Customer Reviews for

The Rapture: In the Twinkling of an Eye / Countdown to the Earth's Last Days

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    GREAT

    this series is great and just gets better. I am sure the truth does make some readers nervous.I hope they read & repent prior to the Great Tribulation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    A Good Book About the Revelation End-Times Prophecy

    I expected this book to be like 'The Rising' and 'The Regime,' but halfway through, the Rapture occured. I thought to myself, 'Is the rest just a reprint of the beginning of the original book?' But it was not. It told of what happened to Irene and Raymie Steele after they were raptured, and of characters later introduced in the series, such as Abdullah Smith. This book is a great example of the end-times, and makes a good penultimate book to the acclaimed 'Left Behind' series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating and revolutionary work in a series that most readers wish will never end

    The countdown to the Rapture has begin and though he doesn¿t know it will happen soon, Nicolae Carpathia, is making plans with the help of his spirit guide (Lucifer) to take control of the world. He blackmails the president of Romania using intimidation and threats to his family into stepping down from his post and the outgoing president declares to the people that Carpathia should be the next president. Raymond Steele, enamored of flight attendant Hattie Durham neglects his wife and his young son Jamie, thinking they are fools for being so involved in the church.--------------- Days before Carpathia makes his speech to the United Nations, the Rapture occurs and his sprit guide shows him how to use the disappearances to his advantage. Raymond¿s wife Irene has almost given up hope that her husband will turn into the man who showered her with love. When the trumpet sounds, Irene and Jamie are lifted into heaven given new bodies and minds. There they are judged for how they lived their life after they received salvation. They see and explore heaven and interact with God and his son. Irene, happy at last still prays that Raymond and Chloe, her daughter, will seek salvation through the Lord.-------------- THE RAPTURE explores in depth the characters of the protagonists and the antagonists of the Left Behind series. It is a fulfilling novel that answers many questions not covered in the other books in the series like why Raymond¿s first officer committed suicide and how Carpathia persuaded the president of Romania to step down. The authors have written another fascinating and revolutionary work in a series that most readers wish will never end.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    If you are into the Left Behind Series you must read this.

    I always wondered about what happened before they were Left Behind and Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins wrote this book to fill in all the spaces. This is a must read if you have read the original series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Awesome! Highly Recommended!

    The Left Behind series is incredibly good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Recommended - hard to find!

    Great series, interesting perspective of what COULD be expected to happen. Found quite a few of the Left Behind series in Christian thrift stores, but the Pre's are really difficult to locate. Thanks for having them, B&N!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Are these books abridged Are these books abridged?

    I have read these books before when they first came out, and am quite familiar with them, but it seems to me that these are not the the full original versions. Has anybody else noticed this? One of the reasons why i bought a nook was so i could have a complete series like left behind in one compact package so they would not take up space on my shelves, and i have the three prequels on nook but if the rest are like this then i will stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Facinating!

    I love this book! The part about the raptuted people, what they experienced,saw, and everything, had me spellbound! I know that this is just a story, and no one really knows for absolute sure what it will be like, but if it's even close, I'm ready right now! I'm so excited! Anytime you're ready, LORD, I'm ready to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Third Prequel to the Giant Series

    This book is the third prequel to the Left Behind series. It was interesting in that it told part of the story from the very first volume of the Left Behind series from different points of view. It provided additional background information about some of the key characters of this long saga. I continue to find some parts of this series entertaining, though in some respects, it differs greatly from my personal religious beliefs. The authors offer some very detailed and specific ideas about future spiritual events that can only be speculated about at this time.
    Michael Travis Jasper, author of the novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    Are You Ready?

    I'd already read the Left Behind series, plus the sequel "Kingdom Come", when I discovered the three prequels, of which "The Rapture" is the third. It's fascinating to see this prophesied event from the point of view of those who are experiencing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it.

    I loved it. A Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    more poorly written prose

    Another trite novel from the duo who can't seem to let go of their money-making literary franchise. Of course, the initial books presented an interesting plot. However, the novel lacks impact because the characterization is so poorly done. These characters have lacked depth and definition for quite a while now so I really do not feel there is anything new to say. The authors are very good at parroting stereotype... The characters exhibit very little perception or insight and the authors have come to rely almost exclusvely on Revelation rantings. Let's face it, this series ran out of steam at least a half dozen books ago. Of course, I couldn't get past this first 100 pages in this latest entry..thank goodness I only borrowed it from a neighbor.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3