BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Read-Aloud Handbook: Sixth Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Great Resource Book

    As a teacher of young students, I will use this book often to help me select appropriate books to read-aloud in my classroom. It would also be a very helpful reference book for new parents as it would help them select good books to read to their children. I'm glad I purchased it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent Resource In Understanding the Importance of Reading With Children

    As a student striving for a Masters in Elementary Education, I found this book to be extremely useful in understanding the importance of reading to children and how reading impacts reading and academic success throughout schooliing.
    This book is great for parents and teachers alike. Jim Trelease points out important facts to understand behind a child's reading development, and how reading daily impacts learning.
    It was very easy to read and understand, many examples and stories in order to relate to, and a great resource in finding books that are right for your child or student at any given reading level.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Must Read!

    This is a must-read for all parents and parents-to-be. In fact, I think it makes a great baby shower gift. Not only does it have excellent information on why it is important to read to your baby/child, the second half of the book is made up of lists of read-aloud suggestions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Have for a Family Library

    I first checked this book out from the Library. I was so drawn to it that I purchased it. My boys are 8 & 10. I originally just thought it to be a brief description of books to read to the boys at bed time. It was so much more. I have implemented some of the suggestions such as SSR. I had tried this before but after reading the book realized why we failed. ALso love the idea about CC for the TV.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    this book "the read aloud-hand book" provides very informative and appealing resource for educators and parents. This book also includes many cases in real lives to show how important it is to read books for childrent both silently and lou

    As I picked up this book and leanded about the author who is the chief editor of penguin group, I was drawn to this book and started reading right away. This book truly shows how important it is to read book to children in terms of education. Not just this book encourages parents and educators to read aloud but also it provides very practical mathods along with best practice implemented world wide. As a mom who has been enthusiastic and enjoying reading for my kid, I could get valuable information including recommended book list and also reading methods,..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    An amazing miracle because of this book.

    This book saved us from a lifetime of heartache. I read this book when my boy was very small. I did not know then that he was autistic, learning disabled, and hearing impaired. The school said he would never read. I homeschooled him using the knowledge I took from this book. I taught him to read by reading to him. Today he is in a Master's program for Library Science! Thank you Jim Trelease!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    New Parents

    This book is a wonderful resource for parents. Through stories, letters from parents, and up-to-date research, Trelease provides an overview of the benefits of reading to kids and of books. My husband loved the book too. This would be a great gift for new parents as the author recommends reading from birth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Every parent should read this book

    I have purchased and given this book to several of my friends and parents. It shows the value of reading aloud to your child. It also give some suggestions for parents of reluctant listeners. It should be required reading for every parent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great gift idea!

    This book, along with a few infant board book favorites, is often my gift for expecting parents. It should be a mandatory read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also love Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

    Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, soI speak from experience, not hypothetical theory.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2