Customer Reviews for

The Raw Shark Texts

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow.

I find it strange that there are no comments or reviews about this LOVE story. haha. What I mean to say is that this book is one of the greatest and most tragic love stories I've ever read. Maybe it's lacking on the romance as far as most love stories go. However, ...
I find it strange that there are no comments or reviews about this LOVE story. haha. What I mean to say is that this book is one of the greatest and most tragic love stories I've ever read. Maybe it's lacking on the romance as far as most love stories go. However, it still is a testament to the bond that is shared and the devastation caused when you lose that bond(in this case because of death). I absolutely loved this book. Not your typical thriller, not your typical love story.

posted by Anonymous on July 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

you should know what you're getting into

honestly - i got this book on a b&n recommended stand. i decided to get it based on reviews from the front cover and the vague description. little did i know the ridiculousness i was about to read. parts were sweet, i did enjoy recollections by eric about his love... un...
honestly - i got this book on a b&n recommended stand. i decided to get it based on reviews from the front cover and the vague description. little did i know the ridiculousness i was about to read. parts were sweet, i did enjoy recollections by eric about his love... unfortunately the rest of it was totally unexpected and unwanted. its like picking up a book expecting a love story and getting an erotic novel. the whole thing is a metaphor - i guess - and complete off-the-wall "science fiction"-ish? maybe i was dumb and not to say the writing wasn't good, but i had know idea the book wouldn't include an actual shark. EVERYONE SHOULD KNOW: THIS BOOK INCLUDES A "MIND/MEMORY-EATING" SHARK. IT INVOLVES CAGES, LITTERALLY MADE OF STORY BOOKS, OTHER PEOPLES MAIL, AND VOICE RECORDINGS OF PEOPLE YOU DON'T KNOW. THIS IS NOT A NORMAL, "COULD HAPPEN" STORY. anyways, for some, whatever read it. i just wouldn't have had i known.

posted by 986106 on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    Wow.

    I find it strange that there are no comments or reviews about this LOVE story. haha. What I mean to say is that this book is one of the greatest and most tragic love stories I've ever read. Maybe it's lacking on the romance as far as most love stories go. However, it still is a testament to the bond that is shared and the devastation caused when you lose that bond(in this case because of death). I absolutely loved this book. Not your typical thriller, not your typical love story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A Cerebral Novel of Great Depth

    One of my Top Ten. Hall has an interesting style of writing that distinguishes him from the crowd. A thought provoking page turner. I have read this multiple times and find something new within each time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Page-turner

    This book had me at the back cover. It was a thrill ride from begining to end. It was definitely odd, but amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Read it.

    This is not a book for the atypical mindset. Approach it differently. Be as a much of a blank slate as the main character starts out as, a man with amnesia and no sense of who he is and ready to embrace everything he doesn't know, and you'll find yourself embracing the fantastical and loving it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    For those who love Palahniuk and Danielewski. But let's give credit where credit is due.

    I write this review now from the screen of my Nook -- that's right I have forgone getting up from my bedly comforts and forsaken all keyboards to write a review. Chances are if you're colored intrigued by the headline alone then you should read this book. However, if you've never read either ofthose authors let me provide this: read this book. Seemingly innocuous at first, you soon will be unable to escape this lovely literary oddity as you crush through the pages seeking answers. One of the few works of fiction I have thoroughly enjoyed in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    incredible

    best book I ever read; period

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Profound read!!!

    This is the kind of book you will either love or hate; I loved this one! This was a profound book for me personally and has stuck with me. Sure, some things that happen may seem over the top but if you want a good read to escape reality, baby, this one is for you! Think The Matrix meets Alice in Wonderland meets Lost! And yes, there is a Shark! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Probably my favorite novel ever.

    This novel is nearly flawless. It is incredibly original, thought-provoking, existential, and surprisingly exciting and a real page-turner. It won't be for everyone, but it is accessible for those who aren't afraid to have their reality turned upside down. It is almost cliche to say now, as so many others have, but it is as thrilling as Jaws, as mind-bending as the film the Matrix, and as exciting as a Bourne film/novel. One thing I will say, is don't look forward to see how many pages there are in the book, or you may ruin the ending like I did, as the last pages have pictures, not text. Just know -- there are 435 pages of non-stop thrills!

    If you even like Neal Stephenson just a little, you will love this book. Absolutely brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    You won't put it down until you've turned both covers!!!

