Customer Reviews for

Raylan (Raylan Givens Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Raylan

I love Elmore Leonard and I love the FX series Justified, led by one of the greatest TV characters, Raylan Givens. Inspired by the excellent series, Leonard decided to write a new novel featuring Givens, a U.S. Marshall in Harlan County, Kentucky. Raylan, as all Leona...
I love Elmore Leonard and I love the FX series Justified, led by one of the greatest TV characters, Raylan Givens. Inspired by the excellent series, Leonard decided to write a new novel featuring Givens, a U.S. Marshall in Harlan County, Kentucky. Raylan, as all Leonard's novels do, features spectacular dialogue, which is always entertaining to read, along with characters that are always interesting to follow as they go through several double-crosses and gunfights. Raylan isn't as much a novel as it is a book with inter-twined novellas. Reviews for the book have said that there are three "novellas", but from what I read, there are clearly four, excellent, fun novellas in Elmore Leonard's most recent criminal masterpiece.

posted by McCarthy92 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Glad I watch the television series

I don't often think a television series or movie is better than the book but this is one of those times that I could have skipped the book. While I like the character Raylan Givens, the characters in the book are not well developed so if I had not already been familiar ...
I don't often think a television series or movie is better than the book but this is one of those times that I could have skipped the book. While I like the character Raylan Givens, the characters in the book are not well developed so if I had not already been familiar with them by watching "Justified" the book would have been very weak indeed. Also, the story seemed to have no cohesiveness. As a previous review mentioned, it was like two episodes written into a book. However, in this case there was no character development to meld the two together. I commend the producers of "Justified" for "seeing" promise in Raylan because this book was disappointing after watching the series.

posted by jonibo on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Raylan

    I love Elmore Leonard and I love the FX series Justified, led by one of the greatest TV characters, Raylan Givens. Inspired by the excellent series, Leonard decided to write a new novel featuring Givens, a U.S. Marshall in Harlan County, Kentucky. Raylan, as all Leonard's novels do, features spectacular dialogue, which is always entertaining to read, along with characters that are always interesting to follow as they go through several double-crosses and gunfights. Raylan isn't as much a novel as it is a book with inter-twined novellas. Reviews for the book have said that there are three "novellas", but from what I read, there are clearly four, excellent, fun novellas in Elmore Leonard's most recent criminal masterpiece.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    It's Elmore Leonard...what's NOT to love??!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Amusing, reminded me of the show

    As I read this, I kept seeing the actors and actresses from "Justified" in the characters. I found myself laughing at some of the scenes. Will have to look for the first two books to see how the characters began. I enjoyed it & would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More Cornpone

    Resurrecting Raylan Givens, the U.S. Marshall from Kentucky given to wearing a Stetson cowboy hat and shooting instead of apprehending, Elmore Leonard once again uses his unusual talent for writing droll dialogue and creating amusing and unusual characters to entertain the reader. This time, he begins in Harlan County, where marijuana is king instead of coal (100 pounds of weed can fetch $300,000) which apparently doesn’t satisfy two nincompoop sons of the dope-grower who turn their attention to reaping and selling body parts.

    Then the author goes on to tell us about another cast of characters, with the slyness only he can muster. It’s a world only people created by Leonard inhabit, and they talk as only he can make them speak. Read it and laugh. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Glad I watch the television series

    I don't often think a television series or movie is better than the book but this is one of those times that I could have skipped the book. While I like the character Raylan Givens, the characters in the book are not well developed so if I had not already been familiar with them by watching "Justified" the book would have been very weak indeed. Also, the story seemed to have no cohesiveness. As a previous review mentioned, it was like two episodes written into a book. However, in this case there was no character development to meld the two together. I commend the producers of "Justified" for "seeing" promise in Raylan because this book was disappointing after watching the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Not recommended

    Not one of Elmore Leonard's better works to say the leas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Certainly not EL's best

    This is more of a series of well-written stories than a novel. As Raylan wanders around Kentucky the plot meanders too, without any real cohesion. Ultimately, there is a tie, but the thread is very thin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Great read. Elmore Leonard is a master.

    I have been a fan of the series Justified since it came out. When I found out that it was taken from Elmore Leanord's novels I had to read them. I love his writing style and this book does not disappoint. The characters of Reylan Givens, Boyd Crowder, the Crow brothers and others are all introduced in this book. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Great read.

    If you're familiar with the tv series, you'll like this one. It has Boyd Crowder, the Crowes, and plenty of action. Raylan is bad-ass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    This was an awesome novel,filled with some eccentric characters.

