Customer Reviews for

Ray of Light (Days of Redemption Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shelley Shepard Gray in her new book, "Ray Of Light" B

    Shelley Shepard Gray in her new book, "Ray Of Light" Book Two in The Days of Redemption series published by Avon Inspire takes us into the lives of Roman Keim and Amanda Yoder.

    From the back cover: When two hearts connect on a beach in Florida, is it a brief romance . . . or the start of a lasting love?

    After family secrets come to light, causing an uproar, Roman Keim is taking a much-needed vacation to Pinecraft, the Amish snowbird community in Florida. The warm weather is a welcome break from the bleak Ohio winter, as is a week off from all his family's drama. But Roman's own drama begins when he meets his next-door neighbors: Amanda Yoder, a beautiful young widow, and her adorable daughter, Regina.

    In the two years since her husband died, Amanda has never looked at another man. She certainly doesn't intend to get married again. But she can't deny that there's something special between her and Roman. As his week in Pinecraft comes to a close, Amanda knows that, in spite of her attempt to remain distant, she's given Roman a piece of her heart. And her daughter seems to have fallen in love, too.

    Is there hope for a second chance at love for Amanda? Or will duty call Roman home first, far from the two women who have captured his heart?

    I made a mistake. I did not read the first book in this series, "Daybreak". But that is okay as Ms. Gray did a wonderful job in keeping this a stand alone within the series. It helps if you know what happened in the first book however it does not detract from the current goings on. Amanda is a widow of two years with a daughter, Regina. She is not looking for a new husband, though she did promise her late husband that she would move on with her life. Roman is on vacation for just one week, moves in next door to Amanda, and makes friends with Regina. This serves as the catalyst for the relationship between Roman and Amanda. Amanda lives in Florida, Roman lives in Ohio and he is only going to be there for one week. How is this relationship ever going to work out? Ms. Gray deals with issues of the death of a spouse and moving into a new relationship, how a child deals with the death of a parent and accepting a new one and creating a blended family. Not easy subjects. In the hands of a lesser author working with all these elements might not work but Ms. Gray is so skillful this story shines brightly. Ms. Gray makes you care for all the characters and their journey. And it is a romance. Roman and Amanda have to learn how to trust God and each other to deal with their issues so that they can let go and embrace their future. It is watching all of this happen that is just plain fun and exciting. Well done Ms. Gray.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    We are on a return visit with the Keim family. Viola is planning

    We are on a return visit with the Keim family. Viola is planning her wedding and has a trip planned to Belize to get to know where she will be living with Edward. There are also some secrets that have been hidden for years that are about to come out.
    This story is focused a lot on Roman Keim. It begins with him in Pinecraft FL, and him having a well deserved, first time vacation. What a wonderful time for him, seeing the Ocean, and then seeing a beautiful Amish Woman and her delightful Daughter.
    Amanda Yoder has been a widow for two years, and is still lost. She had promised her husband that she would start of live again, but she hasn't been able to take that step. Now Roman has entered her world. He takes a big shine to her two year old daughter Regina. You will love the sweet antics between Roman and Regina. Has Amanda found another man to love? Will things be able to work out for them...with her living in FL and he in Ohio?
    There are some very serious decisions to be made, both in their private lives, and in their religious life.
    Don't miss this continuing story, and if you haven't read the first book...do so you are in for a real treat.

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and the Publisher Harper Collins, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This story picks up where book one left off. All the family dram

    This story picks up where book one left off. All the family drama in the Keim familly has having proven to be more than Roman Keim wanted to deal with. He decided to take a well deserved vacation going from ice and snow of Ohio to the sunny beaches in Florida. His cousins have a condo right on the beach and they have invited him to come spend a week. It has been a healing experience for him. He is not a very outgoing person but since a lovely young woman, in the condo next door, caught his eye his world has become a whirlwind of emotions. Which is very good. The woman as well as her darling little four year old girl that have taken up a special spot in his heart. 

    Amanda Yoder is a widow of two years and she too is taking a well deserved vacation. The minute Roman Keim walk up to her on the beach he was like a ray of light. She could feel herself healing because of this handsome caring man. He was not only a healing balm for her but more so for her daughter, Regina. Regina did not trust anyone but to her surprise opened up like a flower to the sun. Amanda does not want to let go of her deceased husbands memory yet she is drawn to the possibility of a new love in her future.

    The author writes of healing for so many of the characters in this book. Giving up the past to God and and going forward for the plans he has for them. Some of the characters cling to the pain of the past not so willing to give up what is eating them alive making them bitter and depressed. Why is it so hard to let go of the past? My heart ached for all the characters and was glad to see the healing process in all of them take place. My favorite characters in this book were Regina and Elsie they had more strength than all of them in the end. 

    I highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity Group/Harper Collins for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Summertime is the best time to find some exceptional books to ta

    Summertime is the best time to find some exceptional books to take to the beach or lakeside to immerse yourself in and I've got a great recommendation for those of you that love Amish Fiction. Take Shelley Shepard Gray's latest novel from her Days of Redemption Series, Ray of Light. This is the second book in the series and even though it's part of the series, you can pick this one up as a stand alone and still enjoy it just as much as the first one, Daybreak.