    "The Raw Shark Texts" is an amazing feat in fiction writing. I have never read anything quite like it. I saw the book and the cover art looked interesting so I bought it and started to read it. The story, characters, plot, and originality of the book are amazing! I found myself wishing I was in the book; however, you feel like you already are in the book after reading the first few pages.

    If you want to spice up your reading life, then this is a must buy! You will not be able to put the book down, and you will be turning the pages as fast as you can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    The sharks are here!!

    The Raw Shark Texts really gives new light on how much imagination really is bottled up in the world still. The book starts off with a bang. I mean considering that the first few pages are dramatic and packed with unsure action, the reader cant do anything other than keep reading so they can find out exactly WHY the protagonist is in this situation.

    Waking up in a room with no recollection of who you are or why you are there is hard enough, but doing that while gaining, ever so slowly, the knowledge that OTHERS know who you are, is even harder. The main character of this story is an ultimately broken man. He has to search for who he is and why he has come to forget everything he is and ever was. In the midst of this, he has a predator that he could have never imagined.

    The pages just seem to fly by in the honestly amazing page turner. Recommended for people who enjoyed the speed and complexity of both The Davinci Code and Angels and Demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    True Literature

    I read quite a lot as a stay at home mother and my job allows me hours a week for it as well. This is the first book in a long time in which I have seen such beautiful writing and vivid imagery. Steven Hall finds words that you wouldn't think of using to conjure up accurate imagery in your mind. The first page has this sentence in description of him waking up on the floor and gasping for air: "Static behind my eyes bacteria-swarmed dangerously towards another blackout and, snow-blind and shaking, I pushed my wet mouth down tight into the palms of my hands, trying to pull controlled, steady breaths through my fingers-". An amazing find, I feel lucky to have taken a chance on this new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2009

    The Raw Shark Texts ... excuse me while I first close the loop.

    This was an amazing read that sucks you into a warped world where memories and information come to life. You really start to believe in Eric Sanderson's experiences and start to look at reality in a whole different way. The conceptual creatures come to life and at points truly invoke a sense of panic like any good horror or suspense novel should. You forget that you are dealing with fiction and begin to wonder what conceptual creatures you may be attracting as well. This is a great, intelligent read that leaves you wondering where reality ended and the fantasy world began. The lines are so artfully blurred, you lose the sense of reality and are swept of in a world that you are forced to believe along with the protagonist. Great stuff, looking forward to more Steven Hall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In a Class of its Own

    I would like to start by saying that I have not yet finished The Raw Shark Texts. I have enjoyed every chapter, every single word of this book so much that I have been deliberately prolonging my reading just to avoid that fateful day when there will be no more of it left to read. It is a rare treat when every single chapter in a book leaves the reader feeling both entirely satisfied with their experience and yet ravenous for more. There is no other book, that I have read, to compare this book to. It simply isn't like anything else out there. The reviews in the cover will say it's like Pynchon or Borges and the Matrix (yeah...not so much), but that's like saying red is like blue just because they are both colors. If you are in the mood for a deep and engrossing novel, and you are the adventurous type, I highly recommend The Raw Shark Texts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    Amazing.

    The Raw Shark Texts was a thrilling adventure for me to read. I could picture every detail Hall had written within the pages. The life in the characters had stayed alive and moving. It was so suspenseful that I couldn't even put the book down! I had to bring it along with me absolutely everywhere I went. Eric Sanderson[main character] had an amazing personality. Though there were some chapters in which I did not understand what in the world he was thinking about doing, he was still a wonderful character. The connection between Eric's two lovers were so close. [Not trying to spoil]. The Raw Shark Texts is a great read if you like a thriller and heart pumping action book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    The Raw Shark Texts is one of the best books I have read recently

    When I started this book, I was first a bit put off by the weird premise and the odd diagrams. But once I persevered, I was so taken with the characters that I willingly suspended my disbelief. This is one of the few books I have read recently that stayed with me for a long time after finishing it. It is literally a book about ideas - and how the world is so full of verbal concepts that they have become a life form. The largest of these - the sharks - need to feed on humans' thoughts depriving their victims of large parts of their memories. The struggle of the protagonists to survive and remain fully human is alternately thrilling, scary and touching. (There is also a loyal cat who makes the journey with them.)<BR/><BR/>As much as I loved this book, I recognize that it isn't for everybody - much of it is abstract and the premise is indeed out there. But for those who are willing to go along for the ride, it is well worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    Unforgettable Fiction

