BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Rapture of Canaan

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Emotionally exhausting

This book has to be one of the best books I have read. Reynolds writes in such a way that you identify with the characters and in their own way they become a part of who you are. Amazingly well written, this book is a must read for all women and mothers. Anyone who has ...
This book has to be one of the best books I have read. Reynolds writes in such a way that you identify with the characters and in their own way they become a part of who you are. Amazingly well written, this book is a must read for all women and mothers. Anyone who has ever loved anything can surely identify with the love and loss that Ninah expiriences.

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Oprah's Brand of Christianity on Display

I would not expect a Christian story worthy of the Oprah Club's endorsement to be less than negative toward the faith. But what I did not expect was the disgusting and heretical treatment on display by Ms. Reynolds on page 72 - the last page of this tome I could bear to...
I would not expect a Christian story worthy of the Oprah Club's endorsement to be less than negative toward the faith. But what I did not expect was the disgusting and heretical treatment on display by Ms. Reynolds on page 72 - the last page of this tome I could bear to read:

That night I dreamed of Jesus on the cross, on a cross in the field behind the church....I dreamed I went outside in just my gown and walked up to him. He was too nearly dead to speak, but all he had in his eyes was love for me. And I walked up to the wound in his side where he'd been stuck with a sword. I put my mouth on that wound and began drinking from it, swallowing his blood. And then the wound his his side became a mouth, kissing me back, and I could slip my tongue into the wound, feel the inside of his skin with my tongue, circle it there tasting him.

posted by NanetteK on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Emotionally exhausting

    This book has to be one of the best books I have read. Reynolds writes in such a way that you identify with the characters and in their own way they become a part of who you are. Amazingly well written, this book is a must read for all women and mothers. Anyone who has ever loved anything can surely identify with the love and loss that Ninah expiriences.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Uncomfortable at times, but impossible to put down!

    This book was peppered with beautiful, deeply moving imagery intricately woven into a most repugnant tapestry. My stomach turned as I read of the fear-driven abuse inflicted on a young female protagonist (and other members of this communal congregation) by the elders of this church, all of whom were coerced, indoctrinated & made to be fully dependent on a sadistic patriarch, expatiating a most vulgar, self-serving dogma under the guise of Christianity. The story was masterfully told with vivid detail, complex character development and evoked a gamut of emotion throughout. I was hooked in by this pitiful protagonist, sustaining on blind faith and obedience, and I was compelled to stay by her side & see it through with her to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Kept my attention all the way through

    You must be understanding to the power and control that religion can play within a family to appreciate this book. But if you've been there, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    A Masterpiece of Human Emotion.

    Well for starters, this novel was impeccable in all its erodic detail. This novel wishes,no, demands that you unravel every thought, emotion, and being. Ninah, a true inspiration for women in hardship and woe. Sheri Reynolds, as I notice while reading her books always writes of a female who shows signs of struggle, but then success which can empower any woman of hardship to strive towards true happiness. The Rapture of Canaan can only be described in one word, perfect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2005

    RAPTEROUS!

    This book was captivating, I loved it. Not only did it keep my attention the characters were flawless, I loved them all. Nina especially for sticking up for what James and her did. She stood up for what she believed in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Beautiful

    It was captivating. This girl became her own person and she was brave throughout it all. James couldn't handle it, but she was twice as strong by taking on her burden along with his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Second time around...still number 1 for me!

    I have just completed this book for the second time and find that my first impressions were correct....this is a must read. My favorite book ever. I feel Ninah's pain!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    A Good Read

    I read this book in a few nights and I must say although it is set in a very sad, dark and hopeless setting it piqued my intrest from the first few pages. If your looking for a not so politically correct book about the deep south and how a private religious family/congregation lives then look no further.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Best book ever!

    The Rapture of Canaan is my favorite book. I read it for the first time seven years ago and I have been reading it at least once a year. It's a beautiful yet tragic story. No matter what genre of writing you most enjoy, you will love this book. For instance, my husband mostly reads crime novels and sci-fi books. He read The Rapture of Canaan and it is now one of his favorite books. Don't pass this one up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    amazing!!!!

