Customer Reviews for

Rasputin's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    I agree with most of the reviews it was an interesting story. To the person below it was not a waste of time. This book was written in 2004, the bones of the prince and princess Maria were not found until 2007. DNA proved that all the children along with their parents were killed. So at this time people may have still believed that the prince and princess anastasia got away. Therefore it was still an interesting mystery. History of this book was intensive and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    great book

    you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Conspiracy and murder stalk a crumbling court...

    Alexander gives us a look inside the Rasputin family, through the eyes of the oldest daughter, Maria. We see her life before her father's murder, starting the week before and leading up to Rasputin's murder. Alexander gives Maria an innocence and determination that makes her a likable character, and eventually, you come to sympathize with Maria and even with Rasputin. By the end of the novel, it leaves you wanting to learn more about the Rasputins and the Romanov dynasty. Definately a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Amazingly written.

    Rasputin's Daughter is very detailed, and makes you feel as if you are going along for the ride with Maria. Simply put, this is an amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Alot better than I was expecting

    I had to read this book for a Global Studies Honors class in my school. I was surprised that this book was not only well written, but seemed to capture the time period amazingly. The love/hate relationship between Maria and Sasha gave anticipation to the story as well. The ending was a complete shock, and made me want to cry =/.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Historical Fiction just got BETTER!

    I thought this was an amazing young adult book that most people should read. It tells of a different point of view, Rasputin's Daughter. You can't even bealive your learning, it isn't like a text book at all. It tells of deception, hatred, love, and the amazing story that you just have to read to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    LOVE HIS BOOK!!

    I did not know very much about Rasputin, so I enjoyed learning about his life through the eyes of his daughter. Though there are some fictional accounts added, I found it to be very factual! It is captivating, I loved it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    A great dark and historical read

    Although parts of the book dragged a bit(which were only a few), it really opened my eyes to what Russia was kind of like during that period of time. It was my first historical read, and it wasn't that bad. I loved how it was written and how it was told through Rasputin's daughter...someone who witnessed everything behind closed doors. I plan on reading Kitchen Boy very very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Darker than 'The Kitchen Boy'

    I will admit I liked 'The Kitchen Boy' better, but I thought this book was also well written. It is much darker novel, but then again Grigori Rasputin's life wasn't very happy or bright. It was interesting to read a different perspective of the Romanov's downfall from Rasputin's daughter, Maria. Overall I enjoyed 'Rasputin's Daughter.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    A Disappointment

    I loved 'The Kitchen Boy', so I was really excited about reading 'Rasputin's Daughter.' My book club even decided to read it. However, it was such a disappointment. It wasn't well written or well thought out. It was a waste of our time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1