Customer Reviews for

Raven

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

WOW

Amazing!!! Every character just draws you in. They seem just so real. Nic aka Raven is so strong and Zin perfect. The story is refreshingly new!! A must read!!!!!!!!!!

posted by foreverbkfan on February 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Raven

I have just finished the book and must say I am mildly disappointed in it. The two main characters Zin and Nicole aka raven. As I read it I felt it was a cheap knock off the Twilight series. You have an immortal group with one person who can turn people into immortals o...
I have just finished the book and must say I am mildly disappointed in it. The two main characters Zin and Nicole aka raven. As I read it I felt it was a cheap knock off the Twilight series. You have an immortal group with one person who can turn people into immortals on their deathbed. Unfortunately the ending sucks. Though some people in the story do die, I found that it was as not as emotionally moving to me like other books I have read. The school days really had no relevance and at times I really hated the plot, because it was I hate him, no wait I love him, and then no wait I hate him, and so on throughout the book. One of my main problems with this book, was the relevance of certain facts, and how they were so brief, if you blinked you would miss it. Especially the last chapter, it was like two pages that tried to sum up everything but not only left gaps, but ended on such sharp note i felt like I was jolted out of the story. So though my critique may seem harsh if you have read the Twilight series then you understand, if you haven't read twilight I recommend reading that instead of this but its your choice not mine.

posted by KittenWithClaws on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    Raven

    I have just finished the book and must say I am mildly disappointed in it. The two main characters Zin and Nicole aka raven. As I read it I felt it was a cheap knock off the Twilight series. You have an immortal group with one person who can turn people into immortals on their deathbed. Unfortunately the ending sucks. Though some people in the story do die, I found that it was as not as emotionally moving to me like other books I have read. The school days really had no relevance and at times I really hated the plot, because it was I hate him, no wait I love him, and then no wait I hate him, and so on throughout the book. One of my main problems with this book, was the relevance of certain facts, and how they were so brief, if you blinked you would miss it. Especially the last chapter, it was like two pages that tried to sum up everything but not only left gaps, but ended on such sharp note i felt like I was jolted out of the story. So though my critique may seem harsh if you have read the Twilight series then you understand, if you haven't read twilight I recommend reading that instead of this but its your choice not mine.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    Wow

    It was so confusing in the beginning. I felt like there was so much unsaid that would have helped describe things better and clarify things. It was hard to follow sometimes and it got pretty boring too. I skipped some chapters and still got the gist of what happened. I wouldn't buy it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something different

    One of the things that i love about this book is that it is different, This is not a story about vampires or faries for ghosts. But it is about immortals and a girl that is different an does different things. There are twists and turns and most of the time the book is hard to put down. I would recommend this book for someone who likes the vampire books but is looking for something that is different but still exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rebecca Wells for TeensReadToo.com

    Nicole has a life blighted by her brother, a meth addict who routinely calls home for money her parents can't refuse him. She just wants to get out. Her only respite comes in the form of Evermore, a bar in Manhattan where she can indulge her two loves: breaking, and Zin, a charismatic bartender.

    Nicole just wants to be with Zin, but little does she know there is a dark secret he hides. When she uncovers it, will Nicole's love for Zin survive? And when a dark force connected to Zin begins to threaten her, what will she choose?

    RAVEN is an engaging, fast-paced read. The voice of the narrator, Nicole, is sharp and clear. Readers will be drawn into this fascinating new world of breaking, but for newcomers to the dance, it will be at times difficult to understand and visualize.

    For me, the climax of RAVEN came far too abruptly. The book seemed to be building toward an ending that never came, and that which finally did appear seemed out of the blue.

    Still, RAVEN remains an engaging read regardless of this inconsistency in plot construction, mostly due to the captivating voice that narrates the book. Van Diepen is to be congratulated for her excellent imagination and tone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Raven

    I gave this a two out of five because quite frankly, a one out of five is a book I put down after the first chapter. It passed until the third. The language was not intense enough to the level where I could picture the dance moves as Chris Brown/Ciera worthy. They seemed like the kind of dances where you cringe becuase you feel sorry for them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    WOW

    Amazing!!! Every character just draws you in. They seem just so real. Nic aka Raven is so strong and Zin perfect. The story is refreshingly new!! A must read!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Jinx

    -walks in-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Mute girl

    She puts her closthes back on and looks for an escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Ravenfeather

    DarkPELT. Can't. nothing exciting happens around here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Kit

    Gosh... well then ill make it exciting. Just ignore darkpelt. Give me a couple of weeks and it will be up and running and plenty exciting. A killer isnt what we need. We can have a new location and more cats and training and powers and all hat jaz. Ok?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Sweet Death

    Is this the Raven from TT/TTG? I RP a cat based off of her at Northclan named Ravenspell! Keep going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    XY

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    To raven

    Good, but lacks plotline and essential description and detail. ( i like the poe reference. Have you read the poem? I had to for my english class. Not too bad.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Julia

    She slithered up after him.

    My nook drank some Haterade and decided not to work.

    Haterade- evil Gaterade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Snow

    Oka. I will get it done tomorrow afternoonish. Night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Warroirs den

    Soft nests lined with the finest moss and feathers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    love it!!!

    When I started to read this book I got glued right away. I mean yeah a lot of people are saying it took time to adjust to the book but I can relate to it. Even with the love hate relationship that Zin and Nicole have can confuse me in some chapters in the book. I mean Zin had a reason why he was doing that because of the secret he kept from her until she found out about him when she was attacked; he didn't want to get her involved. But overall I liked the book and I thought it was a good twist. Would recommend this book to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    you must check it out!!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was a beautiful love story. I have to say, this is definitely a very different Paranormal than I've ever read. Never read a story that involved break dancers. But Van Diepen has created wonderful characters. Raven is a strong, level headed girl. Her brother Josh is addict to meth, which gives her mom and dad a lot of heart ache, and this in return causes stress in her family. Zin, who is a part of the break dance group called the Toprocks (which Raven also dances in), is the male love interest. Raven starts working at the same club Zin bartends at, and also where they have dance battles with other break dancers. Raven falls for Zin, but he keeps her at distant. Zin keeps his true identity a secret from Raven. Carlo, the club owner where Zin and Raven work, has his own plans for Raven. And Zin is against these plans. This book has an amazing plot and has a very unique ending. Never seen it done in a paranormal book like this. And I love it, and highly recommend Raven as must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Bad!!

    Picked this book up at random. Thought that the downtown club/breakdancing scene was unique. The plot is so, so. It does keep you interested but it's not the best book I've read. I thought it was too short and a lot of what happens is rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    Makes you want to keep reading and reading!

    I loved this book because even though it starts out slow at first, its not one of those books like Twilight thats all about romance or like one of the books where all it has is action, and trust me I literally could not put the book down. I think this book is very unique because it has break dancing battles- I mean seriously! How awesome is that? It like explains the moves as they happen in the book. This book was an awesome book and I recommend you read it as soon as you can cause its amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4