BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Reached (Matched Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 590 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

Best series ever!

I love the first two books so much! A must read.

posted by 4729396 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

71 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

Reached is the third in the Matched trilogy. In this final insta

Reached is the third in the Matched trilogy. In this final installment, Condie will answer most of those pesky questions the reader has been asking and explanations to the mysteries of the Society and Rising. Happy days are ahead!
-----
To be quite honest, I was un...
Reached is the third in the Matched trilogy. In this final installment, Condie will answer most of those pesky questions the reader has been asking and explanations to the mysteries of the Society and Rising. Happy days are ahead!
-----
To be quite honest, I was underwhelmed with the first half of the book; it was slow and I had a difficult time getting into it. I don't know what's going on with some of the authors lately, but there seems to be a lot of unnecessary and boring fluff going around. For example, remember in Crossed when Cassia reads a note from Xander stating he has a secret he wants to tell her in person? Condie drags this out for a long time, even after both Cassia and the reader have figure out what the secret is. Then I started to think there was a huge, surprise revelation in the making because surely the author would not drag out something so insignificant. Prepare yourself for disappointment. Bad editor!
-----
Then there is the letter Cassia writes to Xander with her own confession. The confession is at the end of the letter, which, of course, is damaged and unreadable. So right when Xander gets to the important part, WHAM- it's gone. I tell you, Ky may have been victimized by the Society, but Xander takes a beating from the writing- the author's that is.
-----
Things did start to get exciting when Condie finally starts revealing those answers and explanations I mentioned earlier. I have to say, the connection between the Society and Rising is genius, although very Matrix-like. I thought it was awesome and just the right amount creepy.
-----
Now to the whole Otherlands issue, which always remains mysterious- Does it really exist? Is it so wonderful that no one ever wants to come back, even to tell the others? Or is it all a fantasy and everyone who goes there dies while trying to find it? I could go on with all the possibilities, but I won't. Neither will Condie for that matter. For those of us oldsters, it is very reminiscent of Logan's Run.
-----
And then the whole love story thing kind of fixes itself a little too easily. Any competition or complication is quickly remedied or killed off. I'm glad Cassia ends up with who she does, but she should suffer a little bit over her decision. Wrapping things up in a nice neat package and giving her an easy out is overly unrealistic. I guess I have to keep in mind that we are talking about a book geared toward teenagers and some authors underestimate the intelligence of this particular audience. I think it does a disservice to young adults to assume they want to end the story with all flowers and bunnies.
-----
Condie did a really good job of bringing everything together in the end. There were some good "[Luke], I am your father" moments, which makes me wonder how the author does this. Does the author design a flow chart of characters ahead of time and make the story match? Or does the author write the first book with no idea where it is going, the book becomes a huge success and now she has to figure out how to tie everything together? Did she plant a seemingly insignificant detail in the first book with the full intent of using it as a spectacular revelation with far reaching consequences, or was it an afterthought? With a series, I would think there are a lot of pages and time in between books to mess things up, but with Reached, the author really did deliver a believable connection between characters and details in the end.
-----
Unfortunately, I thought the first part of the final scene was a bit cliché, especially with what is going on at the time of its release. In addition, Condie leaves room for another sequel or, more likely, a spinoff. Don't be surprised if you see more books come out dealing with rebuilding Society, a new rebellion with Xander as the leader or a freakish Brave New World in the Otherlands. They could work.

posted by Suvorov on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 323 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Best series ever!

    I love the first two books so much!
    A must read.

    52 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I love the matched trilogy the books are great cant wait til november

    43 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Love the trilogy

    I can hardly wait untill november!!!!!!:)

    35 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Sigh

    I love them i dnt like tye first book but wow the exitement happend and i could nt put it down allso thebest part for me is ky he sounds perfect loving sweet carefful what more can there be with the amazin twist female version of the giver

    19 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Awesome! A well crafted romance story told in a straight forward

    Awesome! A well crafted romance story told in a straight forward manner, bringing out thoughts, feelings and actions of the characters in a wonderful way. Ally Condie did a great job here. The story flows smoothly, the writing is at best lyrical and the plot is good. I find the descriptive element amazing and Condie made an effective use of dialogue. The narrative got me hooked, an effect I think the book will have on other readers. It reminds me some of the stories in The Shades of Fire. This is generally a respectable story.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Omg best series eva

    I love h suspense and romance in tis series cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. It's an awesome series. very well written. re

    I loved this book. It's an awesome series. very well written. recommended!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Great

    I love the trilogy but i wished a different ending for Xander though.......

