. I’m sure others feel differently. However, I would have liked to have not jumped into some of the side characters’ POV. I’m sure their stories were important to the entire political aspect, but all I really cared about was the politics directly related to Magnus, not the twins. Any aspect pertaining to the Senate I would have liked to see from Magnus’ POV. But as I say, I’m partial to the main characters’ POVs only. Anything Magnus was not privy to could have been revealed from the stars of the next book, in my opinion. Especially since Pleasure is about Malaya.

    Random Thoughts:

    *I did find it odd the characters often waited long periods of time before being forthcoming with pertinent information—weeks, months even.
    *I’ve been wondering what penance was like since book one! You teased me, Ms. Frank, and didn’t deliver. *How I hope to see it in action. Maybe it’s just that I’m that twisted.
    *I absolutely LOVE the lessons in sex. Please teach me!
    *I’m hoping the next book will be the last of the Nightdwellers series and bring closure to the politics. Not that I disliked the Nightdwellers, but one of the things I liked about Jacqueline Frank’s lines is the series don’t drag on forever. I like closure. If Pleasure is the ending, I definitely can see myself starting the next series she has called The Gatherers.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    yummmmmm

    I loved this book a lot better than the first book of the series. Details where a lot better on this book. I must say Magnus was mm-good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Magnus and Dae were perfect together. Fire and ice. Great story. You could feel the heat burning through my Nook! Woohoo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW

    WOW! I am liking these Shadowdweller books! They are very interesting! I liked Dae and her priest. I am looking forward to Malaya's book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    This Titile only, made me pick up and read more about it.

    The plot in the beginning put me right with the shadowdwellers. Hot, sexey, dreamy charaters are what makes Jacquelyn Frank so original in all her writting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not very sexy

    I liked the hero and heroine in Rapture, but the parts I think were supposed to be erotic SM were just plain mean, or at least it came across this way to me. And because of this I just didn't care for the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    GREAT READ!

    Great plot! Great Characters! Sexy and full of adventure! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good Actually

    The storyline was very good, and the excitement level was high, which is a MUST in any book. Frank delivered on this book, not all her books was this one did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Super Sexy!!

    This was a great book, especially if you like a lot of smokey sex scenes. I haven't read any of the other books in this series, but I will soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Uh What?

    Uh, hello.... is there a plot to this? Cuz it seems the only plot is how these characters 'learn' to have sex. The supposed plot is an afterthought. I would recommend this book to those looking for graphic romance... not for any other reason. If you're looking for a plot... don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Building up anticipation

    I like this author's other series. The Shadowdweller series takes a different angle but is equally as good. I really like the continous plot that is underlying the series but each book has it's own piece of the plot. She has developed some original characters and sci-fi race. This 2nd book picks up the pace on the plot, thrill and romance/sex. Makes you wonder who and what the 3rd will be...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Loved It!

    I loved this story. Magnus and Dae were the perfect match. Dae's fiesty spirit offset Mangus' lovingly righteous warrior persona. They were so perfect together. I found the story sensually written, romantic and thrilling. I plan to read other books written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My opinion on Rapture by Jacquelyn Frank...

    I found this book to be as exciting as the first. When I started reading and discovered which character the book was about, I couldn't wait to read more. While I was reading this book, I just felt like I couldn't put it down. I would say to myself "this is where I am going to stop for now" but found myself reading on. It was hard to put the book down. I had to know what was going to happen next.
    I exjoy reading the Shadowdweller series and would recommend it to anyone who likes a very good romanace novel. I like the way Jacquelyn made the Shadowdwellers a spin-off from the Nightwalker books. I also read all of those and would recommend them as well. Make sure to read them in the correct order (Not shown in order below..Jacob is first..).
    Jacquelyn's books are wonderful. I anticipate each new book. Pleasure was just release and I started reading that one. It was hard to put it down to go to sleep. Enjoy reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rapture me

    I enjoy Frank's writing. I started with the Nightwalkers Series and then just followed her into the Shawdowdwellers. I loved the first book in this series and so when the father almost dad in the first book after his female companion almost killed him I was rooting for him to get lucky this time....of course while reading I actually got mad and wished someone would hit him....make him see the woman in front of him.....but the story kept me tangled and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9