Customer Reviews for

Raw Edges

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Sandra Bricker has done an amazing job with her book Raw Edges.

    Sandra Bricker has done an amazing job with her book Raw Edges. While still embracing her creative style of wit and humor, in this book she also clearly shows her huge heart for those affected by ovarian cancer. Raw Edges is beautifully written with tenderness and sensitivity as the story tells of Sadie and her eagerness to be a part of the Ovacome support group and how in the process her dad finds healing as well.

    Raw Edges is part of the Quilts of Love series. I am not a quilter, nor am I crafty in any way, however, I was surprised that by the end of the book, I thought perhaps I should try my hand at some simple quilting! This is referred to in the book as the "fever."

    One of my favorite aspects of the book is the journal that Jenna, Sadie's mother, left for her. Knowing that her daughter would still need her love and wisdom, Jenna wrote a journal for Sadie that gives her encouragement, laughter and motherly wisdom. The chapters begin with different excerpts that Jenna has written to Sadie.

    Of course, when reading this book, your heart is opened and turned towards those that ovarian cancer has affected. Overall, this is a wonderful and touching book, that not only raises awareness about this cancer, but also gives hope to families and survivors as they move forward with life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    In short, AMAZING AWESOMENESS that will make you laugh, cry, bui

    In short, AMAZING AWESOMENESS that will make you laugh, cry, build an outdoor pizza oven, and stay up late to finish this heartwarming funny read! The book goes beyond an engaging well-written story. It also raises awareness of ovarian cancer and the support systems available to both the patient and the family. It also gives a realistic view of surviving the diagnosis, treatment, triumph and loss that occurs with a cancer diagnosis. Don't let the fact that a central factor of the book is cancer! The book has a match making daughter, a series of life lessons/motherly advice, a new craft, and even hair advice. In all fairness, I feel the need to warn that after reading this book you may want to run a 5K, make a quilt, cook beef stew. Sandra D. Bricker has done it again...caused me to read a book in 1 sitting AND add the book to my rotation of re-reads. (At the time of this review the book has been read in full twice and bits & pieces several times). Get a copy today with no regrets!!! I was lucky to receive an advance copy of Sandra D. Bricker's Raw Edges: Quilts of Love Series in exchange for a true and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series by Sandra D. Bricker A brillia

    Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series by Sandra D. Bricker
    A brilliant story about the loss cancer causes. In preparation of her final days Jenna McDonough writes a journal for her daughter Sadie. This treasure is full of words to give peace, inspiration and love, a keepsake that will be treasured forever. Her husband Gary faithfully reads it to her. After the passing of her mother, Sadie and her father receive an invitation to attend an ovarian cancer support group meeting. Gary goes with her because he knows it may help. There they meet a great group of ladies preparing to make a memory quilt. By attending, Gary got more than he could have imagined. There he meets Annabelle Curtis, a cancer survivor, organizing the memory quilt project for the Ovacome support group. Somehow she gets both him and Sadie involved in the project. This story gives hope to the grieving. The author Sandra Bricker will have you laughing out loud, crying and smiling throughout the whole book. I especially loved the journal and the scripture it had, I thought this was a wonderful gift to leave behind for our loved ones. The death of a loved one is hard enough, but to me is even harder when you leave behind young children. This book touches on many painful and joyful things we experience with loss, feelings of grief, raising children as a single parent, moving on in life, and dating. As cancer touches many of our lives this book will give hope and inspiration to the hurting. I highly recommend this book. Sandra D. Bricker touched some tough subjects with sensitivity, grace and integrity. To think a book on such a hard subject could have a blessedly happy ending. I would like to thank the author and publisher for writing and bringing good clean Christian books to readers like me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Rarely does a book capture my attention before I've finished rea

    Rarely does a book capture my attention before I've finished reading the prologue! Most often it takes
    at least the second chapter or more before I'm really hooked. My heart swelled with emotion for the
    characters and I felt like I had a personal involvement. And in a way I do...we all do, as each one of us
    knows or knows of someone that has fought or is fighting a battle with cancer. I was especially touched
    with the journal that Jenna left behind for her daughter Sadie.

    Each night Grayson reads to their daughter an entry from the journal, each one ending with a special
    Bible scripture to go along with whatever wisdom she wanted to impart. I love how each chapter of this
    wonderfully written book is dedicated to one of the journal entries! One of my favorite journal entries to
    Sadie, Jenna writes "But after some time has passed, I don’t want you and Daddy doing the sad thing
    anymore. I want you to get out there in the world and meet new people, do new things, and make some
    new memories. It doesn’t mean I won’t be in your hearts anymore. It just means that you haven’t
    surrendered to the sadness."
     
