Customer Reviews for

The Raw Shark Texts

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

I find it strange that there are no comments or reviews about this LOVE story. haha. What I mean to say is that this book is one of the greatest and most tragic love stories I've ever read. Maybe it's lacking on the romance as far as most love stories go. However, ...
I find it strange that there are no comments or reviews about this LOVE story. haha. What I mean to say is that this book is one of the greatest and most tragic love stories I've ever read. Maybe it's lacking on the romance as far as most love stories go. However, it still is a testament to the bond that is shared and the devastation caused when you lose that bond(in this case because of death). I absolutely loved this book. Not your typical thriller, not your typical love story.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

you should know what you're getting into

honestly - i got this book on a b&n recommended stand. i decided to get it based on reviews from the front cover and the vague description. little did i know the ridiculousness i was about to read. parts were sweet, i did enjoy recollections by eric about his love... un...
honestly - i got this book on a b&n recommended stand. i decided to get it based on reviews from the front cover and the vague description. little did i know the ridiculousness i was about to read. parts were sweet, i did enjoy recollections by eric about his love... unfortunately the rest of it was totally unexpected and unwanted. its like picking up a book expecting a love story and getting an erotic novel. the whole thing is a metaphor - i guess - and complete off-the-wall "science fiction"-ish? maybe i was dumb and not to say the writing wasn't good, but i had know idea the book wouldn't include an actual shark. EVERYONE SHOULD KNOW: THIS BOOK INCLUDES A "MIND/MEMORY-EATING" SHARK. IT INVOLVES CAGES, LITTERALLY MADE OF STORY BOOKS, OTHER PEOPLES MAIL, AND VOICE RECORDINGS OF PEOPLE YOU DON'T KNOW. THIS IS NOT A NORMAL, "COULD HAPPEN" STORY. anyways, for some, whatever read it. i just wouldn't have had i known.

posted by 986106 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Raw Shark Texts

    If you were to take the love child from a Alex Garland, David Mitchell and Mark Z. Danielewski threesome, say¿¿The Beach¿, ¿Number 9 Dream¿ and ¿House of Leaves¿ respectively, then the product of it would probably be ¿The Raw Shark Texts¿. There is no doubt that for his debut novel Hall has borrowed heavily, in my opinion mostly from Danielewski, and he has taken the elements that he appreciated from other authors and given it his own creative, ambitious twist, to make of this thriller something that is conceptually amazing, albeit abstract and difficult to approach.<BR/><BR/>If you are a fan of the clear cut story with simple to follow plots and entirely grounded themes, then I will let you know now not to come anywhere close to this book. If you however have enjoyed the work of any of the authors mentioned above or even the work of Italo Calvino (particularly ¿If On A Winter¿s Night A Tarveler¿¿) then this book is going to take you for a wild ride.<BR/><BR/>Eric Sanderson wakes up one day not knowing where he is, who he is and why he is there, having only letters sent to him by a past self with a series of instructions to try to help him determine who he is. You see, Eric suffers from a condition that began shortly after a boating accident that claimed the love of his life, which wipes out chunks of his memory, time and time again, each time erasing more and more of his former life. This is Eric Sanderson number 11. And just when it may seem that you have a handle on that, the weirdness comes, shaking things all over and making somewhat of a mess. There is the Ludovician, which threatens Eric with never making it to his 12th `rebirth¿ from amnesia, there is his run into unspace guided by pixie-ish Scout and then there is the entire last third of the book which asks you to exercise your pretend bone, one which most of us forget to use after the age of ten.<BR/><BR/>If that makes absolutely no sense, do not worry, it all does as you read the book and it does in a fashion that is fast paced and engaging. Raw Shark reads like a thriller, but requires a lot of imagination from the reader, to tell a vivid story of a man in the run not from killers, not from concrete evil, but rather conceptual evil which is the product of a mad man¿s quest for eternal life. Needless to say, while some of the readers (such as me) will eat this up with a spoon, this will also upset and frustrate the majority. Hall has tackled an inventive story and as mentioned above, ambitous, but he is still not exactly polished. Here and there his characters will falter and a few strings are left untied. For that reason, while I enjoy the work that was written here and would definitely read it again, I do not consider it as good as ¿Could Atlas¿ or ¿House of Leaves¿ which take the time to close all the small gaps and answer the important questions pertinent to the plot.<BR/><BR/>Is this an abandoned island book? For me, yes, but I will say that most people will not agree with me here. In the end, if you are up for an experimental, imagination defying read, this one is for you. If you like your books off the Oprah list, then look further down my list of reviewed books, this one is not going to be one of them. And for the record, yes, there are some books (two, actually, to be precise) I have reviewed that as it turns out, did make it to the Oprah Book Club list¿yikes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall

    This book has one of the most unique plots I have ever read, it's very intriguing and interesting, you can't help but feel like you're in the middle of the story yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    i liked it

    i honestly enjoyed every word of this book and have now re-read it mutliple time so that i can better understand exactly what the author was trying to portray. if you pick up this book expecting it to be something else, as i also did, i would hope you are intelectual enough to realize the metephorical sense behind every word the author carefully picked to illustrate his innermorst thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1