Customer Reviews for

Raven Rise (Pendragon Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Shyanne for TeensReadToo.com

RAVEN RISE is a wonderful addition to the PENDRAGON series. It is just as exciting as the rest and keeps you wanting more. I had a hard time putting it down and there is no way that I will not be purchasing the next one so I can find out what happens next!

RAV...
RAVEN RISE is a wonderful addition to the PENDRAGON series. It is just as exciting as the rest and keeps you wanting more. I had a hard time putting it down and there is no way that I will not be purchasing the next one so I can find out what happens next!

RAVEN RISE is about a Traveler named Bobby Pendragon. Now eighteen, his struggle to save Halla is harder than ever, and everything he's ever done has come down to this. He must save Halla from an extremely evil man, Saint Dane, who is trying to merge all of the worlds into one.

Saint Dane is not only trying to mix territories, which is something that Travelers are not supposed to do, but he is also trying to create the perfect group of people who will follow under him. What will he do with the "not perfect" people? He will take care of them.

Saint Dane plans on controlling all of Halla, and he will decide what he thinks is right for the people of the territories. He believes he is doing right by deciding people's destinies for them and not letting them make their own decisions. Pendragon, on the other hand, thinks that people should make the decisions of their lives on their own.

The battle is on in RAVEN RISE. The battle for Halla. The internal battle of Bobby Pendragon. The battle of the people of the territories. And the battle between Saint Dane and Pendragon. This is what it is all coming down to.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

First 150 pages

I have always enjoyed the Pendragon series and by reading the first fifty pages of the ninth installment i can already tell that it is my favorite. It is a very casual read and one of the few books I can read for entertaining purposes. I greatly enjoyed the books when...
I have always enjoyed the Pendragon series and by reading the first fifty pages of the ninth installment i can already tell that it is my favorite. It is a very casual read and one of the few books I can read for entertaining purposes. I greatly enjoyed the books when I was younger but after starting to read this edition to the series I feel as if I have outgrown the books. I still enjoyed the read but not as much as I used to. On a further note I highly recomend this series to any young adult hungry for action and adventure on every page. It is an easy read and and addicting from the very first page. DJ Mchale does a fantastic job describing the plot in detail and his creativity is unmatched.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Shyanne for TeensReadToo.com

    RAVEN RISE is a wonderful addition to the PENDRAGON series. It is just as exciting as the rest and keeps you wanting more. I had a hard time putting it down and there is no way that I will not be purchasing the next one so I can find out what happens next! <BR/><BR/>RAVEN RISE is about a Traveler named Bobby Pendragon. Now eighteen, his struggle to save Halla is harder than ever, and everything he's ever done has come down to this. He must save Halla from an extremely evil man, Saint Dane, who is trying to merge all of the worlds into one. <BR/><BR/>Saint Dane is not only trying to mix territories, which is something that Travelers are not supposed to do, but he is also trying to create the perfect group of people who will follow under him. What will he do with the "not perfect" people? He will take care of them. <BR/><BR/>Saint Dane plans on controlling all of Halla, and he will decide what he thinks is right for the people of the territories. He believes he is doing right by deciding people's destinies for them and not letting them make their own decisions. Pendragon, on the other hand, thinks that people should make the decisions of their lives on their own. <BR/><BR/>The battle is on in RAVEN RISE. The battle for Halla. The internal battle of Bobby Pendragon. The battle of the people of the territories. And the battle between Saint Dane and Pendragon. This is what it is all coming down to.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    The best in the series!

    In Pendragon: Raven Rise, you will find action and adventure around every corner. Pendragon is a series of books '10 in all' and Raven Rise is the ninth one. This series of books is about a boy named Bobby Pendragon who finds out he has to save the universe from an evil demon named Saint Dane. He is not happy about this though, as it came to a surprise to him. One day his Uncle Press shows up and tells him some people need help. Turns out that is definitely an understatement. His uncle brings him to an abandoned subway station and tells him to go on the train tracks, find a door, and yell ¿Denduron.¿ This series is recommended for 12 and older. The author uses very difficult words to keep this story very interesting. He puts a lot of detail into important parts like where Bobby¿s friend Alder blows up the tak mine. The books are usually very long, but trust me, it¿s worth it. If you read the first book, then you will get into the Pendragon series really fast. Pendragon is a science fiction/ fantasy series. Bobby has to go to other worlds called ¿territories,¿ like Denduron, Zadaa, or Eelong, and he has to stop his nemesis, Saint Dane, from creating chaos on the territories. Each territory is different. Like Third Earth, for example, is the future, Second Earth is the present, and First Earth is the past. Most teens will want to read this book and series. I recommend that people ages 12 and up read this, since most kids won¿t understand some of the words. Trust me, once you start reading Pendragon, you won¿t put the book down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Anonymus

    I loved this book series!!!! Even though I am only 12 years old this is the best book series that I have personally read!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What could possibly happen next?