    This truly has to be the best book i have read yet! I finshed it in 2 days beacuse i couldn't put it down. Even when i wasn't reading it i was still thinking about it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Get ENRAPTURED!!

    From the very first page, you will be enraptured into the world of a young girl trying to make sense of it all as she comes of age - yet still holding onto her religious beliefs... or is she? It's as if the words are lifted right off the page as the author, Reynolds, writes a poignant, powerful, and passionate account of a zealous community told through Ninah's eyes. The manner in which Reynolds portray this communities religious beliefs and practices is astounding. Another thing, the extreme nature of how this religious community functions/believe may be disturbing to readers. At times, I cringed, my stomach twisted, and my heart ached as I read on... But in many ways, I could relate to Ninah - who desired to believe - but had so many questions about WHAT or HOW to believe. All of the characters were so vividly depicted, it's as if I knew each of them. It was so easy to envision what it would be like to live there... how the characters looked like. I read the book in a day - not because it was TOO easy... but simply because I could not seem to put it down. Page after page, I became engrossed in Ninah's story and wanted MORE! My only disappointment was the ending. It didn't provide me with the closure I needed... But I guess that's a good thing, too cuz it leaves my imagination run wild about what may happen to her and to the community. So what are you waiting for? Get ENRAPTURED!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    FINALLY A BOOK THAT SIMPLIFIES TEEN THOUGHTS!

    This is the first and only book that I have read so far that has really gone into the minds of what a lot of teenagers struggle with on a daily basis. Fighting their own demons as well as that of adults who try to impose lifestyles on them. Religion which plays a huge part in my life was shown in this book to be a positive however, on the same hand, it shows what happens when young people (such as myself) have to try to define their own paths whether or not it is based on religion. I first read this book when I was about 14 or 15, and I am now 17 going on 18, and when I first read it I was amazed at how much Ninah's character was like my own. She raised some of the same questions that I still do and she is fighting a battle within herself dealing with emotions such as love and lust. Everytime I read this book I love it more and more. It is my all time favorite and it is EXCELLENT! I encourage all to pick this book up at sometime. It will be totally worth your time, I guarantee it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    The Best Book I've Ever Read

    I had to read this book for a religion class summer reading assignment and figured I probably wouldn't like it. Once I read it, though, I didn't feel like reading any other books because they couldn't be as great as this one was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    WORLD'S BEST BOOK

    I loved the book. because it showed that it is harder living without the modern covencies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT

    I could not put this book down. I ended up adoring Ninah Huff for her love, strength and outlook on life. I also adore Reynolds for writing a novel with so much heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2001

    A story lovers delight!!

    In the book Ninah continually asks her Nanna for a story. This book made me want to ask my granny for a story. It is easy to put yourself in Ninah's shoes and to feel the fear she felt in the sitution that life threw at her. I especially loved the ending because of NInah and Caanan's liberation. I am going to name my first son Caanan!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    The Best Book in the World

    I read this book because a co-worker left it at work, and I was bored. It was a page turner all the way! I don't read very often, but I could not put this one down. I find myself thinking about it all day long, even while I'm reading my next book. This is definetly an outstanding book! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    Just Started This Book and It's Already a Favorite

    I just started this book a few days ago and am amazed at how it has grabbed my attention! I recently finished another Oprah Pick which I didn't enjoy half as much as this book. I can't really comment on the storyline since I just began, but to anyone looking at these reviews, please take my word for it: this is a GREAT Oprah Pick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2000

    All Time Favorite

    I fell in love with the characters from the beginning. I've read it three times now and everytime it just gets better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2000

    finally...a book i couldn't put down!

    wow! this book was really one of the best pieces of work i have read in several years! Sheri Reynolds does a spectacular job of this novel and i highly reccommend this to anybody from any level of reading. this book is simple for the simple reader, yet intricate for the more advanced reader. i think i found an author that i can understand and enjoy! this is a great book that should be on all reading lists for high school and college students, they will not only enjoy the book, but learn from it as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2