Customer Reviews for

The Rapture Exposed: The Message of Hope in the Book of Revelation

Average Rating 3
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Educate yourselves, brothers and sisters!

Many sincere Christians are so poorly educated about Church history that they are simply unable to discern truth from Satan's propaganda. LaHaye and his kind are wolves in sheep's clothing. He is profiteering from the Gospel and making alot of money! Rapture 'theology'...
Many sincere Christians are so poorly educated about Church history that they are simply unable to discern truth from Satan's propaganda. LaHaye and his kind are wolves in sheep's clothing. He is profiteering from the Gospel and making alot of money! Rapture 'theology' started in the 1800s, not 2000 years ago on Patmos Island. Like other false teachings of that century, it found fertile ground in the minds of many Americans. Let us never be too proud or stubborn to admit that we may be mistaken about something or anything in this life! Let us be humble, so that we may read and educate ourselves. Keep an open mind, let The Holy Spirit and your own good sense be your Guide. In the Name of The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit, Amen!

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A RED flag for Christians

I must say I didn't get past but a few pages in this book when I got a bad feeling, I felt I was not reading the truth. For those of you who are not well grounded in the Bible, be careful what you read. I read the Bible and or about the Bible every day, I bought this...
I must say I didn't get past but a few pages in this book when I got a bad feeling, I felt I was not reading the truth. For those of you who are not well grounded in the Bible, be careful what you read. I read the Bible and or about the Bible every day, I bought this book to finish my study of rapture perspectives, too many red flags poped up. My suggestion is to read the inspired Word of God until you have the full armour of God protecting you.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Educate yourselves, brothers and sisters!

    Many sincere Christians are so poorly educated about Church history that they are simply unable to discern truth from Satan's propaganda. LaHaye and his kind are wolves in sheep's clothing. He is profiteering from the Gospel and making alot of money! Rapture 'theology' started in the 1800s, not 2000 years ago on Patmos Island. Like other false teachings of that century, it found fertile ground in the minds of many Americans. Let us never be too proud or stubborn to admit that we may be mistaken about something or anything in this life! Let us be humble, so that we may read and educate ourselves. Keep an open mind, let The Holy Spirit and your own good sense be your Guide. In the Name of The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit, Amen!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    a must for dispensationalists

    Ms. Rossing's book is a must read for every Christian, even in disagreement. It is sad that so many folks give up before hearing all sides of an issue due to the inertia of entrenched belief. People should spot more of a red flag from reading books by the La Hayes of the world, who make so much 'mammon' from book sales of cheesy Christian pornography like the 'Left Behind' series. This is a thoughtful book that, unfortunately, will not make a dent in the hard heads of the rapture freaks of the world.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    Twisting Scripture to Promote an Ideology

    This book fails on many levels, because the author misinterprets or selectively quotes scripture to promote her personal ideology. The greatest failure of this book is that it misses the ultimate message of Revelation: people need to respond in faith to the redemptive work of Christ now to avoid the inevitable judgment that is coming. See Revelation 3:20 and 22:17. Other major flaws abound. For example, she uses symbolic interpretations to twist the plain meaning of scripture. Rossing believes that God has no intention of bringing wrath against the evils on Earth, regardless of statements in Revelation to the contrary. She thinks only in terms symbolic threats. The evils, she notes, are not really those stated in Revelation anyway, but those generated by current Israeli government policies, the opponents of environmentalism, the political right, etc. Her symbolism has a clear socio-political agenda in mind, not a Biblical agenda. Significantly, she never addresses any of the key passages, which show Christ as a judge, such as Revelation 6:9, 19:21, 20:11-15, apparently because they oppose her ideology. Worse yet, she contradicts scripture stating, ¿Prophecy does not mean prediction of the future,¿ even though the Bible contains numerous instances of predictive prophecy. See Genesis Chapters 12:2, 2 Samuel 7:12, Daniel 5:28, Isaiah 53:5, and Acts 9:15. Another obvious flaw is that Rossing avoids discussion of the Greek word signifying the Rapture in 1 Thessalonians 4:16-17, ¿harpazo¿ or ¿caught-up,¿ apparently to avoid undercutting her own views. The book cannot stand up to even a cursory examination against the Bible.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A RED flag for Christians

