Customer Reviews for

Ravished

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

This is the first book I have read of Amanda Quick's and even though I have read two other books since this book, I still find that I can't get the book off my mind. It was definately a great read. The characters were funny and romantic. Harriet definately demonstrates ...
This is the first book I have read of Amanda Quick's and even though I have read two other books since this book, I still find that I can't get the book off my mind. It was definately a great read. The characters were funny and romantic. Harriet definately demonstrates how a woman should stand behind her man no matter what people think!!

posted by Bubbysgirl87 on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Painfully predictable and dull

After reading the reader reviews for this novel I thought that it would be a good read and a safe purchase. Boy was I wrong. The language was excessively flowery, characters disappointingly underdeveloped and the story was lacking in anything close to passion and was co...
After reading the reader reviews for this novel I thought that it would be a good read and a safe purchase. Boy was I wrong. The language was excessively flowery, characters disappointingly underdeveloped and the story was lacking in anything close to passion and was completely predictable. I know sometimes romance novels can be more fluff than substance and tend to be formulaic, but this novel was laughingly pathetic and at times overly dramatic; reminiscent of a bad daytime soap opera. Despite the tempting title, the story is anything but 'ravishing' and if anyone thinks that the heroine was indeed 'ravished' hasn't read a worthy romance novel. A complete waste of time and money. If you want to read a steamy romance with developed characters and an interesting story plot, try Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series.

posted by booklover88CG on January 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Painfully predictable and dull

    After reading the reader reviews for this novel I thought that it would be a good read and a safe purchase. Boy was I wrong. The language was excessively flowery, characters disappointingly underdeveloped and the story was lacking in anything close to passion and was completely predictable. I know sometimes romance novels can be more fluff than substance and tend to be formulaic, but this novel was laughingly pathetic and at times overly dramatic; reminiscent of a bad daytime soap opera. Despite the tempting title, the story is anything but 'ravishing' and if anyone thinks that the heroine was indeed 'ravished' hasn't read a worthy romance novel. A complete waste of time and money. If you want to read a steamy romance with developed characters and an interesting story plot, try Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Must read !!!! if you love Amanda Quick

    out of all her books this is one of her best !!! This is a book you will re-read again and again. All characters are very well developed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great Read - Cleverly Written

    Amanda Quick is a master at creating three-dimensional heroes, and Gideon Westbrook is no exception. This is a cleverly written story, and includes a generous supply of comedy, danger, and adventure.

    Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This is the first book I have read of Amanda Quick's and even though I have read two other books since this book, I still find that I can't get the book off my mind. It was definately a great read. The characters were funny and romantic. Harriet definately demonstrates how a woman should stand behind her man no matter what people think!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    One word title RAVISHED-One word rating WONDROUS

    I have read all 13 of the one word titles by Amanda Quick. Ravished is offbeat, quirky and definitely marvelous. Harriet is a Regency spinster with a fetish for pre-historic tooth fossils. Her natural honesty and unaffected personality make her irresistible to the world weary and embittered Viscount St. John. Funny, witty and definitely worth the read....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    I was given this book as a gift and I adored it! I love how the

    I was given this book as a gift and I adored it! I love how the heroine isn't the typical ton female and the situations she finds herself in because of her extreme belief in herself. My original copy is starting to fall apart, so I plan to buy it again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Like it

    Great read realky fun

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    love this book

    I have read this book before a few years ago but am about buy it again because I NEED to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Great book

    I loved this book! Great story and ending was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Amanda Quick has done it again! With her dark and dashing hero and bright and intelligent heroin this story makes for a good one. The plot is quickly paced, no boring intros the takes forever to get the point. This story is full of unsuspected twist and turns to keep you reading till the break of dawn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solid Well-Written Romance

    I truly enjoyed this Regency romance, despite it being along marriage of convenience lines. (The marriage of convenience plot is all over the romance genre and a third of the stories on a romance reading list I just worked through fit within the trope.) Written in a fairly clean style, holding point of view and without purple prose--the kind of story that pulls you in and in a few hours you look up blinking having finished the book. The hero is one of those misunderstood men(tm) whose fearsome exterior and reputation hides a decent man. The heroine has a passion for fossils and the underlying biology and geology--and doesn't lose that when she falls for the hero. She sometimes comes across as TSTL, but since it's usually because she's being a complete geek, I forgive it. He's stubborn and she's even more stubborn. I liked that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So Worth It

    Once I purchased this book, I could not put it down. The story was funny and touching at the same time. This story is not a tear jerker, but it did have my side in stitches. I was not disappointed with this or any book that was written by AQ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    A great story - It will make you laugh out loud!

    Wonderful book - you will love the characters. This is the best romance book I have read! You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I've resorted to purchasing Ms. Quick's books as too often they are unavailable at the library due to her many fans sweeping them from the shelves. I brook no complaint about the expense, however, for her books are well worth owning and rereading. Ravished is one of my favorites. Outstanding characterization, plenty of humor and wit. Exactly the sort of persons I like to spend my time with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    There Just Isn't a Bad Amanda Quick Book!

    A co-worker introduced me to Amanda years ago and with the exception of the newer one or two, I have them all. I read them over and over again! This happens to be one of my favorite. Then again, they are all my favorites. Even when some of the heroines seem ditzy, they are strong capable women and I like that best of all. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2004

    NUMBER 1 ROMANCE BOOK

    I'm a fan of Ms. Quick. I can't count the number of times I reread her books. They're just so good that once is never enough for me. The special feature in her plots I love the most is the heroine's faith in the hero. In Ravished, the scene where Harriet stands up defending him against the old man is so sweet. It makes me jeolous, not in a bad way though. To have somebody believes in you that much; no matter what other people say his or her faith is unchange would be wonderful. If you have a chance, pick up her other books, you'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    GREAT STUFF!! BEST QUICK BOOK

    This is a fantastic read. It has a very likeable hero (wrongfully accused of bad stuff), a sweet lady who is more interested in fossels than her reputation, and a very nasty handsome man. I love it when the average looking charaters with beautiful character get together and make a family. This book has all that. Suspense (a thief ring), romance-sweet couple who learn to really love each other, and retribution for the nasty one. I can read this one alot. I gave it to my local library since they did not have it. It is checked out regularly (hard to get it when I want it). I am so happy since others can enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    My favorit Quick book ever

    I think this is the best Amanda Quick book that she has ever written. This is one that I always pull of the shelf if I am in the mood for a little pick-me-up. My copy is all worn out do to the many times I have read it. Read this and you will become an instant Quick fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7