BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Raven Stole the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Raven Stole The Moon

    I have to admit upfront that I had never heard about this book or the author before, which after reading it I should be apologizing for, so when I was offered a chance to read the reissue of the book and I read the synopsis, I jumped at the chance. Now I will also have to admit to feeling a little disappointment when I first got the book and glimpsed the cover. It looked like any other book out there and had a hint of "chick lit" to it. If I had seen the book in a store, sitting on a new release table, I would not have picked it up. I actually looked up the earlier cover for the book, and while it wasn't the best either, I felt that it caputred the mysterious aspect of the book better. While this cover seems to say not much other than that it's pretty.

    Now that I got that off my chest, I have to say I loved this book. The story was a blend of drama, mystery, paranormal, myth, and fantasy all rolled up into a very cohesive book that even when it took the fantastical turns, you always feel as if it's real. Jenna and Robert (her husband) felt like real people trying to deal with their loss in different ways which caused strain in the relationship. It just so happens that on the anniversary of their son's death they are required to go to a dinner party which ends up being too much for Jenna. She ends up taking off and ends up back in Alaska where the tragedy happened.

    Jenna meets three individuals who are to become very important in her life, Oscar the loveable dog who may be more than he seems, Eddie the adorable fisherman, and David the tribal shaman who is dealing with demons of his own. With their help Jenna takes a terrifying and touching journey to discover what happened to her son and where he is at now.

    I've been struggling to do this review simply because so much of this book is important to the story and I don't want to give too much away. The last thing I will say is that I felt this book was the perfect blend of the fantastic and realism, that the way these two elements are blended is seamless and you aren't always sure where one ends and the other begins.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbinding!

    I had heard about a lot of good things about Garth Stein's work, and was excited to be able to review one of his novels. With all the great things I've heard, I had created some high expectations I was really hoping this book would live up to. It not only lived up to them, but exceeded them!

    From the first page, I found myself under the spell of this highly emotional story. There was just no way, after starting it, that I was able to put it down. The characters were extremely well crafted and realistic. The storyline was beautifully and masterfully told. I was very impressed with the way that Stein wove Tlingit folklore throughout the story, making it real and almost believable.

    My heart broke for the main character, Jenna, and the loss of her son. I understood her need for closure and was aching right along with her. Not many characters will get to me the way that hers did.

    "Raven Stole the Moon" has made my favorites list for this year. It's powerful, thrilling, suspenseful, gripping, and will scare the pants off you! Make sure you add it to your reading list if you haven't already. This is a new updated version of the original novel that was released in 1998. Mr. Stein made a few changes and cut out a lot of the vulgarity.

    The reason for Adult Audience rating: This book has some descriptive sex, language, and other adult themes that would make it questionable for older teens. Please read before deciding if you should or should not give it to your older teen. It's a great story, but the content is sometimes harsh.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Haunting Supernatural Thriller and the Beautiful Native American Culture

    Garth Stein wrote The Art of Racing in the Rain, but I unfortunately never got a chance to pick it up and read it. I always meant to get to it, but life seemed to get in the way. So I was even more excited to receive a copy of Raven Stole the Moon from Sarah Daily at Terra Communications. Originally released in 1998, it's now been released again -- and rightfully so. After reading it, I can see how it fits much better into today's market, and I fully expect this book to become incredibly popular.

    Jenna Rosen is married and living in Seattle with her husband, Robert. Her life now is strained and tired and she is unable to move through it with some type of normalcy. Some time has passed since the heartbreaking day when her young five-year-old son slipped over into the water, disappearing from the surface while on a vacation near her Native American grandmother's hometown of Wrangell, Alaska. The resort of Thunder Bay was never approved to be built by the local shaman, but investors and sales pushed forward. The need to make money kept the shaman's advice buried and tragedy happened. Jenna's life is now filled with therapists, medication, and alcohol, all in hopes to rebuild some type of life, but nothing seems quite right. One night two years later, Jenna is compelled to travel to Alaska from Seattle, leaving her husband and strained marriage behind at a party of co-workers with no idea of where she went.