    This "penultimate" Pendragon is every bit as action-packed as its predecessors. (Like that alliteration?) Our favorite characters found themselves in all sorts of jeopardy, and the ending left me frustrated and wondering what in Halla MacHale has planned for these people we've come to know and love. I guess if his goal was to cause the reader to go bonkers itching for the next installment, he's certainly accomplished that here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nice Book

    Absorbing. Can't wait for the next book in the series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    best book

    this is the ninth book in the pendragon seris and one of the best of them

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    First 150 pages

    I have always enjoyed the Pendragon series and by reading the first fifty pages of the ninth installment i can already tell that it is my favorite. It is a very casual read and one of the few books I can read for entertaining purposes. I greatly enjoyed the books when I was younger but after starting to read this edition to the series I feel as if I have outgrown the books. I still enjoyed the read but not as much as I used to. On a further note I highly recomend this series to any young adult hungry for action and adventure on every page. It is an easy read and and addicting from the very first page. DJ Mchale does a fantastic job describing the plot in detail and his creativity is unmatched.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    cant wait for next book

    The ending was great. i cant wait to find out what happens next

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    This is what I think!!

    These books are for the one that like a never ending Adventure, for the ones stuck on the cover always remember that don't judge a book by it cover. These books are great, exciting, and leave you feeling like you are on the edge. The books are FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    LonerCn territory, stop!!!!

    Stop giving away the endings of the books. What if someone looked at your review who hadnt read the book yet. They might be disappointed at you for ruining the end for them. :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    MacHale does it again

    In Pendragon book 9 Bobby is starting his new life on Ibara. But as Bobby starts to get comfortable on Ibara he realizes that Saint Dane is at it again, creating a new flume for him to escape in. Bobby them realizes that the trusted Tello is really Nevva Winter. Will Bobby ever redeem his spot as a Traveler or crack under pressure?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    This book is the last of the Pendragon series..i would say this is one of the best series i have ever read..im so glad i found it and got to enjoy and experience Pendragon..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OMG IT IS GR8!!!!!!!!

    Pendragon: Raven Rise, by D.J. MacHale, is an action-packed, suspenseful, work of fiction. The only fault I had about it is that it wasn¿t longer! It is about a teenager named, Bobby Pendragon. In an average day, he saves all of humanity from destruction. Bobby was chosen by an unknown force, to become a traveler. A traveler¿s job is to save different territories from an evil-demon named Saint Dane. Bobby and the other ten travelers are losing, though. In the ninth book of Bobby¿s adventure, read all about Bobby¿s struggle against Saint Dane. Who knows, if bobby loses you may wake up one day and things could be very different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    Great

    Raven Rise by D.J. MacHale was a fascinating book. In Raven rise Bobby Pendragon finds out his fight to save halla is not over yet. Saint Dane has been using flighters to dig out the flume that Bobby buried on Ibara. After he finds his old friend he decides its time to find out what Saint Dane is up to. When he arrives he finds that Saint Dane has already left. So, Bobby takes off for his home on Second Earth which is in trouble. An evil dictator and the new traveler from Second Earth has taken over. He created a religion that only people who contribute greatly to society can join. Bobby joins up with a religion rebel, Alder, and of course Mark and Courtney. They have to try and stop something called the Bronx massacre.<BR/>They originally think that the massacre is when the dictator sends 20 people into a flume and banish them. After that they begin to assume that the massacre is going to happen at their protest in Yankee Stadium. This was a great book because it was exciting and left you at the edge of your seat. People who would like to read this are people who have read the first 8 books. It is a science fiction book like no other it talks about the fact that there are other dimensions we can travel too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome and fun to read

    I liked this book almost more than any other Pendragon book made. It was so good I couldnt put it down , trust me I couldnt put it down. I recommend you to read it, b/c you wont be able to put it down either and its a long book but i wish it was longer because believe it or not D.J. MacHale left a huge Cliffhanger at the end of the book and it was so good i wish the other one was out right now but it isnt and i hate to wait for it so im now reading another book, waiting patiently(not really im about to die with out reading that next book.) So hurry up D.J., write that book faster. Oh, also D.J., that was a very good book so thank you for writing it, and if i said anything mean about you before it was a joke. I reccomend this book big time i would recomend it if it costed a $100.00 and if I hadnt read it i would 've bought it for a 100 bucks. Also, I recomend all the pendragon books so if oyu havnt read them reeeeaaaadddd them, please. So thank you again for writing such a good book to feed the peoples mind with.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    A Different Level

    The morals in this story that MacHale has portrayed in this exciting story are amazing. How he delivers these morals is incredible. This is the best book in the series, and my favorite book that I have ever read. I thought about the amazing adventure stories I've read since I've been born. This one is truly the best. Now Pendragon fans can truly state, without a doubt, that this series is better than Harry Potter. This is the true coming of age fantasy-adventure book series. The ending was truly a gift to all who have followed this series from the start. And the best part about it is, there is still one more book left. I've been reading this series since a month after the release date of Pendragon 1: The Merchant of Death. I never thought that it would reach this level. MacHale has truly grown as a writer. This book proves that. I will remember this series as a classic forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Anonomous

    This book was AMAZING!!!!!!! I got it on my nook and i loved it. If you read this series you will get so wrapped up in it that you won't be able to stop reading. I am so excited to get the next book in the series, The Soldiers Of Halla. But I'm also sad that there is only 1 book left in the series. I would say this book was one of the best ones in the series. PENDRAGON IS THE BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Oh my gosh

    This book (other than the Veloox story) is my favorite out of all these Pendragon books. Truely awesome can't wait fr pat 10!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Sant dane

    When i read raven rise i not only learned that saint dane wants to take over halla but beat bobby pendragon in the the war that thy created in book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11