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Love the whole series!!!!!! READ HEM I LOVE THE WOLE SERIES!!!!!!!!! I WOULD SERIOUSLY RECCOMEND THEM TO ANYONE!!!! READ THEM!!!!!

    These books are so good and are such page turners!!!! I would seriously reccomend reading them!!!!!!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Awesome book

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!
    O

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    To all

    It comes out November 13.

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Comr Come out now

    I will die if it dosent come out soonet


    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    CANT WAIT!!!!!!!!

    Sgjbffjnbtxhj OMG I LOVD THIS SERIS

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    youmust read this trilolgy

    it is prbally one of the better futureistic book series that are out there. it has little bit of everything. Romance, action,and mystery.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    when does this book come out?

    I loved Matched and Crossed, can't wait for Reached. Anybody know when it comes out?

    4 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have the first two and im getting Reached November 13 the day it comes out I'm so exicted!

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Party

    At lola result one

    3 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    i love this book ,but i have to say i need a spin of series of b

    i love this book ,but i have to say i need a spin of series of both Xander and Ky. i dont think i chose whos side i was on until the end i won't say but i wished she picked the other dude. i feel so sad for the guy she doesn't pick i think i would chose him any day! ; ) throughout the whole series Xanders point of view brought tears to my eyes. Ky seemed a little shady in the second book with him burning the map and all gosh! Indie really loved one of the dudes in this book i felt sorry how it all went down. lea i dont think i can really say her name but wow was that interesting. the part about the dad and mum was quite sad. it sounded like Bram really matured over this time span. it kinda left us on a cliff at the end of this who wins the vote????????????? i NEED an epilouge for both Xander and Ky, but i really think i NEED a whole spin off series or something. i just finished the series and i couldnt stop thinking about it because it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i loved it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i wish she picked the other person. were is mathew and like adia kys family ??????????????? like thats why i need a spin off series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i really really really wish she pickedn someone else , but im so hppy they found love too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! those are probably my only problems with this besides that it was great, outstanding, and wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE make a spin off series. i really am sad about who she chose. oh and DONT look at the end. i used to do that and its a bad habbit to break so PLEASE DONT read the end. thank gosh i fixed my habbit before i read this series. we NEED a spin off series. i wish she chose someone else so prepare for heartbreak.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent End :) Everything has a beginning. A middle. And an

    Excellent End :)

    Everything has a beginning. A middle. And an end. I fell in love with the beginning. It held true through the middle. And there it remained, steadfast through the end. I feel a small sense of loss now that it's over. Unless I read it again, which I'm sure I will, these characters aren't going to be with me any longer. Their story is over and it makes me a bit sad.
    In this book, as I figured we most likely would, we get to hear Xander's voice as well. I am so in love with Ky, but in reading this book, a part of me couldn't help but feel for Xander. I mean he's just so good. He puts everyone before himself and even though he's in love with Cassia he doesn't act out with jealousy, he does everything he can to help her and Ky. He's just a very amazing character and the end of his part of the story brought me joy.
    This is so unlike any other "Love Triangle" type of book I've ever read. The guys aren't tearing each other down and making snarky comments or anything of the sort. These three all truly care about one another. Ky and Xander formed a friendship long ago, shortly after Ky arrived in their borough and their respect for one another remained and it was a refreshing change.
    There were things that absolutely made me think things like..."Omg..no way!"..like the red garden day, as an example. Those who read it will understand what I mean. I thought that was a pretty cool twist. There were lots of highs and lows. Losses and findings. Was I thrilled about everything? Absolutely not. But it wasn't my story to tell. Still I think it ended as it should. It felt about 99% complete. There were two people who were...left incomplete, but really in the end it all still felt right.

    And so I leave you with one request now that it's over... "Do not go gentle into that good night..." :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Beautiful and as real as can be

    I just finished it about 2 minutes ago and it has an utterly beautiful ending. I'm crying from it. Just beautiful . They've-Xander, Cassia and Ky- been through so much. The best book in the trilogy. I admit i was hesitant to get this as i wasnt sure how i felt towards Matched and Crossed but this book is utterly the best and i dont regret one bit of me buying it. It had the perfect amount of everything. The best ending for the story. The best. Even if you were hesitant or thinking about it you'd realize that its worth it. The begginning was a tad slow but built into the intense middle and you realize you needed that calm before the storm. It was overwhelming and you get sucked into their thoughts, feelings, their very lives like you are there with them watching struggling and crying and feeling with them. Scared with them. It's a great read that i wont forgot. I reccomend it to a fan of any genre or style. Its for every single person out there. Five stars from me. No doubt.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 323 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17