Customer Reviews for

Rash

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    I hate sports espescially the books but this book was an exception

    The first time i read this book i had no idea it was about football otherwise i wouldnt have read it but this book was an exception it kept me reading i couldbt put it down its a great read read it and i promise you will enjoy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    This book was amazing. Everything about it was just an experienc

    This book was amazing. Everything about it was just an experience that was well delivered with Hautman's great prediction for the US and it's citizens. After first reading this I even started to run as though there was a Grizzly on my ass! I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great SciFi

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is very entertaining and an all around great science fiction novel. Whovians like myself would probably enjoy this as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Loved

    Read this. I don't think you'll read anything else like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Amazing

    It's Dash, Mrs.hill.
    This book is amazing. I thought I wouldn't like it at first, but it was amazing!! I suggest that everyone read this book. It may have a weird title but it is an amazing book. The ending kind of lets you go and makes you wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2009

    this book is a definite page turner,also it teaches kids a lesson

    Rash is a definite page turner it never looses its step it goes on and on and you never loose interest in it. Also it can teach teenagers a less to not go to jail because bad things can happen tp them if they go to jail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Picture, if you will, life in the year 2076. You are living in The United Safer States of America and things such as obesity, verbal abuse, and dangerous activities are against the law. The legal driving age is twenty-six. Even sports such as football are illegal. Sports that are allowed are hindered due to all the safety gear the participants are required to wear. This is the world that sixteen-year-old Bo Marsten inhabits. <BR/><BR/>Bo has inherited a bit of a temper from his father who has been in prison since 2073 for road rage. He has been in trouble at school many times for "failing to control his antisocial impulses," but when he is falsely accused of causing a rash that spreads throughout the school, his anger gets the best of him and he assaults a classmate. This action lands him in a work camp in the middle of the Canadian tundra that is surrounded by hungry polar bears. <BR/><BR/>The work camp Bo is sent to is a factory that makes pizzas. He becomes a member of a four man team with the responsibility of using the pepperoni gun. Each pull of the trigger on the pepperoni gun delivers twenty-six pepperoni on each pizza. When the team works in sync, life isn't so bad. There is only one group that causes Bo problems while he is there, the Goldshirts. The Goldshirts are an elite group at the pizza factory that have special privileges like a variety of food, when the others only have defective pizzas to eat for every meal, every day. The Goldshirts main job is to play football for the warden. <BR/><BR/>All new editions to the work camp eventually have a tryout in front of the warden. This entails running and catching a pass. If you catch it, you become a Goldshirt and are placed on the team. Bo makes the team and experiences physical activity without protective gear for the first time in his life. The warden requires that the team practice every day for several hours in order to prepare for an illegal game with another work camp. If you want to remain a Goldshirt, you play even if you are injured. <BR/><BR/>After surviving work camp and brutal football games, Bo, with the help of an unlikely attorney, is released from his sentence and allowed to go home. Bo begins to think about life in the USSA and considers where else he can go that would allow more freedom. <BR/><BR/>Pete Hautman has written a unique sports novel for the sci-fi/fantasy lover. This interesting look at what might happen to a society more concerned with safety than freedom is a page-turner. The reader will enjoy comparing today's life with the life Hautman has created.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    A great book for young adults and teenagers!

    Rash is a book about a teenager living in the year 2074, and everything is not what you would think it would be. Pete Hautman unravels the world of the year 2074, and creats a bloody good adventure with unexpected twists. You'll read things like how McDonalds had devoloped from a fast food place, to an automobile place, then to a pizza place. I reccomend this book to anyone who likes science fiction, adventure, or people who like a hint of sports in their books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Great book right here!

    Rash is supposed to be a funny adventure about a kid that has just about the worst luck possible. As you read though, you will realize that it is actually pretty scary. It scares me because laws and rules in this book might actually exist one day. Football is outlawed, books are things of the past, helmets are worn every time you walk uncase you fall, and criminals don¿t go to prison anymore they go to work plants for big brands like Coke and McDonalds. Rash takes a great look at the future, and I recommend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Review of Rash By Mike Hood

    Rash is a novel that young adults can easily relate to because of the impressments placed upon the youth by the government. Instead of parents just babying the kids the entire nation babies them and forces them to be overprotected. The way Hautman describes life in the future and references our day and ages a primitive can be quite comical. It was a very easy read it kept my attention the whole time with plot twists and great dialogue. The book uses many literary devices. It often uses great imagery to describe Bo¿s surroundings. Foreshadowing is used frequently to clue you into Bo¿s future, and similes are often used to describe physical activity in the game. I suggest this book to many audiences because of its witty humor and intense action scenes. This novel was one of my favorite readings of the year. It kept me entertained from start to finish. Never once did I lose interest in this book. Its one of the must reads of the year and Pete Hautman is a great writer. The audiences who will relate to this story the best are the young adults of the world. The constant nagging of parents can be related to the constant threats of the laws in the USSA. Therefore I believe this to be a great read for most ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1