Customer Reviews for

Reached (Matched Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 596 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Best series ever!

I love the first two books so much! A must read.

posted by 4729396 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

72 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

Reached is the third in the Matched trilogy. In this final insta

Reached is the third in the Matched trilogy. In this final installment, Condie will answer most of those pesky questions the reader has been asking and explanations to the mysteries of the Society and Rising. Happy days are ahead!
-----
To be quite honest, I was un...
Reached is the third in the Matched trilogy. In this final installment, Condie will answer most of those pesky questions the reader has been asking and explanations to the mysteries of the Society and Rising. Happy days are ahead!
-----
To be quite honest, I was underwhelmed with the first half of the book; it was slow and I had a difficult time getting into it. I don't know what's going on with some of the authors lately, but there seems to be a lot of unnecessary and boring fluff going around. For example, remember in Crossed when Cassia reads a note from Xander stating he has a secret he wants to tell her in person? Condie drags this out for a long time, even after both Cassia and the reader have figure out what the secret is. Then I started to think there was a huge, surprise revelation in the making because surely the author would not drag out something so insignificant. Prepare yourself for disappointment. Bad editor!
-----
Then there is the letter Cassia writes to Xander with her own confession. The confession is at the end of the letter, which, of course, is damaged and unreadable. So right when Xander gets to the important part, WHAM- it's gone. I tell you, Ky may have been victimized by the Society, but Xander takes a beating from the writing- the author's that is.
-----
Things did start to get exciting when Condie finally starts revealing those answers and explanations I mentioned earlier. I have to say, the connection between the Society and Rising is genius, although very Matrix-like. I thought it was awesome and just the right amount creepy.
-----
Now to the whole Otherlands issue, which always remains mysterious- Does it really exist? Is it so wonderful that no one ever wants to come back, even to tell the others? Or is it all a fantasy and everyone who goes there dies while trying to find it? I could go on with all the possibilities, but I won't. Neither will Condie for that matter. For those of us oldsters, it is very reminiscent of Logan's Run.
-----
And then the whole love story thing kind of fixes itself a little too easily. Any competition or complication is quickly remedied or killed off. I'm glad Cassia ends up with who she does, but she should suffer a little bit over her decision. Wrapping things up in a nice neat package and giving her an easy out is overly unrealistic. I guess I have to keep in mind that we are talking about a book geared toward teenagers and some authors underestimate the intelligence of this particular audience. I think it does a disservice to young adults to assume they want to end the story with all flowers and bunnies.
-----
Condie did a really good job of bringing everything together in the end. There were some good "[Luke], I am your father" moments, which makes me wonder how the author does this. Does the author design a flow chart of characters ahead of time and make the story match? Or does the author write the first book with no idea where it is going, the book becomes a huge success and now she has to figure out how to tie everything together? Did she plant a seemingly insignificant detail in the first book with the full intent of using it as a spectacular revelation with far reaching consequences, or was it an afterthought? With a series, I would think there are a lot of pages and time in between books to mess things up, but with Reached, the author really did deliver a believable connection between characters and details in the end.
-----
Unfortunately, I thought the first part of the final scene was a bit cliché, especially with what is going on at the time of its release. In addition, Condie leaves room for another sequel or, more likely, a spinoff. Don't be surprised if you see more books come out dealing with rebuilding Society, a new rebellion with Xander as the leader or a freakish Brave New World in the Otherlands. They could work.

posted by Suvorov on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    :)

    I cant wait to get this the first 2 were really good

    25 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    G

    Cant Cassia just be happy with whom shes matched with and get over that glitch!!!!!!!!??? Seriously she makes a gigatic blob of a problem! That doesnt really help any!!!!!!!! Honestly

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I loved both Matched and Crossed, but was extremely disappointed

    I loved both Matched and Crossed, but was extremely disappointed in the 3rd installment. The entire book seemed to drag and I had so much trouble getting myself to want to continue to read it. While with the first 2 I devoured quickly. I couldn't seem to get myself to care what happened to any of the characters. I only made myself finish to see if I would be happy in the end. All I found myself was disappointed and looking forward to reading something else. All in all Reached was a huge disappointment for me.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Gk

