BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Raven's Gate (The Gatekeepers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!

This is possibly the best book I have ever read! I coul keep my face out of it! because of this book/series, Anthony Horowitz is my favorite author. I can't get enough of his books!
Anyways...
My feelings about this book are 100% positive. Everything about it is perfe...
This is possibly the best book I have ever read! I coul keep my face out of it! because of this book/series, Anthony Horowitz is my favorite author. I can't get enough of his books!
Anyways...
My feelings about this book are 100% positive. Everything about it is perfect! I mean, i would like to know the full story about what happened that started all of this, but thats what makes it so addicting!
I feel like I can really relate to the main character, Matt. You really get inside his head and you feel what he feels, and you see what he sees. The Author describes everything that is happening so well, you cann see a vivid picture of the scenes! I don't want to gve anything about the book away, but after each triumph or tragedy, the author carries on to the next subject so well.
You should definetly read this, and the ones that follow in the series!

posted by BJR-from-SOA on October 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It wasn't as goood as the other 3 books or the Alex Ryder's series

I am 13 years old and have read almost all of Anthony Horowitz's books, I like his writing skills and techniques but found this one to fall short of his usual abilaities. The setting of this one stayed primarily in one area whereas the other books the character travels ...
I am 13 years old and have read almost all of Anthony Horowitz's books, I like his writing skills and techniques but found this one to fall short of his usual abilaities. The setting of this one stayed primarily in one area whereas the other books the character travels to search for the other gatekkeepers and and in the ALex Ryder series he travels to solve cases of governments agencies.

posted by 1252711 on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!!!

    This is possibly the best book I have ever read! I coul keep my face out of it! because of this book/series, Anthony Horowitz is my favorite author. I can't get enough of his books!
    Anyways...
    My feelings about this book are 100% positive. Everything about it is perfect! I mean, i would like to know the full story about what happened that started all of this, but thats what makes it so addicting!
    I feel like I can really relate to the main character, Matt. You really get inside his head and you feel what he feels, and you see what he sees. The Author describes everything that is happening so well, you cann see a vivid picture of the scenes! I don't want to gve anything about the book away, but after each triumph or tragedy, the author carries on to the next subject so well.
    You should definetly read this, and the ones that follow in the series!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    This book takes place in present day U.K. Most of the book als

    This book takes place in present day U.K. Most of the book also takes place in a little town called Lesser Malling in Yorkshire. In Lesser Malling it seems like the time setting has been pushed back a little because they don't have the normal things that we have in our houses like television or internet access.
    After an incident with his best friend Kevin, Matt is sent into the LEAF project. It's an organization that sends troubled kids to a foster home that will be more tough on him than his normal family was, and it's located in Lesser Malling, which is in about the middle of nowhere. As soon as he gets there, weird things start happening and a man is telling him to get out of Lesser Malling, as soon as he can. He offers to help Matt, but somehow dies. Everyone that tries to help Matt dies.
    Everything leads back to the old nuclear plant, called Omega One. It seems as though the towns people are trying to get it started again, for whatever reason, and Matt's involved with making that happen.
    If you love Sci-Fi, this book is defiantly for you. It's full of things that could never possibly happen in real life, but things that people wonder about. I mean, dinosaurs coming to life in the museum at night when Matt is there? Who knows what goes on in museums after dark? Plus, all the phenomenon about witches is involved, and the mystery of Stonehenge. I absolutely loved this book, I'm a Sci-Fi geek myself. You should defiantly try this book out!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    Numero Uno

    Well what can i say the book was good thought it wasnt by the looks of the cover . Hey at least i learned not to judge a boook by it cover. But yeah i think i might read the whole series. To all u ppl that like reading i believe u should check this book out know wat im sayin.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Spreeha for TeensReadToo.com

    Do you believe in witches or the Old Ones? <BR/><BR/>Matt has been accused of committing a crime which actually he really didn't do. So now he has a choice to either go to jail or stay with an old lady named Mrs. Deverill in a remote area called Lesser Malling because of the government's new law called the LEAF Project. Matt should have chosen jail because he will soon find out that someone is planning something there at Lesser Malling, and Matt is in the middle of all the commotion. <BR/><BR/>Matt's past hasn't been the best. His parents died in a car crash six years ago and he has been living with his mom's stepsister, who doesn't necessarily treat him very well. But Matt has discovered that he has some kind of weird magical power--but doesn't know what it is. <BR/><BR/>When he gets to Mrs. Deverill's house he isn't treated in the best way possible. Even though he thinks the food is good he has to do chores and basically clean up all of Mrs. Deverill's property. After a while he has had enough of this bizarre nonsense and wants to leave, because this was supposed to be a volunteer act. <BR/><BR/>But when he tries to take a bike out to the main road back to Greater Malling and then back to London, every road he takes just brings him back to the place he started from. Well, he went home after that, and thought that he'd try the next day. <BR/><BR/>When coming back to the same spot, a guy named Tom Burgess appears and says he wants to help Matt out because this isn't a safe place to be. He also says that he will explain everything tomorrow at his farm, but what Matt doesn't know is that he will find Tom dead the next day. <BR/><BR/>After Tom's death things got even worse. Mrs. Deverill starts to come out more strongly and everyone that tries to help him get out of this creepy place just ends up dead. Is Matt's new helper bound to turn up dead, too? <BR/><BR/>Find out! Read the book. <BR/><BR/>I think this book is incredible!! Once you start reading you can't stop! This book has a twist at every turn. I recommend this book to anybody interested in books like the Harry Potter series--it's just so magnificent!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    High Recommended - you must check it out!