    What follows is an incredible mixture of Native American tradition and culture with a searing mystery and deep love, loss, and sadness. I was perplexed and drawn into the mystery of the kushtaka and felt the creepy and prickly fear of looking over my shoulder as I learned about lost souls, native rituals and the Tlingit shaman strength to protect the land and people. My heart broke for Jenna as she struggled to understand what happened on "that day," how Native American legend may play a part of it, and I was completely racing with page-turning anxiety any time she was alone in a hotel room, the forest, or on the Alaskan shoreline. Is Jenna crazy or is the legend of the shapeshifting kushtaka true? And could the dog that saved her life really be something much more?

    Garth Stein has captured an atmosphere within Raven Stole the Moon that is memorable and spooky -- a re-released debut novel that effortlessly combines a story of true loss and one woman's path while grieving, with the supernatural touch of true Native American culture. I could not put this one down, and read it within a couple of days. If I didn't have that pesky day job, it would easily have been finished in one sitting, as I enjoyed it so.

    This is one to read at the fireside and have your dog or cat by your side to let you know if you really should pay attention to the bristling hairs on the back of your neck...

    http://coffeeandabookchick.blogspot.com

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Good read

    I thought this book was well written, it seemed a little slow in parts, but the story kept my attention. I didn't know much about it when I started reading, but now I am a bit more interested in Alaskan folklore. I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    A Good Read

    Not as good as Racing in the Rain but pretty good. Similar style and a quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Well-written, fascinating story

    I'm a big fan of Garth Stein and this book didn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    disapointing

    Maybe it's unfair to judge an author's very first book after reading a later book he penned that was so phenomenal. It was interesting to learn about the Indian culture and beliefs, but the story just wasn't as interesting as The Art of Racing in the Rain. THAT was a really truly great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Can AA be the return of h h our beloved honest reviewer for free cooy and never lower than four?

    Read her review and you ll know if You realky want to read it and it is usualky a turn off

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Raven's Bio Update

    Blessing: Blessed by Aer with sky. Her wings are raven black and that of a raven's but absolutley ginormus. 10 foot wing span stretches one foot over my head.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I picked this book up after reading and falling in love with The

    I picked this book up after reading and falling in love with The Art of Racing in the Rain. The author, Garth Stein, is an extraordinary writer. I just love how he explains things and the flow of his words. I can honestly say that i really didn't know where this book was headed from reading reviews and the synopsis. But i decided to a least give it s chance becasue i like Stein's writing. I MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. At first i was a little confused about what was going on and how everything connected. Then suddenly everything starts to click and i got swept up in this startling, intense, supernatural story. The story kept me guessing. You have to stick with the book to understand. Don't give up 30 pages in, keep reading. Great Story. I love that the story is told in 3rd person. I prefer books like that so we can learn everyone's thoughts.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Racing in the rain

    The movie come out in 2014 read the book and them whatch tha movie 100\5

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Very exciting book

    This book took over my life! I couldn't stop reading it even when I should have been doing other things. I love the voice, and there is never a dull moment in this book. I was totally swept up, and I think you will be too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Snowleopard

    Snowleopard~ lets go back to camp. (G2g. Bye! Be back tommorow.)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Nightkit

    Why did she?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Excellent book. It would make a great scary movie.

    Great read. I could hardly put it down. Loved the indian mysticism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Fascinating!

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a quick read and if you love a mix of adventure, romance, and a little paranormal thrown in, you'll appreciate this novel. I felt like I was there as the descriptions of the surroundings were presented in just enough detail, without feeling overdone. You really felt for the characters and their situations. I love anything to do with Alaska and the native culture. There is a nice blend of these subjects in the storytelling. It gets a little too funky towards the end and you have to suspend reality a bit, but it is certainly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Re-release of Garth Stein's first novel.

    As a follow up to The Art of Racjng in the Rain it disappoints. As a first novel, however, the story is interesting. The prose is simple and many characters lack development. but the story is interesting and moves along.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4