Customer Reviews for

Raven

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Rebecca Wells for TeensReadToo.com

Nicole has a life blighted by her brother, a meth addict who routinely calls home for money her parents can't refuse him. She just wants to get out. Her only respite comes in the form of Evermore, a bar in Manhattan where she can indulge her two loves: breaking, and Zin...
Nicole has a life blighted by her brother, a meth addict who routinely calls home for money her parents can't refuse him. She just wants to get out. Her only respite comes in the form of Evermore, a bar in Manhattan where she can indulge her two loves: breaking, and Zin, a charismatic bartender.

Nicole just wants to be with Zin, but little does she know there is a dark secret he hides. When she uncovers it, will Nicole's love for Zin survive? And when a dark force connected to Zin begins to threaten her, what will she choose?

RAVEN is an engaging, fast-paced read. The voice of the narrator, Nicole, is sharp and clear. Readers will be drawn into this fascinating new world of breaking, but for newcomers to the dance, it will be at times difficult to understand and visualize.

For me, the climax of RAVEN came far too abruptly. The book seemed to be building toward an ending that never came, and that which finally did appear seemed out of the blue.

Still, RAVEN remains an engaging read regardless of this inconsistency in plot construction, mostly due to the captivating voice that narrates the book. Van Diepen is to be congratulated for her excellent imagination and tone.

posted by TeensReadToo on June 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Raven

I have just finished the book and must say I am mildly disappointed in it. The two main characters Zin and Nicole aka raven. As I read it I felt it was a cheap knock off the Twilight series. You have an immortal group with one person who can turn people into immortals o...
I have just finished the book and must say I am mildly disappointed in it. The two main characters Zin and Nicole aka raven. As I read it I felt it was a cheap knock off the Twilight series. You have an immortal group with one person who can turn people into immortals on their deathbed. Unfortunately the ending sucks. Though some people in the story do die, I found that it was as not as emotionally moving to me like other books I have read. The school days really had no relevance and at times I really hated the plot, because it was I hate him, no wait I love him, and then no wait I hate him, and so on throughout the book. One of my main problems with this book, was the relevance of certain facts, and how they were so brief, if you blinked you would miss it. Especially the last chapter, it was like two pages that tried to sum up everything but not only left gaps, but ended on such sharp note i felt like I was jolted out of the story. So though my critique may seem harsh if you have read the Twilight series then you understand, if you haven't read twilight I recommend reading that instead of this but its your choice not mine.

posted by KittenWithClaws on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something different

    One of the things that i love about this book is that it is different, This is not a story about vampires or faries for ghosts. But it is about immortals and a girl that is different an does different things. There are twists and turns and most of the time the book is hard to put down. I would recommend this book for someone who likes the vampire books but is looking for something that is different but still exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rebecca Wells for TeensReadToo.com

    Nicole has a life blighted by her brother, a meth addict who routinely calls home for money her parents can't refuse him. She just wants to get out. Her only respite comes in the form of Evermore, a bar in Manhattan where she can indulge her two loves: breaking, and Zin, a charismatic bartender.

    Nicole just wants to be with Zin, but little does she know there is a dark secret he hides. When she uncovers it, will Nicole's love for Zin survive? And when a dark force connected to Zin begins to threaten her, what will she choose?

    RAVEN is an engaging, fast-paced read. The voice of the narrator, Nicole, is sharp and clear. Readers will be drawn into this fascinating new world of breaking, but for newcomers to the dance, it will be at times difficult to understand and visualize.

    For me, the climax of RAVEN came far too abruptly. The book seemed to be building toward an ending that never came, and that which finally did appear seemed out of the blue.

    Still, RAVEN remains an engaging read regardless of this inconsistency in plot construction, mostly due to the captivating voice that narrates the book. Van Diepen is to be congratulated for her excellent imagination and tone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    WOW

    Amazing!!! Every character just draws you in. They seem just so real. Nic aka Raven is so strong and Zin perfect. The story is refreshingly new!! A must read!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    you must check it out!!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was a beautiful love story. I have to say, this is definitely a very different Paranormal than I've ever read. Never read a story that involved break dancers. But Van Diepen has created wonderful characters. Raven is a strong, level headed girl. Her brother Josh is addict to meth, which gives her mom and dad a lot of heart ache, and this in return causes stress in her family. Zin, who is a part of the break dance group called the Toprocks (which Raven also dances in), is the male love interest. Raven starts working at the same club Zin bartends at, and also where they have dance battles with other break dancers. Raven falls for Zin, but he keeps her at distant. Zin keeps his true identity a secret from Raven. Carlo, the club owner where Zin and Raven work, has his own plans for Raven. And Zin is against these plans. This book has an amazing plot and has a very unique ending. Never seen it done in a paranormal book like this. And I love it, and highly recommend Raven as must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Raven

    Just finished it today and here's what i think,I enjoyed this novel quite a lot and was looking forward to reading it,Anything that has the mix of New York City and romance gets my vote and what i unique concept to mix break dancing with supernatural elements such as immortals,sounds like Alyson Noel's Immortals series right?,wrong.The immortals are Jiang Shi,people who can live forever and take the soul of others,Nicole is smitten with Zinadin "Zin" for short and what do you know?He is immortal and their breaking dancing group loves to hang and battle at Evermore owned by Carlo the master Jiang Shi or leader,full of suspense and twists with a pinch of romance and chemistry,read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    immortal love

    The thing that was confusing about this book was the language of the dancing. The author used some words that I had no idea what they meant, plus they were slang so it was kind of hard to understand. The book overall was really good it shows what a young girl goes through in her life. It was a really touching book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I great find!

    I found this book to be a great fantasy to lose yourself in. I starte it early in the morning and was finished by lunch time. The realism of the main female characters life mixed with the fantasy of her crush draws you in. While I do agree that the language could have been more vivid with the dance scenes, overall I thought this book was a great story and would love to see a spinoff involving Josh's journeys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected.

    It was actually a pretty good read. just not what I was expecting when I first picked it up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1