    If you're a quilter or just love quilts, you're going to love this book even more! If you've been wanting to
    learn, then don't be surprised if you "catch the fever!" Every handmade quilt always has a story to tell
    and in this book, the quilt celebrates the lives of those who have lost, are still fighting, or have won the
    battle against ovarian cancer and how a real life group called Ovacome, dedicated to saving lives by
    educating the community about these diseases and supporting those patients, survivors and spouses
    affected by gynecologic cancers put together a beautiful quilt to raise awareness.

    And it is through the Ovacome memory quilt project, that nine-year-old Sadie and her dad Grayson
    meet Annabelle. Will this quilt project help heal Grayson's grief stricken heart so that he can find love
    again? Will precious Sadie's laughter and her fun and silly side emerge again? Can Annabelle learn to trust in
    love again? 

    I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of Sandra D. Bricker's Raw Edges. While I have
    enjoyed every book of Sandra's that I've read, Raw Edges has become my absolute favorite!
    Beware, tissue box may be needed as you smile through your tears. Heartwarming, heartfelt and
    so inspiring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Sandra D. Bricker is known for her humor and I was curious to se

    Sandra D. Bricker is known for her humor and I was curious to see how that would work in a book about ovarian cancer. She did a wonderful job. It was a touching story about a serious subject, but the humor was also there. I fell in love with the characters and I thought the way she had entries from the mother's diary to her daughter was a great way to get to know that character. It made me laugh. It made me cry. It was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Another amazing read! Sandie Bricker has a way of bringing humor

    Another amazing read! Sandie Bricker has a way of bringing humor, inspiration and beauty to any of her stories, but this book has coupled those 3 elements with a heartwarming subject  as love in the midst of ovarian cancer. With a gentle approach, she sheds light on where a person's heart is through the midst of tragic circumstances and dares you to see the beauty in it all! This book is perfect!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended --- A must read!!

    Everyone of Sandra Bricker's books are beautifully written and this one is no different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    Oh my! I knew that Sandie wrote funny books, but I didn't know s

    Oh my! I knew that Sandie wrote funny books, but I didn't know she could write funny books that would tug my heartstrings like Raw Edges did! Raw Edges introduces readers to four of the most lovable characters I've read about in a long time. Gray and Sadie are still reeling from the loss of their wife and mother a year earlier. Annabelle is dedicating her time to volunteer for Ovacome, a support group that helped her through the worst time in her life. And Miss Essie is encouraging all three of them as they try to move on from the cancer that tried to steal the joy from their lives. The characters were so fun that they felt like friends. I also loved the idea of telling a story through a quilt. It was fun to see everyone get caught up in the project and the project move them toward deeper relationships with one another.

    There were a few times that I wished for a little more. For instance, was the fact that Annabelle was an ovarian cancer survivor (the same disease that killed Gray's wife) not a problem for him as he began falling for her? Surely it was. But those little things were just that ... little. Most of the time, though, I wanted more because I just loved the story so much and wasn't ready for it to be over.

    From start to finish this books was charming and I was totally caught up in it. As I finished Raw Edges in the wee hours of the morning, I turned the last page with a satisfied sigh. Bricker outdid herself! I would say this is my favorite of hers so far! [4.5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Abingdon Press and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Grayson McDonough wished that they made something like bias tape

    Grayson McDonough wished that they made something like bias tape to fix the raw edges in his own life. After spending more than a year dealing with the loss of his wife Jenna to Ovarian Cancer, he still couldn't find a way to move forward. It seems that it was easier for his young nine-year-old daughter, Sadie and reading the journal her mother left her with life lessons made those days easier to manage. Even though she missed her mother deeply, the words she penned in the journal offering snippets of wisdom, advice and even insights into her dad enabled Sadie to believe that her mother was still a part of their lives, if she could only get her dad to read it.

    It seems like they need a door to open and the invitation came in the form of a quilting group through a cancer support group known as Ovacome. The young women running the project, Annabelle Curtis knows how much cancer can affect the family. Not only just the families dealing with the loss of a loved one, but also for survivors like herself. In Annabelle's situation her future was dashed when she learned she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and had to undergo a hysterectomy that resulted in her fiancè calling off their wedding and also their relationship in favor of someone who could have children.

    Now that Sadie has been drawn to helping put together a quilt of scraps of fabric from those who had loss a loved one to cancer and also those who are survivors, she forms a connection with Annabelle that helps her move forward in her own life, finding joy in the simple ways of simply spending time enjoying life instead of merely getting by. Slowly over the course of the novel, Gray has no choice but to get involved since Sadie needs transportation to get to the quilting meetings and soon finds himself working on a project to help benefit the sale of the quilt. Along the way, he realizes that even though life is hard to get through on some days, his wife Jenna left behind a legacy that will last forever.

