BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ravished by a Highlander (Children of the Mist Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading

Excellent story! Even the critiques I think I want to say won't form; the story flows very well, the characters are quite likeable, and the romance isn't too sappy; fair amount of fighting but not too much; Robert and Davina fit perfectly-gotta love her intrigue with hi...
Excellent story! Even the critiques I think I want to say won't form; the story flows very well, the characters are quite likeable, and the romance isn't too sappy; fair amount of fighting but not too much; Robert and Davina fit perfectly-gotta love her intrigue with his bared torso! The cost for this book is fair as it isn't terribly long while containg enough length to be enjoyable, and not feel cheated; I wouldn't have objected to a bit more to resolve the question of the bairn, but finished the book wanting to read more from this author-even being torn between reading more of this serious and not wanting to read more so I can savor this one a little longer

posted by 6497650 on February 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Slow Start, Nice Finish!

You know I love my highlanders; nothing's sexier than an alpha male with a brogue and a kilt!

As Ravished by a Highlander begins, we meet Davina Montgomery - she's been disguised as a novice at a convent in England. She's been there since birth, and for the last 4 ye...
You know I love my highlanders; nothing's sexier than an alpha male with a brogue and a kilt!

As Ravished by a Highlander begins, we meet Davina Montgomery - she's been disguised as a novice at a convent in England. She's been there since birth, and for the last 4 years her main companion and friend has been Captain Asher, leader of the men assigned to protect her.

Robert MacGregor is the son of a highland laird, and he and his brothers are on their way to meet his father at the coronation of the new king. As they are riding, they come upon the convent under attack. They join in the conflict, and as Asher lays dying, he begs Robert to save her and keep her safe. Against his better judgement, Rob agrees to the dying man's wishes. He doesn't know who she is or why she needs protecting, but he is a man of his word.

After many stops and surprises (some pleasant, some unpleasant), they decide to go to Robert's home on Skye, where he knows he can protect her against any intruders. Although she has kept her identity from him, he has figured it out and knows how dangerous it will be to protect her. Robert understands the weight of the responsibility he is undertaking, but he finds he cares about her, and will do anything to keep her safe and near him.


My thoughts:

I enjoyed this book. For much of the first half I was a bit frustrated - it was hinted at many, many times that she had a secret identity and if anyone found out trouble would ensue. But once the storyline kept moving, and her identity was revealed to the reader, I enjoyed it more. There was a lot of political intrigue, but I was able to keep all the parties separate and it was not hard to follow. I'll admit I was surprised at who the traitor was.

The scenes that took place once they reached Rob's castle were the ones that drew me in. The images of the castle, and the surrounding countryside were wonderful. I liked that we were able to see a more playful side of Davina, it made her a more engaging character. Rob is just delicious! His scenes with Davina were so sexy and tender; I wanted this HEA for them and I didn't see how it was going to work out!

I also enjoyed reading about Rob's family; I liked his aunts and cousins. I was especially captivated by his brothers and brothers-in-arms; they were quite entertaining and I hope they all get their own stories.

So, after a slow start I did really enjoy the 2nd half of this book and am looking forward to the next book in this series - Seduced by a Highlander, which IS about one of Rob's brothers :)

I give Ravished by a Highlander 3 1/2 stars!

posted by BookAddictPatti on June 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Slow Start, Nice Finish!

    You know I love my highlanders; nothing's sexier than an alpha male with a brogue and a kilt!

    As Ravished by a Highlander begins, we meet Davina Montgomery - she's been disguised as a novice at a convent in England. She's been there since birth, and for the last 4 years her main companion and friend has been Captain Asher, leader of the men assigned to protect her.

    Robert MacGregor is the son of a highland laird, and he and his brothers are on their way to meet his father at the coronation of the new king. As they are riding, they come upon the convent under attack. They join in the conflict, and as Asher lays dying, he begs Robert to save her and keep her safe. Against his better judgement, Rob agrees to the dying man's wishes. He doesn't know who she is or why she needs protecting, but he is a man of his word.

