Customer Reviews for

Raymond and Graham Rule the School

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Raymond and Graham Rule the School

really, I thought it was awesome. How could you ask for more in a kids book? Funny, self-deprecating, and never taking itself too seriously. honestly, I thought it was great. I'll be on the lookout for similar books. I think they really scored a slam dunk.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Raymond and Graham Rule the School

This was a really fun book for my three boys, most of the way through. They laughed a lot, and the comedy is the strong ability of the author. I would not hesitate to give it a solid recommendation. However, there is one fatal flaw that I am really surprised no one e...
This was a really fun book for my three boys, most of the way through. They laughed a lot, and the comedy is the strong ability of the author. I would not hesitate to give it a solid recommendation. However, there is one fatal flaw that I am really surprised no one else seems to have noticed. The book has some off color humor. I realize many think it's a minor thing, but if it's so minor, why include it? This is a major concern of mine on kids television and even the movies. I had no idea it had leaked into childrens lit as well. I really felt even though it was short, it was still inappropriate. It's not as though boys need any more encouragement in this area. Truley, they need less. So I'm sad to say I'm gonna have to pass on any future R and G for something that is able to stay wholesome throughout. And I'm going to have to give it a 'disappointing' grade. Not because the writing is disappointing--it's actually very good. But because some of the content is very disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    This was a really fun book for my three boys, most of the way through. They laughed a lot, and the comedy is the strong ability of the author. I would not hesitate to give it a solid recommendation. However, there is one fatal flaw that I am really surprised no one else seems to have noticed. The book has some off color humor. I realize many think it's a minor thing, but if it's so minor, why include it? This is a major concern of mine on kids television and even the movies. I had no idea it had leaked into childrens lit as well. I really felt even though it was short, it was still inappropriate. It's not as though boys need any more encouragement in this area. Truley, they need less. So I'm sad to say I'm gonna have to pass on any future R and G for something that is able to stay wholesome throughout. And I'm going to have to give it a 'disappointing' grade. Not because the writing is disappointing--it's actually very good. But because some of the content is very disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    really, I thought it was awesome. How could you ask for more in a kids book? Funny, self-deprecating, and never taking itself too seriously. honestly, I thought it was great. I'll be on the lookout for similar books. I think they really scored a slam dunk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    woot. me and my friends love raymond and graham they rule but there kind of nerdy but in a awesome way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Yeah

    I ruled my high school...alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Strongly recommended.

    I loved this book! It made me laugh super hard! It is great for all ages, including adults! The author, Mike Knudson, came to my school and I got to have lunch with him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    REALLY GOOD

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Rayn Raymond and grayam rule the school

    The story is awesome.it might be a little inapropriate but funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    4th grade MEN?! LOL

    this book is short but really funny. I definetly recommend for laughs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh out Loud

    My son literally laughed out loud while reading this book. He would go back and re-read the really funny parts to all of us. If you talked about the book days later, he would just start cracking up! These authors are absolutely fabulous - getting boys to love and stay interested in reading good children's literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    Wonderful read

    A humorous gem. My kids loved it. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    Great kids book!

    Congrats to the authors. They've done a fine job. Very funny and delightful. Best, most sincere wishes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    This reads like it could be a great answer to the Junie B. Jones series, something boys could really get into. I also notice comic parallels with classics from my own generation like How to Eat Fried Worms. Glad we found it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    Highly recommend for parents who enjoy reading with their children. Very humorous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Now since when????!!

    Since when are public schools the place for salesmen to come peddle their wares????? My kids say the authors of this book came to their school, did a really great marketing presentation, and brainwashed them with what a great book it was. Now: Here's my problem with this. If we are going to teach our kids how to read and write, let's do it. But I highly doubt that is the purpose of this books' appearance in my childrens school. How about the kids who get allexcited about the books, but their parents can't afford to run right out and buy a book? Where do we draw the line with sales pitches in school? Maybe I ought to show up with my amway products and pretend I'm trying to teach the kids 'marketing' concepts while also selling them floor cleaner. Good grief. bottom line is that the kids got their way, I'm out 15 bucks for it, and the book isn't even good. Let my statement stand for the record: really good kids books sell themselves, and never should public school time be pawned off to travelling salesman pushing their wares off on children. Any parent ought to resent the direct pressure put on children and their parents by this kind of invasive marketing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    extra cute

    I really liked it, what can I say? still a kid at heart I guess. Tons of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    Perfect for my third grader who reads at a fifth grade level. I was nervous getting this book for my daughter, with two boys as the main characters. My daughter is 9 years old has gone through the Junie B. Jones First Grader series. She is a good reader and we've been looking for something a little longer, but not too advanced. She loved it. I read the first few chapters with her and we both laughed and laughed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    funny but lacking imho

    My boy came home from school last year demanding a copy of this book. It seems the author had visited his school. So we bought the book and There are some pretty good comic moments, but what concerns me about books like this is that they don't really teach kids anything of lasting value. There's just no enduring message here. Sort of like an episode of Hannah Montana. Just a meaningless half hour of entertainment. I'd personally rather have my kids reading Bridge to Terabithia, Because of Winn Dixie, or any number of true, time-tested children's classics that have a lesson to teach. It seems publishers are most inclined to publish books of entertainment value rather than true quality these days. Just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    In the never ending search for books that will inspire my 10 year old to read, this book was recommended to me by an elementary librarian friend. Not only did my son enjoy it, he is counting down the days until the sequel comes out in a few weeks. I read it first to make sure it was appropriate. I found it to be a fun, entertaining story with real life situations that my son could relate to. It is rare to find a book that will hold a 10 year old's interest and leave him wanting more. I give it a strong recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule!

    I read this book to a class of third and fourth graders, mostly boys. I had no idea that the students, the aides, the teacher and I would all enjoy it so much. There were days when we could not stop laughing. I think it is one of the all-time funniest books for children I have ever read. I would definitely put it in the top three. I taught elementary school for twenty years and also spent many, many hours reading to my daughter, so this rating comes from someone who had read lots of great and not- so-great books. Everybody-- the 8-10 year old students and the 30-60 year-old adults-- loved the chapter about the unibrow most of all. Just thinking of it makes me laugh. As you can see from the age range of the people in the classroom while I was reading the book, the authors successfully appeal to a very wide audience. I am delighted to see that Mike Knudson is coming out with a second book in early Sept. I can't wait to share it with my class. I hope he realizes how much the 3rd, 4th and 5th grade students 'especially boys' of America need Raymond and Graham to keep us laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Raymond and Graham Rule the School

    This is just plain funny. These two characters'fourth grade boys' expect to have the best year ever, as they are now the oldest kids in the school. Then school begins and their lives go nothing like they expect. It is written in the wonderful voice of a fourth grader. Their experiences and perception of teachers, parents, and the opposite sex brought me back to my own childhood. I bought this for my third grade son. We read together and finished all 120+ pages in two sittings. I've had a difficult time finding books that will keep him interested. This was a gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2