    In Ray of Light, we meet Amanda Yoder who is living in the beach side Amish town of Pinecraft in Florida. She has spent the last two years attempting to find a way to move forward in her life after losing her husband, Wesley and is raising her daughter Regina on her own. Despite all the help from her in-laws, they don't seem to think that two years is enough time before Amanda can attempt to find a new love for herself and Regina. She hadn't exactly been looking for anyone either but when her next door neighbors brother comes to town, he seems at ease in talking to Regina. She hadn't been socializing much since her father died and it seems she has found a true friend in Roman Keim.

    The only problem with this romance is that Roman is strictly in Florida on vacation and is leaving back to Ohio in a week. What will happened between Amanda and Roman? Will they both be willing to walk away from a potential relationship or will one of them be willing to uproot their home and move closer to the other?

    I received Ray of Light by Shelley Shepard Gray compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Avon Inspire, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I've been a huge fan of Shelley's for quite some time and loved the blend of my favorite places Amish country in Ohio alongside a beachfront setting in Florida. It shows just how many times God will show us a ray of light in the darkest of our storms to teach us better things are on our horizon.

    In relationship between Amanda and Roman there is hope being restored for each of them in the process. For Amanda its not only about finding love again but finding someone that it suitable for her younger daughter. Regina only makes the process that much easier when she befriends Roman before Amanda realizes what is happening and that relationship between them is genuine. Not just because Roman finds Amanda more than attractive. He understands the trust that must accompany his actions and words in respect to both Amanda and Regina. Now if they can only find a way to make the distance between them work. You'll have to read this one to see what happens along their journey as well for all the families involved. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Another good read from Ms. Gray

    I enjoyed this novel as I do her other novels. Amish people are a very simple and hard working people who run into the same types of situations we all do. Ms. Gray has a way of making her stories interesting—and the reader can learn some valuable life lessons within the pages she writes. If you enjoy reading Amish novels you will enjoy "Ray of Light."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    This is the second book in the "Days of Redemption" se

    This is the second book in the "Days of Redemption" series. If you read the first book, "Daybreak", you know that the story of the Keim family is unraveling with the ending of secrets and the beginning of honesty and transparency for the whole family. Roman Keim is the steady, even-keeled member of the family and even he feels like escaping for a while. His trip to Pinecraft, Florida brings literal and figurative light to his life. It's a sweet story of first love, renewed love, and a bit of revelation of how the love and laughter of a child can bring out the best in people. The story does, indeed, bring a "ray of light" to the Keims, as their continuing story unfolds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    A good summer read.

    A very good book most of authors books are great stories are well done. Getting ready the the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I loved Ray of Light the second book in Shelley Shephard Gray's

    I loved Ray of Light the second book in Shelley Shephard Gray's Days of Redemption series. More secrets are revealed and Viola and Ed's relationship continues as Viola visits Ed in Belize and sees what a wife of a missionary will be like.
    I loved getting to know Roman, Amanda and Regina, Amanda's little girl. Roman while on vacation in Florida meets Amanda a widow and her little girl Regina. Roman was drawn to Amanda from the moment he saw her. Amanda is still mourning the loss of her husband. Roman and Amanda's relationship drew me in and I found myself really pulling for them as they dealt with obstacles in the way of their relationship. I fell in love with little Regina and her carefree little girl spirit. She made me smile and at times laugh.
    I'm really enjoying the series and can't wait for Eventide the third and final book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    This is the first book I have read by this author and I am happy

    This is the first book I have read by this author and I am happy that I said I would review it. There were a couple of things that drew me to this book, one is that is is a book about the Amish which I love and the second is that is is set in Florida which is where I live so I enjoy reading books that take place here. I have not read the first book in the series yet but I did not have any trouble reading this book. I do want to now go back and read the first one as well. Another thing I liked about this book was how it had a romance feel to it without it being heavy. This was also a story about moving on but not forgetting the one we have lost. It is good to show how that can be done. I think is a must read book especially if you are a fan of Amish Fiction. 5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. At first I was a little hesitant

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. At first I was a little hesitant. I didn’t read the first book and in the beginning it seemed like there were a lot of characters and I was having trouble following, but I didn’t have to worry for long because I soon settled into a familiarity with all the characters. I loved that it was such a sweet story and not only was it a sweet story, but it was such a moving and touching tale of moving on past loss and grief. That was probably the best element of the story. We shroud grief so much in our culture that we don’t always talk about how we move on, we just expect people to do it. But this story, this story was such a moving example of the conflicting emotions around moving on. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it made me wonder about the people in my life who might still be grieving and how to help them, even though I’m sure that was not the intent, that it’s not like a self-help book or non-fiction book. I also love how the title, Ray of Light, can apply to so many of the characters in the book. It’s fun to make all those connections. I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes clean romance, as well as to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1