    My hands were glued to the book! Anthony Horowitz book Raven's Gate was one of the best Supernatural Fiction books I have ever read. Horowitz was born in England to a wealthy Jewish family. He also went to the University of York and graduated with a BA. The theme of the book is to believe in yourself, and to trust your gut.
    The main character is a 14 year-old boy named Matt. He loses his parents at a very young age and is forced to move in with his Aunt Gwenda and her boyfriend. He soon turns to petty crimes, and eventually gets caught and put into the LEAF program. When he arrives to Lesser Malling, he realizes something bad is going on, and is determined to found out what is going on, get out, or both. The book kept me at the edge of my seat. It was very entertaining because of the way it was written. This book makes me wonder what could really be out there. I don't think I will ever endure something like this, but it sure would be interesting if I had to. If you like this kind of genre, go out today and get it! It is that good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    Great book!

    Raven's Gate written by Anthony Horowitz is a very good fictional book. It was entertaining to read because it was suspenseful. It kept me turning the pages, and I am not the kind of person that loves reading. Matt is a boy whose parents dyed in a car accident when he was younger. His whole life revolves around one crime he was accused of doing, and now he is part of a government project where he discovers who he is and the power he has. He stumbles across an evil plan in which he is the central character. He realizes he must stop what's going on or evil will rule our world. Raven's Gate is a thriller and is action-packed throughout the story. It is told in third person limited, so you only follow Matt's thoughts, and the whole book isn't spoiled by what everyone else knows and is thinking. I recommend you read this suspenseful, action-packed book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    Book Review

    This book keeps you reading because of all the suspense and when you think all the action is over it comes back. Also, while your reading you feel like you're the main character Matt. Everything in this book is detailed very nicely and you could imagine a very vivid picture of what is happenening. It would also be a good book to read to make some time pass by. I also would recomend this book to anyone who like to read suspensful and adventurous books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Plot line was Amazing but...

    The Series of The Gatekeepers by Anthony Horowitz starts out with Raven's Gate. This action packed story of Matt was just the beginning of the series. All of the characters made the story more compelling and interesting. With all of the wonderful plot ideas of the 21st century the one thing i didn't like very well was the way the author wrote it. For I wished it captured me from the start. But despite that the 1st installation of the series was great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It wasn't as goood as the other 3 books or the Alex Ryder's series

    I am 13 years old and have read almost all of Anthony Horowitz's books, I like his writing skills and techniques but found this one to fall short of his usual abilaities. The setting of this one stayed primarily in one area whereas the other books the character travels to search for the other gatekkeepers and and in the ALex Ryder series he travels to solve cases of governments agencies.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    SUPPORT FT ISLAND

    okay so total troll
    Ft Island is a kpop band and they're like totally amazing
    And Honggi is like hot and cute at the same time
    They have great voices so check them out!!

    Oh, and this is a great book, Horowitz knows how to write XD

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book had everything. There was so much suspense. It was amazing. I loved every single minute of it! I would recommend this book for ages 13 and up. If you love fantasy with a little bit of science fiction then you should read this. Anthony Horrowitz really knows how to write.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good but...

    A good book alaround but a little hard to follow

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read

    It keeps you on your toes but seems a better read for children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This book was amazing. I read the rest of the series and the last book is coming out soon. Overall it was awesome!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Hollyclaw

    Sitd

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I read the book Raven"s Gate by Anthony Horowitz and it's i

    I read the book Raven&quot;s Gate by Anthony Horowitz and it's is a pretty good book. Anthony Horowitz is an excellent writer and all the books I have read that he has written are great. In the book Raven's Gate, the main character, Matt, get's involved with crime and is arrested. Matt is then submitted to the LEAF Project, a program that gives young criminals a chance to start over. Matt is then sent to Lesser Malling, where Jayne Deverill, Matt's supervisor, looks over Matt. Matt works for Mrs. Deverill for weeks, but finds out very odd things about the farm and the woods around the farm. There are murders, magic, and other intense action in the book Raven's Gate, and i would definitely recommend this book for someone who is looking for another series of books to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Mystery

    I have read Nightrise, not relizing this was a seiries,I went to Necropolis, agian not readimg the books in order, I need to buy all the Horrowitz seiries and read them in order Horrowitz really turns up the action I give my friends advice to read all of his books they say nothing happens they get to the next page they tell me THERE IS SOOOO MUCH ACTION !!!!! I say I told you. They are giving people advice to read these books I really like his books i wil remind myself about his books I wish I could be in his books like be Scarlett Adams, or be someone thaybis a Gate Keeper a new girl. Maybe she could be British and her name could be Hayley James and...... never mind Im talking about the book. I strongly want everyone that can : PLEASE READ THESE BOOKS!!!!!! Thanks for reding this long note *-*

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Very good

    I read this when i was 9 so i didnt really get it but now im 13 so i understand the whole book! I luv the series somuch

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Awesome!!!! :D

    This book is amazing as a mystery and soopky

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Hhhmmmm......

    This book isnt that good but the rest of the series is great. I recommend you get this book from the library and then buy the rest of the books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8