    I gotta admit it wasnt the best series ever but i still read this book. To me the ending was disappointing and sudden and it feels like not enough exciting things happened and not enough was revealed and i was confused. We didnt even find out much about the otherlands and what their new government is like (rising or society or something else.) This is a mehh book in a mehhh series. Im glad.it ended. Oh yeah and the story felt basically emotionless

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Dreadful, boring. I loved the first book, enjoyed the second boo

    Dreadful, boring.
    I loved the first book, enjoyed the second book, forced myself to finish the third book.
    I had hopes that a lot of questions would be answered in the third book, but unfortunately my questions were left unanswered.
    I had ideas of where the third book might go but I cannot believe the Plague was the focus of the book. I felt Ally just did not have an idea of where to go for the third book and threw together a boring book about the plague that did not answer questions from the first two books. I a just shocked about how bad the third book was.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    SUCKED

    I think this book was horrible. It was confusing and just did not emd the right way. Now sont get me wrong the first book was amazing. Second book i can live with but this one the third im disgusted that i even have a copy of itm not to mention how big it is. It just takes up space sitting there on my book shelf and collects dust. Now a good book th read is Divergent or Delerium. They were amazing and i do Not regret reading them!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Lost in translation

    Series started out good with matched, from a single point of view, then book 2 was where things started coming apart. By reached I lost interest because switching Between 3 characters was just too much, I felt like the characters lost that something special because the author was trying to cover way to much ground in 3 books. And I felt like we lost important information by switching so much. I liked the theory of the book, I just felt it was last in translation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Not worth it!!!!!

    After I finished reading Crossed, I wasn't sure I wanted.to continue readong the series. Sadly, I have regreted that decision ever since.

    My first issue with this book was how bland it was. Especially Cassia. Ugh, I could probably write a whole reveiw about her. The entire time she was acting like "Oh I love you Xander, but I love Ky more." Then she is like "Oh I changed my mind, I love Xander." Chick, make up your mind.

    Another problem I had was how utopian-like the writing was. Everything was wrapped up into several pretty packages. All lose ends were cut off and tied. Despite the fact that I hate it when authors kill off a character or something like that, I understand that it is crucial to the story line. Not in this case.

    My final rant is that I was expecting a Mockingjay-type ending. Complete with the epic rebellion. But, no it had to be hippie like. Grrrrrrr. I am such an action girl.

    Recomended for-12 and up, people who hate an action filled rebellion, hippies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    G

    This books SUCK!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Reached

    Again with the hunger games!!!! COPY CAT!!!! I mean look at the facts : there are three hunger games books hmmmmm, it a love triangle in the hunger games hmmmmmmmm, the hunger games has huge climaxes o wait this does not have any!!!!!!!BUY THE HUNGER GAMES;)

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    when will it end

    To be honest this book was awful and very slow. The only reason i finished was to see what the point of the story wsd and the resolution if the love triangle. Disappointed.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Ferno Blade

    It suckes like soup

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Your right it was horriblr

    I hated this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    One of the worst trilogies I've ever read.

    The first book in this series was not bad though somewhat confusing, I left it got better READING and eventually picked it back up for lack of anything else to read. The second book was better and made me purchase the third. This book by far is the worst in the series. So bad I cannot finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Book

    *horrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Info please

    Cant stand ridiculous romance can someone obje ctive
    ly tell me if its a good read or not?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Let me spare you some pain.

    There isnt a feeling worse than when you realize you just wasted a good ten bucks on a terrible book. I could have used that money to buy a sno-cone or something *wipes away tears*
    Some words are worth millions, but the words in this book were worth about a nickel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    It wont work

    I bought this book and it installed really qyickly surprisingly. But when i tried to read it, it came up blank! There wasnt even any cover, book page numbers,and i couldnt even turn the page! I tried archiving it and unarchiving but its still blank. But thats not all, now all my other nookbooks are totally blank.......i dont know what to do please help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Hi

    Hi

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Omg

    I am sorry i have to say this but thos book suck i only read a 58 page sample and i couldnt read no more i just couldnt

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2