    Readers do not have to look any further than the inside cover to find a reason to read Steven Hall¿s groundbreaking novel, The Raw Shark Texts. The thing that caught my eye was a quote by Mark Haddon, author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. He described Hall¿s first novel as ¿the love child of The Matrix, Jaws, and The Da Vinci Code. I was skeptical at first. Before reading this book, I would not have thought combining those three stories was possible, but The Raw Shark Texts did not fail to live up to the praise. By the time I had finally put the book down, I could not think of any better way of describing it.<BR/> The book, available in paperback for just $14, begins with the protagonist, Eric Sanderson, awakening without any recollection of who he is in a house he does not recognize. He is told that he suffers from a mental illness and that three years before, he lost the love of his life in a tragic accident. On that day, he began to slowly lose his memory until he had no idea who he was. That was the doctor¿s explanation, but there was another side to the story. Eric was enlightened on what truly occurred in a series of letters left on his doorstep¿letter signed by The First Eric Sanderson.<BR/> It is Steven Hall¿s unique writing style that makes The Raw Shark Texts so good. It is written in the first person from the point of view of Eric. The reader learns bits and pieces of the puzzle just as the main character does. Hall is able to convince the reader to believe the same things that Eric does, no matter how farfetched those things may be. It is no surprise that Hall won the Original Voices Award for this book, for, as the Los Angeles Times describes, he ¿wrote on the edge of the form.¿ Although this was just his first novel, I expect to see many more Steven Hall books on the best sellers lists in future years.<BR/> There is much more than just a unique plot and writing style that makes The Raw Shark Texts such a great book. You are sucked into the thrilling quest from the moment you begin reading about it; it is nearly impossible to put down. The thrilling adventure that Hall takes you on will have you daydreaming all day about the unique new world he creates in his writing. The Raw Shark Texts is truly unforgettable fiction that lives up to all the hype. I would recommend it to anyone I know¿readers will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    Unforgettable Fiction

    Readers do not have to look any further than the inside cover to find a reason to read Steven Hall¿s groundbreaking novel, The Raw Shark Texts. The thing that caught my eye was a quote by Mark Haddon, author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. He described Hall¿s first novel as ¿the love child of The Matrix, Jaws, and The Da Vinci Code. I was skeptical at first. Before reading this book, I would not have thought combining those three stories was possible, but The Raw Shark Texts did not fail to live up to the praise. By the time I had finally put the book down, I could not think of any better way of describing it.<BR/><BR/> The book, available in paperback for just $14, begins with the protagonist, Eric Sanderson, awakening in a house he doesn¿t recognize and without any recollection of who he is. He is told that he suffers from a mental illness. Three years ago, he lost the love of his life in a tragic accident. Since that day, he has slowly been losing more and more of this memory until it was entirely gone. That was the doctor¿s explanation, but there was another side to the story. Eric was enlightened on what truly occurred in a series of letters left on his doorstep¿letter signed by The First Eric Sanderson.<BR/><BR/> It is Halls unique righting style that brings this novel to life. As described by the Los Angeles Times, he ¿writes on the edge of the form.¿ He makes you believe the story Eric believes. Once you begin to read, you cannot put the book down. This was Hall¿s first book, and it certainly won¿t be his last. I expect to see many more best-selling novels in his future. As far as The Raw Shark Texts go, it is a book I would recommend to anyone looking for a book that is different. Winner of the Original Voices Award, the creativity that Hall displays is truly incredible. The Raw Shark Texts will not leave any readers disappointed. My expectations at the beginning of the novel were high, and Hall went above and beyond them in what I believe to be the best book of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Engaging, Absorbing

    An absolutely incredible, compact, dense, surprising, and engaging book. I could not put it down. I am now reading it for the second time to pick up on anything I missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Couldn't put it down

    I finished this book in nearly one sitting! Action packed and keeps you guessing at every turn. I loved the ending, mostly because I couldn't guess it before I got there. The book has you believing in unimaginable things and shrinking away from the logical you believe exactly what the main character believes and his fears can chill you to the bone! Awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic book...

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I was instantly hooked...I hated when the book was over. Read this book as soon as you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3