BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Raven Strike (Dreamland Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A thriller full of action

In the throes of a covert operation in Africa the unthinkable happens, a top-secret aircraft the CIA is testing has crashed and must be recovered before it falls into enemy hands.

Colonel Danny Freah is head of the special ops team tasked with the recovery of Raven t...
In the throes of a covert operation in Africa the unthinkable happens, a top-secret aircraft the CIA is testing has crashed and must be recovered before it falls into enemy hands.

Colonel Danny Freah is head of the special ops team tasked with the recovery of Raven the UAV that was downed. Freah and Nuri Lupo a top CIA operative are the first to arrive in Africa to meet with Melissa Ilse who was in charge of the testing. With a nagging feeling that he isn’t being told the whole story about the Raven, Freah heads to the crash site in search of debris, most specifically the computer that was the brains of the Raven.

As the operation goes on, Freah becomes aware that the test flight was actually an illegal mission to assassinate Li Han, technical expert and weapons dealer working with a group of guerillas called the Brotherhood and rumored to have ties to Al Quaida. Li Han gets to the crash site before the special ops team and upon seeing the plane realizes he can sell the technology to the highest bidder, thus begins the race through war torn Africa to find the Raven and thwart Li Han’s efforts.

With the eleventh book in the Dreamland series, Brown and DeFelice continue to wow fans with a thriller full of action. With detailed descriptions of existing and new weaponry, any lover of war and American espionage thrillers will thoroughly enjoy this page-turner.

Reviewed by Jodi Ann Hanson for Suspense Magazine

posted by Jodi_Ann_Hanson on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Dissappointing

Oh Boy!, I told myself. A nice, juicey 409 pages of action! NOT really. There are more that 120 BLANK pages included, with only a chapter number on them, and chapters are all about four pages long! Cheap trick, Dale.

posted by Actioonandy on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dissappointing

    Oh Boy!, I told myself. A nice, juicey 409 pages of action! NOT really. There are more that 120 BLANK pages included, with only a chapter number on them, and chapters are all about four pages long!

    Cheap trick, Dale.

    33 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    You call this a "free friday" book?!

    Give us the first in the series, not the 13th!!

    31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Normally a huge Dale Brown fan, read them all!

    I kept looking at the page numbers dwindle while asking myself how can Dale Brown finish this in so few pages. It's because he did'nt finish! Felt ripped off. Buy a Clive Cussler book, at least you know when the story ends.

    29 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Raven Strike

    Not his best work. Reader left hanging at the end of the book with no indication as to a follow-on to complete the story. All in all, not a bad read but not up to Dale Brown standards.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Blah!

    Another piece of crap " free friday " book! Seems like the one good review came from the writer his/her self! Way to go B and N your selections have hit an all time high of stinkiness! And if I could I would put a negative in front of that star that I was forced to put!!!!

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A thriller full of action

    In the throes of a covert operation in Africa the unthinkable happens, a top-secret aircraft the CIA is testing has crashed and must be recovered before it falls into enemy hands.

    Colonel Danny Freah is head of the special ops team tasked with the recovery of Raven the UAV that was downed. Freah and Nuri Lupo a top CIA operative are the first to arrive in Africa to meet with Melissa Ilse who was in charge of the testing. With a nagging feeling that he isn’t being told the whole story about the Raven, Freah heads to the crash site in search of debris, most specifically the computer that was the brains of the Raven.

    As the operation goes on, Freah becomes aware that the test flight was actually an illegal mission to assassinate Li Han, technical expert and weapons dealer working with a group of guerillas called the Brotherhood and rumored to have ties to Al Quaida. Li Han gets to the crash site before the special ops team and upon seeing the plane realizes he can sell the technology to the highest bidder, thus begins the race through war torn Africa to find the Raven and thwart Li Han’s efforts.

    With the eleventh book in the Dreamland series, Brown and DeFelice continue to wow fans with a thriller full of action. With detailed descriptions of existing and new weaponry, any lover of war and American espionage thrillers will thoroughly enjoy this page-turner.

    Reviewed by Jodi Ann Hanson for Suspense Magazine

    12 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Not good

    I was disappointed. There were a lot of curse words. This book did not really have an ending. I was also upset this was 13th in the series. At least it was free. 409 pages. For mature readers only.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Lousy waste of time. I'dgive it a zero if I could.

    Less than 0!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    What happen? Never had an ending!

    Feel like I just waisted my time. Left you wondering. Had NO closure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Really.

    Where the heck is one to twelve. You cant just give us thirteen.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Meh.

    Nothing spectacular. A lot of erronious material, not that well written. Too many characters, only a handful you care about. Meh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Better than some free books; I wouldn't pay money for it

    This is a fairly good read, but I had some difficulty keeping up with all the characters at times and I thought the book ended very badly. The author seemed to have just gotten tired of the story and quit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Fast paced action

    Ths book starts well into a series and you have to get to know a lot of characters and situations all at once. Once you get your bearings, the story is compelling. It ends abruptly and we'll have to read the next book to see how it all turns out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    so same cruddy book 2 weeks in a row?

    so same cruddy book 2 weeks in a row?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Iys supposed to suck

    Cus its friday the 13th and its book 13

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Liked it

    Good action

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Well written.

    Good read, highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Dragged on in places

    Tried too hard to have too many plot lines and then knit them all together at the end. One of the books that you read and then forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    TO RAVEN

    Please capture and hurt a kit named smallkit use her as your slave bring her so close to death bring her pian but not death i wamt her misreable she is at riddle third result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Raven

    Is that so? She laughed. Well when i was your age i was cursed to be evil. You better stay away from me. She warned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13