    After many stops and surprises (some pleasant, some unpleasant), they decide to go to Robert's home on Skye, where he knows he can protect her against any intruders. Although she has kept her identity from him, he has figured it out and knows how dangerous it will be to protect her. Robert understands the weight of the responsibility he is undertaking, but he finds he cares about her, and will do anything to keep her safe and near him.


    My thoughts:

    I enjoyed this book. For much of the first half I was a bit frustrated - it was hinted at many, many times that she had a secret identity and if anyone found out trouble would ensue. But once the storyline kept moving, and her identity was revealed to the reader, I enjoyed it more. There was a lot of political intrigue, but I was able to keep all the parties separate and it was not hard to follow. I'll admit I was surprised at who the traitor was.

    The scenes that took place once they reached Rob's castle were the ones that drew me in. The images of the castle, and the surrounding countryside were wonderful. I liked that we were able to see a more playful side of Davina, it made her a more engaging character. Rob is just delicious! His scenes with Davina were so sexy and tender; I wanted this HEA for them and I didn't see how it was going to work out!

    I also enjoyed reading about Rob's family; I liked his aunts and cousins. I was especially captivated by his brothers and brothers-in-arms; they were quite entertaining and I hope they all get their own stories.

    So, after a slow start I did really enjoy the 2nd half of this book and am looking forward to the next book in this series - Seduced by a Highlander, which IS about one of Rob's brothers :)

    I give Ravished by a Highlander 3 1/2 stars!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Worth reading

    Excellent story! Even the critiques I think I want to say won't form; the story flows very well, the characters are quite likeable, and the romance isn't too sappy; fair amount of fighting but not too much; Robert and Davina fit perfectly-gotta love her intrigue with his bared torso! The cost for this book is fair as it isn't terribly long while containg enough length to be enjoyable, and not feel cheated; I wouldn't have objected to a bit more to resolve the question of the bairn, but finished the book wanting to read more from this author-even being torn between reading more of this serious and not wanting to read more so I can savor this one a little longer

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Amazing book! I loved Laird of the Mist and A Highlander Never S

    Amazing book! I loved Laird of the Mist and A Highlander Never Surrenders and was not disappointed by how Paula continued the story with the next generation of characters! Robert is my favorite leading man. Exciting, romantic,  adventurous, what's not to love? 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    OK book could have been better

    I thought that this book was good but the previous book Laird of the Mists was a million times better. At some points the dialogue was hard to follow and the plot over-dramatic. This book is not Paula Quinn's best but it is a good beach-read if you want a light book. I thought that it definitely could have been much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Another Great Book

    Read Laird of the Mist and Seduced by a Highlander first before you start Children of the Mist because you will not enjoy all the cross over character's as much. Loved the story of Rob and Davina. They both knew what they wanted and gave it there all. So much suspense and twists that I read it in one day and even peeked at the ending because I couldn't take wondering what was happening. Can't go wrong with buying this book. Does start out slow, but picks up speed fast. (Ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    4.5 Stars if I could. I put off reading this book simply because

    4.5 Stars if I could. I put off reading this book simply because of the title. I even forgot I had purchased it well over a year ago
     and it was sitting in my to read pile collecting dust. Not even thinking I had just read PQ's two books that spurred this series. And I
    liked the MacGregors, but I wasn't rushing to move on in the series. It just so happened I ended my last book and it was late so
     I just wanted something to take my mind off the Sunday evening blues thinking it to be a quick read. I clearly did not think I would
    like the book as much as I did, but to my surprised I really really did. It was truly entertaining, engaging and addicting. Robert was
    a to-die-for hero, and while Davina was not my typical heroine, I think she was perfect for him. The plot was strong and the ending
     was well delivered, and did not disappoint. The first love scene was up there with some of my favorites, loved what he said to her!!
    Very hot. PQ did great with the chemistry of these two characters. I loved that all the characters from the MacGregor's Series were
    brought back in this and at full character strength and interaction, not just a mention here or there. This book was much better to me
     than the first two, but I would not suggest reading this unless you have read them.
    They were both good to be sure, but this one, for whatever reason, really rocked me. Damn why couldn't he be real!!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    I really enjoyed meeting the second generation MacGregors .

