Customer Reviews for

Raw: The Uncook Book: New Vegetarian Food for Life

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

best cookboook for healthy living

this book is very simple to cook and still very delicious. I like the fact that this book focus on vital vegan food. I recomand this book to everyone who is into healthy living.

posted by Anonymous on May 3, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too difficult!

All the recipes sound delicious and awesome but I haven't tried about 90% of them because they are too difficult. The recipes require too many ingredients or require ingredients I have never even heard of or require an appliance I don't have.

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Too difficult!

    All the recipes sound delicious and awesome but I haven't tried about 90% of them because they are too difficult. The recipes require too many ingredients or require ingredients I have never even heard of or require an appliance I don't have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Great for cooks, bad for ordinary people

    I'm sure this is a fabulous book for someone who already eats raw foods and is looking for tastier recipes (which equals more time, more appliances). But for a beginner like me, I was so completely overwhelmed by this book that I decided eating raw would be WAY too much work. Now, a year later, I'm ready to find easier recipes so I can actually try this raw food thing out. Maybe I'll get back to this book when I become a raw food expert.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2001

    best cookboook for healthy living

    this book is very simple to cook and still very delicious. I like the fact that this book focus on vital vegan food. I recomand this book to everyone who is into healthy living.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    The Dehydrator Cookies are Awesome!!!!

    The cookies alone are worth buying this book for! They're ingeniously made with grated and pureed apples, and they're delicious! Juliano is The Man!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    To much work

    This book sounds wonderful, but I'd have to quit my job to have the time to create these dishes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    rawsome!!!!

    this book has helped my mon and i to really expand our horizons about what eating raw can really mean! love the guacamole!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Recipes are too difficult

    This book has amazing recipes that SOUND delicious but they are sooo much trouble to make! Each recipe calls for so many ingredients and preparation ahead of time. Many ingredients are not found in your regular food stores too. It's great to prepare for a special occasion but for everyday cooking it's just too tedious and difficult. I wouldn't recommend this book as it will most likely just sit on your shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    FANTASTIC!

    This book is fantastic! I've only had it about a month but have tried about a quarter of the recipes in the book and haven't found a single one yet that isn't fabulous! I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone, it will make a believer of faw foods out of anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Simply the BEST

    The best Raw Food book on the market!!!Juliano rules!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful 2nd Raw Cookbook

    This raw food cookbook is absolutely wonderful. It is written well and had incredible recipes in it. This is not the first cookbook I would recommend if you have never cooked raw foods before since it is a little more indepth. With wonderful pictures and interesting writing, Juliano does an incredible job getting you excited about the foods you are making. The only drawback is that many of the recipes require other recipes (also found in the book) to be made first. So advance planning is a must here. As with most raw food uncooking it is important to remember to leave time for your meal preparation. Although most recipes are really quick to put together some do take additional time for dehydration or spouting. The directions are clearly written and interesting if you just want to read. I would recommend this to anyone who is familiar with and would like to expand their raw food library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    Okay

    I thought it was a great read.... but I was under the impression that it was more of a vegitarian cookbook... and while it still provides recipes for raw foods... you don't really need a book for that... It's great for ideas, but I would suggest just checking it out from a library rather than buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    Yum!!! While many of the recipes require a little forethought, we haven't encountered anything we couldn't do with a food processor, a blender and an oven on warm. Many of the recipes are now staples in our house (raw marinara, carrot cake, etc.)

    In late July, my husband & I started on the pH miracle diet (Dr. Robert Young) which stresses lots of veggies, sprouts and a mostly alkaline diet.
    While not all of the ingredients in RAW are alkaline, a vast majority are. We've enjoyed trying the recipes and experimenting with variations more in line with the pH diet (Liquid Aminos instead of Nama Shoyu, lemon or lime juice instead of vinegar, etc.).

    I agree that sprouting the grains and seeds takes some planning and forethought. But we haven't bought any new equipment to make the recipes in this book.

    We have the raw marinara about once a week - some times with the raw pasta, sometimes with quinoa pasta and sometimes with spaghetti squash. The carrot cake recipe is awesome and was on our Thanksgiving menu this year (but it does take longer than 15 minutes to make - the prep times are generally how long it takes to put the ingredients together after you've done all the mincing and dicing.


    The most challenging thing we've tried was the cheese burger - it was incredible - but we had to start about 3 or 4 days in advance in order to get everything sprouted and dried for final assembly.

    The instructions are simple and easy to follow. The burgers didn't require any single long period of time, just a few minutes on 4 consecutive days.

    I am thoroughly enjoying the book and am looking forward to trying Juliano's restaurant on my next trip to California.

    Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1