    This was an awesome novel,filled with some eccentric characters.Carol Conlan is a wannabe iron lady of a mining company,Liz Burgoyne is like some version of paula deen with long dark hair and has an inclination to cheat on her husband and likes to drink,Cuba Franks is some street thug who used to have sex with Liz Burgoyne on the regular while her husband's away(picture 50 cent and Paula Deen),the crowe brothers are two redneck idiots who were selling herb and smoking it and then turned to being kidney snatchers and the list goes on.All the while in this story,my man Raylan Givens has to navigate through these and other characters in Harlan County,Kentucky in his way of being a modern day, wild west style law enforcer.Raylan is a very cool guy and I hope Mr.Leonard write more about Raylan Givens and I've been into the character since the short story"Fire In The Hole".This is truly a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    I have really enjoyed the first two Raylan Givens book, where he

    I have really enjoyed the first two Raylan Givens book, where he is a spectacular ensemble character with a winning attitude for deciding good and evil.  In this third book, entitled RAYLAN,  I have mixed feelings.  I liked it but don't particularly like the "combined short story" feel of Raylan in this book.




    The great theme of stealing kidneys from living people, and selling the kidneys back to their owners, was a great start to the book, but it needed more fleshing out before Raylan got involved.  I really hope Leonard will stick to expanding on his ideas for books rather than writing to the "money" because the TV show based on the first Raylan books is so successful!!  I suppose I am too hard on this terrific author, but I say this because he IS a terrific author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raylan, Just Raylan

    Fan's of FX TV channel's hit show, Justified, will be excited to read Elmore Leonard's new book, Raylan. Justified is based on a short story by Leonard where the characters in the show were introduced. Raylan Givens is a U.S. Marshall who grew up in Harlan County, Kentucky. He worked in the coal mines as most men did, but got out as soon as he could and ended up in law enforcement. After a showdown in Florida where he shot and killed a fugitive, he is transferred back to Kentucky.

    Raylan is back with the folks he grew up with; his family and former friends, but things are not the same. Many of those he knew break the law routinely, and he is now responsible for bringing them in when they do so. The book is full of shady characters, from pot-growing and Oxcy selling drug dealers to a female coal-mine owner's thug, from poker players to men who will do anything for a buck. One of the more interesting characters is Boyd Crowder, a former miner who is now The Head of Disagreements for the coal mine owners. There are female bank robbers and a kidney-stealing ring who steals kidneys from the owners and then ransoms them back.

    Raylan is a laconic Marshall who speaks little but what he says others need to listen to. He is known for his ability to outdraw and shoot to kill when needed. The violence is casual but deadly, and the stories in the book contain betrayal and loyalty, shifting alliances and an underworld of criminals who are determined to rule the area. This book is recommended for crime novel readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Weird collection of interlinked stories. Not as good as the pre

    Weird collection of interlinked stories.
    Not as good as the previous Raylan book "Pronto" or the story "Fire in the Hole." Nor as good as the series. But, a decent read nonetheless. Almost as if Leonard was writing treatments for the series (especially since the first story line in the book resembles parts of the second season).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    The Series is much better

    The plot is simple minded, it read like the author phoned it in. Skip this book. I've read a few Elmore Leonard books in the past, none of them have been "literature", but this one is further away than most.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Leonard's usual fine style!

    Loved it, love Raylan Have read Leonard for years, then rediscovered him when my husband and I got hooked on TV's "Justified". A great read, great characters, and close to authentic Southern accents and mind-sets. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    If you enjoyed the tv series, "Justified" you must read this one!

    Elmore Leonard fans will surely not want to pass this one up. I was not disappointed, even after watching all the tv episodes of "Justified" before reading the book. This character Rayland is really entertaining. U.S. Marshal Raylan Givens illustrates law enforcement in the most cynical and aggressive mode. A modern day Wyatt Earp on steroids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Justified

    When I read this story I can help but imagine the characters from the TV show Justified. Everything in the story is brought to life comparing it to the TV show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    If you like the tv series 'Justified' you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    pretty lame

    This book filled some time and that's all it was really good for. I almost didn't finish it but had nothing else to read at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Raylan was a great Elmore Leonard read. Leonard's distinctive st

    Raylan was a great Elmore Leonard read. Leonard's distinctive style comes through with Raylan's one sentence dialog. The book is very reminiscent of the TV show. I listened to the audio of this book and the music and delivery of the lines were like the TV show also. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4