BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rawhide Down: The Near Assassination of Ronald Reagan

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A detailed recap of an eventful day in 1981

    I found this book to be a very good and somewhat detailed review of the events that took place one dreary day in March 1981. I can still recall that day, and remember hearing the news on the radio that Brady had passed away. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book, and would recommend it to anyone interested in President Reagan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    heroic!

    An excellent account of a scary time in American history and an even better account of a true American hero. Very well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    If you are a Ronald Reagan fan like I am, this is a must. There are other books about President Reagan but this gives an in depth picture of John Hinkley's assassination attempt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Great read. Fast and informative

    The book reads real easy with a pace that is quick and organized. Characters are developed only as far as they need to be - but their backstories are also interesting. Good incite into the workings of government and the Secret Service.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Great

    Great account of the day. Easy read. Well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended - great account of the day of the attempt!

    The author went to a great deal of effort to provide a very in-depth account of what happened on the day of the attempt to assassinate President Reagan. I couldn't put the book down. Definitely recommend reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    So so 

    So so 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Wilber On Reagan's Near Assassination

    It's an interesting story involving the handgun sitting in an evidence bag in drawer of an FBI office. It was a story that was supposed to be about corruption involving Ethiopian taxi cab drivers and turned into a story about the day Reagan was shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Reagan

    I read this book liked it as i rememberd when that happened they cut in on general hospitalit goes to show youuthat the nutsare not all inthe psycho ward theyshould reviwe the ones that are running around loose this book got theevents of thatday correct regina from nj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    great read- very well written

    very compelling, definitely worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good read

    A page turner good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    A VERY GOOD READ. This book is well researched and written. Goo

    A VERY GOOD READ.
    This book is well researched and written. Good writing - very paced and engaging. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Wellworth the read.

    What you never knew and have forgotten. Easy read full of information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Was there

    Was less than 15ft. From the shooter. This book tells it like it was. No frills just the way it happened

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    A must read

    Well written, informative account of a time many of us remember. There things I had forgotten about and others I didn't know about. An easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Great read

    Easy read explained alot about all the confusing reports bac then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Very good read.

    As one who usually reads supermarket schlock, I bought this book after hearing the author give an interview to The Preston and Steve Show on WMMR. I could not put this book down! As a forty something who truly believes that Reagan was the best president in my lifetime, this account of those days was a true testament of who our president was. I highly recommend this to history buffs and even to those who just want to delve into something a bit different.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Entertaining

    Quite readable and detailed. Very few questions unanswered. Unknown parts of the story told here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Great book!!!

    This is definitely worth reading if you enjoy modern history and true crime books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    Great historical read

    A nicely paced book and interesting look at the behind the scene events of the assination attempt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6