Customer Reviews for

Rapture (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 522 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(358)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it e

Very good book. I loved the characters and was sorry to see it end.

posted by sand7s on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

bitter sweet

To begin with I love the series and I have been waiting patiently for the final book for months. The finale was extraordinary and took my breath away. It was such a relief to finally have all of our questions answered, but in some sense I'm a bit disappointed. Even thou...
To begin with I love the series and I have been waiting patiently for the final book for months. The finale was extraordinary and took my breath away. It was such a relief to finally have all of our questions answered, but in some sense I'm a bit disappointed. Even though the ending was so pretty, I felt a need to know more. In reality, I expected Lucinda and Daniel to tip the balance siding with the Throne and living happily ever after as Angels, I mean she has just recovered her whole memory and her wings to start all over? Is kind of sad to think I read all three book simply for the characters to forget it. :( Plus I agree with some of the fans, what about Cam? So many unanswered questions concerning him, his beloved, and the interest with Lucinda. :/ His story should have been included within Fallen in Love. Overall I'm happy with the series, it is quite remarkable, but the ending had a bitter sweet sense to it. The least thing they could have done was kiss.

posted by Fanni on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Enjoyed the series but.....................

    I am kinda sorry to say this but I have been an enormous fan of this series when I first read Fallen but I felt let down for some reason, I can adequately explain my reasoning but its just my feeling after reading the novel. Its an okay read, but it just felt like key elements that help a reader connect to the novel were not there

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    could've ended better wish I knew what happen to Cam.

    could've ended better wish I knew what happen to Cam.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Dragged on

    It litterally dragged on for me. I don't know why, it just did. I loved the first book. But the books after that were just boring. Everyone seemed to have loved it, maybe i'm weird and just didnt find anything intriguing in this series. Glad i ended it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    DUMB! ----- Now that Luce has experienced some of her

    DUMB!
    -----
    Now that Luce has experienced some of her many past lives, she has a better, although still incomplete, understanding of what her situation is. But Lucifer wants to reset everything, which would be disastrous. Somehow, Luce is the key to stopping Lucifer but must find certain relics to do so. Strange alliances form to find these relics and figure out their significance with less than nine days before Lucifer's endgame is realized.
    -----
    The writing is less than spectacular: "Then came the feeling of falling- a drop even his wings couldn't prevent, as if the Throne had attached moons to them." Besides the fact that it is bad writing, it is also just plain dumb.
    -----
    Again: "Darkness everywhere, so complete in its doom it made light and love and everything good in the world feel tired and broken and dead." Dumb and dumb and dumb and... Well, you get the point.
    -----
    But here is my favorite: "Every life, every love, every moment that every mortal and angelic soul had ever experienced would be balled up and discarded at Lucifer's reckless whim, like the universe was a board game and he was a whining child giving up when he began to lose." Gag! Kate must be in a contest to see how many bad lines an author can include in a book and still get outstanding reviews. I have to say, it is quite distracting.
    -----
    Then there is the moment when Daniel reveals that Cam's heart was broken. Well of course Luce wants to know who broke his heart, but she's tired... Really? It would only take a minute for Daniel to cough up a name. Luce can't stay awake for one more minute? That little bit of information would not wake her right up? Of course it would. If you want to spark some interest, maybe it could be a little more believable. A teenage girl about to find out who broke someone's heart but falls asleep right before she finds out and then totally forgets about it... not even remotely believable. But of course Kate has to get in that one unanswered question to launch a spinoff series. Obviously I'm the only one who feels so negatively about this because the book received four and a half stars.
    -----
    I guess now would be a good time to comment on what I liked about the book. While the execution is lacking, it is a decent love story. I am really into the whole fallen angels theme an even though this is most definitely a love story, Kate gets a little credit for the angels. The reader gets a lot more insight into the whole reason for the Fall but the story is dumb. I do not take issue with the most prominent reason in the story, but the details could have been better.
    -----
    Bottom line, with Rapture and its predecessors, Lauren Kate missed many opportunities to make the series great. In addition, while she is nowhere near the same level as Philippa Gregory, I think Kate suffers from the same malady- with success comes laziness. Kate achieved such sensation with Fallen, Torment and Passion, she got lazy, knowing it did not matter because Rapture would still be a huge hit even if the quality was lacking. And it is.
    -----
    2 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Alright.

    I liked the first 2books but this fourth book couldnt keep my attention it was all over the place and didnt answer many of my questions. The first book was by far the best i agree with many other readers cams story deffinately needs to be told i actually prefer cam over daniel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Not so great

    I am slightly disappointed in this book and the series in general . Ai loved the first book and got through the next two books. Was hoping for a better ending. It wasn't a shocker. Nothing is answered in books 2 and 3 . Then in book 4, the author tries to cram a bunch of stuff together to draw a conclusion. Luce has to "awaken" to her true self and just miraculously does this rather quickly. If it was so easy why didn't she do this 2 books ago. I ended up skimming most of the book because I was bored. Not worth the ten bucks.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Just...no.

    This book was extremely boring compared to the first two. Also, the covers may be pretty and all, but i dont like it. It seems to be the attention-grabber, so people would see how awesome the book looks like and theyll grab it. Thats what happened to me. I compared this to the hush hush saga. They are very different, BUT whats similar is that the first two books of the saga were good reads, but silence and finale were total suckers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1