    I must say I didn't get past but a few pages in this book when I got a bad feeling, I felt I was not reading the truth. For those of you who are not well grounded in the Bible, be careful what you read. I read the Bible and or about the Bible every day, I bought this book to finish my study of rapture perspectives, too many red flags poped up. My suggestion is to read the inspired Word of God until you have the full armour of God protecting you.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Life Boat

    Having endured almost a lifetime of pummeling by dispensationalists, I found this focused expose to the history (short history) of "rapture politics" a blessing. It belongs in church and personal libraries. If you go to many Sunday school classes or take part in small church group discussions, you will find this a great resource.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    The end of the 'raptured' world?

    I have a booklet that was sent to most of the pastors in the US entitled '88 Reasons the World Could End in 1988'. That was the year Hal Lindsey and others were predicting the world would end in the 1970's. It is about time someone spoke the real gospel and the word of hope that the book of Revelation gives as this book does. The Rapture Exposed takes to task the 120 year old myths that have hijacked much of the church. So many have used their own imaginations to give meaning to the apocryphal writing of the bible (esp. Revelation and Daniel), bringing about meanings that have no basis in scripture. She analyzes the texts (including 1 Thess. 4:13-18!) in a scholarly but approachable manner. Rossing brings out the meaning as it was understood at the time the book was written. The center of this understanding is that the the Lamb (Jesus) has already defeated the Lion (The Roman Empire). They just have to hang on until it comes about - which it obviously did. To the people of that time, under persecution by Rome, it was the affirmation of the good news of the eventual overcoming of evil that has been accomplished by Jesus Christ. The book also exposes the dangerous understandings that have come from these false beliefs authors like Lindsey and LaHaye espouse, and how understanding things as they were written fits with the rest of what Jesus came to tell us - believe, love each other, and care for all we have been given. If you have read the 'Left Behind' series, or any of Hal Lindsey's or others of his ilk you need to hear a different voice - one of hope for *this* world. This book can help you to hear it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Good could have been great

    In short, I think the author did a great job on explining the rapture myth in an interesting way and plain language that made the book both practicle and enjoyabe for the layman. What could have made this a great book would be if the author would have left out her personal political meanderings.
    Get past that and this is an enjoyable and informative read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Very confused writer

    My eleven year old niece could write a better book. Her arguments are juvenile. Her knowledge of scripture is piteful. Not a good book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Not Recommended

    The author takes the Scriptures and twists them around to suit her own misinterpretations. She is very confused about this subject. I tried to read it to get the opposite opinion but she is impossible to make any sense. Very confused and misinformed author. Don't buy this book. Her theories are totally false. She apparently is an atheist and is trying to discredit Christianity.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    The book was interesting to say the least - but a total work of

    The book was interesting to say the least - but a total work of fiction. I compared her words to 2 different bibles and I have no idea where she is getting her information from, but it definitely NOT the Bible. That probably explains why I got her book off the "Drastically Reduced Rack" for a buck - and it wasnt even worth that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No rapture

    If you believe there is no second chance you believe there is not going to be seven year tribulation. Once God comes back to get his people that's it you dont go through a tribulation that is like giving you another chance to get it right. In the bible it says he come like a thief in the night. So you dont know when he's coming back and when comes as a thief in the night that is it. No more second chances.
    I also believ that women should wear skirts. And no i'm not one of those religons where they skirts . Actually i'm non denomonation. It says in Deutoronomy 22:5 it says women shallnot wearthat which pertaineth unto a man niether shall a man put on a woman's garmet:for all that do so are a abomintion unto the Lord thy God. Know you may be saying that that doesn't mean women can't wear pants . And you're right that doesn't mean you can't wear pants it just means that the bible teaches you shouldn't wear pants. I mean if any of you ever watch little house on the prairie (my favorite show) you see that the womrn on there wear dresses and skirts. If you look at the signs on the bathroom doors you see that the women sign have girls with dresses and the men have pants. If the women had pants too you wouldn't be able to tell the difference. Also know that you won't go to hell if don't stop wearing pants . I think you might also want to know that I am 11 years old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1