BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ratios in the kitchen

After reading this book so many recipes made sense. It is a simple approach to baking - if this then that - what could be easier, no more wondering if a recipe will turn out. Good for the cook who wants to know why and how things work.

posted by kmsgws on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

/146a

the book is informative and interesting. Unfortunately, I bought the e-book which is riddled with bizarre codes. For example: instead of an apostrophe(') we get /146a There are others as well. This interrupts the flow of the prose and makes for slow going.

posted by JoeyO506 on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Ratios in the kitchen

    After reading this book so many recipes made sense. It is a simple approach to baking - if this then that - what could be easier, no more wondering if a recipe will turn out. Good for the cook who wants to know why and how things work.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    This is the book I have been looking for all my life as a home cook!

    I have always known that cooking schools don't teach just techniques and recipes, but a cooking chemistry that allows chefs to create dishes from a basic knowledge of how ingredients go together. I have looked and looked for a cookbook to teach me this. This is the book! I read it cover to cover in two days and I use the ratios daily. When you know the ratios, you can make anything you want--from cookies to bread to soup--without a recipe. Anyone who cooks (or eats!) will find this book to be a unique and valuable addition to their library. I have given it to several people as a gift and they have all loved it, as well. I will also be using it to teach my granddaughter to cook. Bravo!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The perfect combo for creative cooks

    I created a bread recipe using the ratios and it was great. So happy to have finally found the proportions necessary for basic items I make every day. Great resource for the creative cook. The other essential resource I use is The Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg. It outlines flavors that go together.

    Ratio + The Flavor Bible = All you need to create your own spectacular recipes

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended to any and everyone who cooks or wants to

    This book changed my life. It's like Michael Ruhlman tore open the secret lid of culinary basic knowledge and presented in a reader friendly format. While I would not strictly deem this a "cookbook" it has some great basic recipes. But the most important knowledge in this book is all about logical techniques and the ratios. Knowing the ratios for basic foods allows you to then play around and get creative all on your own.
    I would love to have a giant art piece of the ratios in my kitchen or a tattoo of them on my arm!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Terrific book for cooks of all experience levels!

    While somewhat narrow in scope, this book is a delight to read and to put into use in the home kitchen. Ruhlman has compiled simple formulae for cooking and baking basics -- certain ratios (hence the name) that can be applied across thousands of variations to make breads and pastries, puddings and custards, and other categories of foods. I ordered the book for my Nook first, then went to B&N locally to purchase it in paper form for even quicker reference. I write a weekly lifestyle column for a local paper which features cooking and baking frequently, and have been a "foodie" all my life. This book touches a deep chord with its ease of use, and encouragement to explore and experiment. As a senior with many years of experience, I still find it most intriguing and useful, and know a rank beginner would also benefit greatly. I highly recommend this as an addition to any kitchen library!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Excellent!

    Wonderful book! Ratio is a must have! The ratios are easy to understand and replicate. I appreciate the scientific explanations for why each ratio works. After years of trying different bread recipes from various sources, by far the most successful taste and texture was from this book. The crust was crisp and brown with a light and chewy crumb. It was excellent for both sandwiches and toasted with a cheese plate. The pizza dough was fabulous! It was easy to work with and had great flavor. Wonton wrappers were incredible and so versitile, I made French Onion Soup dumplings. I will never buy another prepared wrapper. The roasted chicken was succulent and delicious. I was shocked at how easy it was. The pan gravy was fantastic! My husband licked it off the plate! The stock was simple to prepare and incredibly flavorful. I look forward to trying the sausage ratios next. This will be a bridal shower gift for all of my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2