    I really enjoyed meeting the second generation MacGregors .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Must read

    Found my new favorite author loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A winner!

    Review by Jen: When Paula Quinn asked me if I wanted to read Ravished by a Highlander, I jumped at the chance. I've been wanting to read Paula's books and I love highlander stories. And let me tell you, this book did not disappoint.

    I adored the characters of Robert and Davina. Robert is that fantasy highlander... powerful and strong, yet loving and tender and willing to do anything to protect his woman. Davina is a woman with a very important secret... and a woman with men hunting her. Even the secondary characters were interesting, all the way down to a very despicable villain.

    The book is action packed from page one, with twists and turns abounding. I was immediately drawn into the story and didn't want to put the book down until I read the last word. This is the first book in a new series revolving around Robert and his brothers. I am very much looking forward to the next book and hope it is another winner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poor Audio Match

    I love a well written highlander tale and will often relisten to a good one several times a year. This one is on it's 2nd listen in a year, and I have the same opinion of it as I did the first time. The story is fine, and the sequel (Seduced by a Highlander)is also fine. However, the actress that narriates the two stories (Carrington MacDuffie) may have the right surname, but she is obviously American, or at least raised with a particular midwest accent. None of the Highlander or English accents are well done and the entire cast of the book is Scotish or English and it's rather painful to listen to. Sometimes it even seems as though she forgets that she is supposed to be doing an accent at all. Customers that purchase audio books pay a premium for them *because they have been performed. It seems to me that if those of us that do pay that premium should be treated to a decently done accent when one is required, as well as a fairly decent range of voices for different characters. I've listened to other books performed by MacDuffie and they are not as difficult to listen to as these two particular performances. If Brilliance Audio had a comments page, I would post this there, but since they don't, I'm just going to warn those that look for audio reviews that these two are not worth the extra money to get them in audio form. Audio Book Addict

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Love this series!

    I am now a fan of Paula Quinn! This series is a great read! Cant wait to read the next books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    You must read this book

    This is a wonderful story and the whole series is great. I could not wait to read each book in the series. This is a great love story. I love all stories about the Highlands and this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Great Romantic Escape

    Paula Quinn's novels are a great taste of historical romance! She wraps you in a fictional story set within the history of the time. She adds mystery and intrigue to every one of her books. I have read several of her stories, and not one has failed to suck me in! The characters are the kind that you can actually feel for and become involved with. You begin to feel the emotions and the turmoil!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Great series

    What a great book. I love all them. Great highland series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Best Highlander romance book ever! Rob and Davina are simply per

    Best Highlander romance book ever! Rob and Davina are simply perfect together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good Highlander Series

    This book was quite good. I liked the relationship between Rob and Davinia and how truly devoted he was. It has a good amount of action as well and kept the story really flowing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    LOVED it!!!

    I so enjoyed this story line, I couldn't put the book down. I like the way this author writes. She doesn't make her characters say stupid things and they were very enjoyable. However, she did name a lot of different characters and I got lost a couple of times. But it didn't stop me from reading it and now I am ready to buy the next book in this series. Thank goodness for my nook, I don't have to wait to go to the book store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love those Irish Highlanders

    Story was well developed, serious yet playful. Love how the love interest is the one getting the guy to be playful. Starts out with with action, ends with lots of action. A great romantic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Loved it!

    Such a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Loved it!

    Started a tiny bit slow but i always love a book thats characters become so alive and so loved that you physically cry and feel genuine heartbreak for them when someone is trying to Rip them apart. This is one of thise books. I wanted to scream into my nook and join the melay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10