BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Raven

Average Rating 4
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

It's not a book! Psychological and emotional torture for the narrator.

Why are people calling this a book? It is one of the most famous of American poems. It is grim psychological study of the narrator's tortured state of mind. He has lost his wife and tries desperately to imagine that she will return from the dead. It is self-torrture bec...
Why are people calling this a book? It is one of the most famous of American poems. It is grim psychological study of the narrator's tortured state of mind. He has lost his wife and tries desperately to imagine that she will return from the dead. It is self-torrture because he knows in the deepest recess of his soul that she will not return (Nevermore). Many Biblical and mythical allusions that need to be researched and the overdone alliteration is a blsst to read over and over: uupon the pallid bust of Pallas. This was Poe's first commercisl success, if my literary history serves me correctly. And written in Phila.

posted by 17263246 on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Ugh!

Please don't bother. It is badly formatted. The poem itself is great, it is just this particular version that sucks. Google "edgar allen poe the raven" and you will find a better version. 0 stars!

posted by Anonymous on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    It's not a book! Psychological and emotional torture for the narrator.

    Why are people calling this a book? It is one of the most famous of American poems. It is grim psychological study of the narrator's tortured state of mind. He has lost his wife and tries desperately to imagine that she will return from the dead. It is self-torrture because he knows in the deepest recess of his soul that she will not return (Nevermore). Many Biblical and mythical allusions that need to be researched and the overdone alliteration is a blsst to read over and over: uupon the pallid bust of Pallas. This was Poe's first commercisl success, if my literary history serves me correctly. And written in Phila.

    22 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Read this poem!

    I love this poem. I read it in class and it was very amuzing. It is about a man whose wife, Lenore, has died. While in his chamber (another word for bed) at night, he hears tapping at his door. This causes him to go a little crazy each time. Every time he opens his door, he sees nothing. Read the poem to find out the rest!
    I rate this poem 5 stars. It has an phenomanol word choice and flows very excellently.
    I hope this review is helpful! :~)

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Amazing

    If you enjoy scary classics this is the poem to read.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Love it

    My 8th grade class read this and it was quite suspenceful. I wanted to get it and found for free here. It also is quoted in Thriller by Michal Jackson. I really like Poe's work.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Ugh!

    Please don't bother. It is badly formatted. The poem itself is great, it is just this particular version that sucks. Google "edgar allen poe the raven" and you will find a better version. 0 stars!

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly recommended!!!

    Classic Poe work. Great read!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Great.

    This is my all time favorite poem, it is a greay attention grabber I can read this poem a million times and still not get tired o it and keep rereading it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    :)

    I love this poem! I highly recommend getting this and if you are not familiar with Edgar Allan Poe, I recommend reading his other poems and short stories as well. :D

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Wow

    :) :) :)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    This book is super scary lolz

    I heart this but it is scary

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    True review

    I am a huge fan of classic book from Mr.Poe..and this one -i have to say- is the best one out of all of the books i read...it just catches my eye how poetic this book is...he can fluently rhyme too!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Love This

    I absolutely love this poem. The plot is fasinating, with the narrator begging a raven that keeps it's perch above his chamber door to let him forget his beloved Lenore, and just pleading the raven to leave. I especially liked that, at the last line of each stanza, was a short line, each with the same amount of syllables, that ended with the syllable "more." And you can't forget to mention, the ryming was FLAWLESS. I reccoment this to anyone in search of something slightly dismal to read, but be warned: Even I had to read tthis twice to make all the syallables come together as verses.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    This book is kind of wierd. He talks about a raven just hanging

    This book is kind of wierd. He talks about a raven just hanging out on the door of his chamber just staring at him through the doorway. It's kind of scary just having a bird named Nevermore chilling on your door until you come out.

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    The raven

    Doing edgar allen poe in my daughters LA class, also read the tell-tale heart, cask of amontiago and pit and a pendulm!!!
    Love it such a good read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Great

    This is a well written story of love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Ok

    Some ends do not make sense. I read the whole thing in less than a hour.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    Edgar Allan Poe.. What more can I say?

    I love this classic!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Amazimg

    It is a really good poem,we read this in 8th grade

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Quality

    Edgar is the greatest poet around; he writes in unbeileveable quality. Rather than a typical poet, his poems have sentitmental meaning. Thanks, Edgar, for showing us a grand poem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    The best poem i ever read

    This is the best poem i ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14