    I received Raw Edges by Sandra D. Bricker compliments of Abingdon Press and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. This is such a poignant story to read and you can't help but get emotionally involved not only in Sadie and Gray's situation but also Annabelle's story as a survivor. It really is about healing and dealing with the loss of broken hearts and shows that time will slowly allow those wounds to heal but those memories we create will truly last a lifetime. This is my first novel with Sandra D. Bricker and I will be on the lookout for more of her books. She invests the time to entice the reader to become a part of the story and for that reason I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. This novel is part of the Quilts of Love Series and can be read in any order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

     I'm a big fan of Sandra D. Bricker's books and I really enjoyed

     I'm a big fan of Sandra D. Bricker's books and I really enjoyed this sweet story about Jenna, her daughter Sadie and her husband Gray.
     About a year after Jenna passes away, Sadie and her father receive a card in the mail from Ovacome   (a Cancer support group in their
     area ).  Sadie wants to join the group and help with the memory quilt that they are making, and when she and her father attend
     their first Ovacome meeting and meet Annabelle..they both realize how much this support group will help them. 

    Sadie really likes Annabelle, and I like the way that she forms a friendship with her right away.  
    The author combines the topics of Cancer, losing a loved one, moving on with life and making a memory quilt into a heartfelt story
     that will leave you smiling, laughing and maybe shedding a tear or two...I loved the journal entries and Bible verses from Jenna to Sadie at the end of each chapter, they are so sweet and uplifting!   
    I recommend this book to everyone that loves touching heartfelt stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    Sandie Bricker has done it again!! Raw Edges has once again make

    Sandie Bricker has done it again!! Raw Edges has once again make it's mark in the category of outstanding fiction. This book is written in such a way that you can not help but fall in love with the characters. With September being Ovarian Cancer Month this book embraces in Sandie's unique way of weaving a story in a way that you feel as if you are apart of their family and can feel how lives are changed once one is diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer. You meet Grayson and Sadie who are working thru the loss of their wife/mother who they lost to this horrible disease and a women named Annabelle who thru an organization called Ovacome they are brought together with a quilt and the story of hope, healing is interweaved in such a way that you come away with either wanting to start quilting or help Ovacome make a different in the lives of the women in your home town. I encourage you to read this book but be warned you may just come down with the quilting fever I know I did!!! This book deserves so much more htan 5 starts and i know each one that reads it will feel the same way. This is A Must Read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I've been a fan of Sandra Bricker's work for a while now, and wh

    I've been a fan of Sandra Bricker's work for a while now, and when I learned that she was writing a book that encompassed two of my passions, Ovarian Cancer Awareness and Quilting, I knew that I had to read this book. As a member of the "Launch Team" for the book, I was sent an advanced copy of the book to read and review.

    I immediately fell in love with this book in the Prologue. The way the characters are developed makes you feel that you are right there with them in the story, and you feel every emotion that they feel.

    "Raw Edges" documents the making of a memory quilt for a Tampa, Florida Ovarian Cancer Support group called Ovacome. They are making the quilt to raise funds and awareness for this silent and deadly disease. Facts and statistics to help raise awareness are interwoven in this story. The quilting aspect is spot on too.

    Even if you are not into quilting, or have no desire to raise awareness for Ovarian Cancer, this book is a great love story... of a young widower, who is faced with the decision to move on shortly after his wife's death. It is a story of blending families. A story of faith.
    I would definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    RAW EDGES is a heart warming, heart breaking story. This book m

    RAW EDGES is a heart warming, heart breaking story. This book makes you want to grab a box of tissues and laugh out loud at the same time. This story is about a woman battling with Ovarian Cancer and how she helps her family move on after she is gone through her own words in her journal to her daughter. It is a wonderful story, beautifully written. Curl up with an old quilt and enjoy the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    This a another hit for Snadra Bricker. A lilltle different then


    This a another hit for Snadra Bricker. A lilltle different then what we expect from Ms. Bricker, but neverless she all brought her all and we are the winners. She has given us a book the has her signture lauhgter and now she has given us healing tears. All of us have seen memories quilts, and now Sandra make it real. The real life Ovacome Support Group and fictional characters bring us the heartening romance about the healing and memories in a quilt. bring your book, bring your tissues, bring you favorite quilt and find a sweet space and get ready for one of the best books that have been wriiten about cancer and quilting and romance. Quilts, little girls, finding love again makes for a great book.
    The real life support group Ovacome make this book connect

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    "Raw Edges" deals with tough subject of cancer and has

    "Raw Edges" deals with tough subject of cancer and has a lot of quilting tied in throughout. Even though I am not into quilting it was an excellent book! Like all of the other books I've read by Sandra, this book had plenty of laugh-out-loud moments. Be ready to cry, laugh, and smile.

    Sandra did an amazing job, as always, developing the characters in this book. I fell head-over-heels in love with little Sadie!

    I've read several of Sandra's books and this is my favorite so far!! Bravo to Sandra, another job well done!

    *I received an advanced electronic copy of this book to read and review. This review is based on my honest opinion of this book.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1