Customer Reviews for

Read My Lips

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

For Serena Nelson, fitting in has never been easy, but it was possible.

A punk skater at heart, she had her own niche of like-minded friends who didn't mind that she was deaf. Serena's talents for lip reading are excellent, and allow her to live a pretty norma...
For Serena Nelson, fitting in has never been easy, but it was possible.

A punk skater at heart, she had her own niche of like-minded friends who didn't mind that she was deaf. Serena's talents for lip reading are excellent, and allow her to live a pretty normal life.

When she moves to a small town, the preps in her new school see her talent as something to profit off of, and use Serena to get the juiciest gossip, enticing her with a membership into a secret sorority and the promise of fitting in.

But will her so-called friends go too far?

READ MY LIPS is an attention-grabbing page-turner. Serena is a smart and edgy narrator, who is quite normal despite her condition, and doesn't seek attention because of it. Her desire to fit in is something that we can all empathize with, and the lengths that she goes to do so are relatable. But it's how she fights back and overcomes those that belittle her that makes READ MY LIPS such a compelling and quick read.

The story is a delightful mix of complex characters, biting wit, and the angst that comes with making new friends.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the worst "teen" novels out there

This book is essentially a poorly written fanfiction story. Highly dramatic and stereotypical. For example, the "popular" girls in the novel are completely horrible one-dimensional characters who only use the protagonist as a mean to read people's lips and stop talking ...
This book is essentially a poorly written fanfiction story. Highly dramatic and stereotypical. For example, the "popular" girls in the novel are completely horrible one-dimensional characters who only use the protagonist as a mean to read people's lips and stop talking to her when she doesn't. I found this book to be absolutely ridiculous and a waste of time. Teen fiction contains a lot of horrible stories, but this is one of the worst. I found many typos within the text as well.

posted by joslynzombie on April 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    For Serena Nelson, fitting in has never been easy, but it was possible. <BR/><BR/>A punk skater at heart, she had her own niche of like-minded friends who didn't mind that she was deaf. Serena's talents for lip reading are excellent, and allow her to live a pretty normal life. <BR/><BR/>When she moves to a small town, the preps in her new school see her talent as something to profit off of, and use Serena to get the juiciest gossip, enticing her with a membership into a secret sorority and the promise of fitting in. <BR/><BR/>But will her so-called friends go too far? <BR/><BR/>READ MY LIPS is an attention-grabbing page-turner. Serena is a smart and edgy narrator, who is quite normal despite her condition, and doesn't seek attention because of it. Her desire to fit in is something that we can all empathize with, and the lengths that she goes to do so are relatable. But it's how she fights back and overcomes those that belittle her that makes READ MY LIPS such a compelling and quick read. <BR/><BR/>The story is a delightful mix of complex characters, biting wit, and the angst that comes with making new friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    This is one of those great finds that you sometimes run across when searching through older books. This was such a cute book. Serena's new friends tend to use her skill of lip-reading to dig up dirt and information. She is deaf, but rather than learn sign language, she instead learned how to lip-read extremely well, where she can read what someone is saying from across a large room even. Her unique talent in this caused some rather funny scenarios that had me grinning and laughing.

    Although there were funny scenarios, Serena also learns some not so nice things that make her feel guilty for spreading the information to her eager buddies. This relationship between herself and her friends complicates her relationship with the guy she likes, Miller.

    I loved the growing relationship between Serena and Miller. It was a cute romance. Additionally, I loved how neither Miller, or anyone else seemed to make too big of a deal about Serena's disability. It was refreshing.

    I would highly recommend this book if you are looking for a fun, lighthearted read that will lift your spirits and make you happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    Great book.

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    LUVED IT!

    Read My Lips was an awesome book. I really liked that the main character was deaf, it really showed how much I take my hearing for granted. Also I liked the story, I couldn't stop reading it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Liv's Book Reviews

    This book was decent. I hadn't read very many reviews prior to reading it so I wasn't sure what to expect. And I was pleasantly surprised. The faults in the book, I think were that the character development wasn't great, the plot was predictable, and the whole concept of the sorority seemed rather random and thrown together for me. But don't worry, there were other parts of the book that were good too. I like that the author tackled the new subject of being deaf. I've never ever read a book about anything along that line and it was very cool to read something from the point of view of someone who had to deal with the challenges of being deaf every day. It really put that in perspective for me. I also liked the character of Miller a lot. While he was moody and hormonal, which got a little annoying, he was mysterious and captivating. I can totally imagine falling for a guy like him. *sighs* Don't you just hate it when you read about some perfect guy in a book and then realize that they aren't real and you're going to have to find some less than perfect guy to fill the gaping whole that this character left in your chest (slight exaggeration there)? I mean, Edward, Cabel, Owen, Jace, Dimitri, Jacob (can't believe I just wrote that), and now Miller. Ugh! Why can't authors write about detestable icky guys for once so that us fan girls can leave our hearts open for realistic and might I say, slightly disappointing guys. :D /rant. Ha. Anywho, when all is said and done, Read My Lips was a pretty decent book. Nothing spectacular or mind blowing but it was a nice and fluffy summer read nonetheless, and one that I'd recommend if you want to read something quick and light.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Read My Lips

    This novel is fantastic, and I recommend it for anyone who can lip read, especially deaf people. I related to this book because I am deaf and I lip read to communicate with others most of the time. The life of deaf people is often revealed in the story, such as how they deal with meeting new people or trying to adjust to classes in school. Serena also portrays the hardships and difficulties of what deaf people go through in life. What is different about the main character, Serena, from me is she uses her talent of lip-reading to fit in at her high school by keeping up in the gossip of everyone, even teachers. The unexpected comes from the teachers, and it is amazing what the teachers in the book try to keep secret from any of the staff in the high school. Read My Lips is a perfect example of what high school students will do to fit in with other cliques or groups, how far they will go, even if it involves ruining others' personal lives. The author does a good job of showing how much drama can really occur in high school, for most high schools anyways. The crazy acts sororities create to invite new members is also a part of this high school in Read My Lips, although it is a secret sorority, banned from the school! Many people don't know about lip-reading, and this novel can help anyone understand it. Just because the main character in this novel lip reads other people's businesses doesn't mean that all deaf people or ones who lip read do the same thing, and I don't do that for sure. Overall, I think Read My Lips is great for understanding or learning about the lives of deaf people and the lives of today's high school students, particulary girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    A very fast reader

    This book was awesome You should definitely read it Warning. Way to much cussing and Gods name in vain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is such a good book! As soon as i started to read it i couldnt put the book down. Read this book if you like the stories about love and a little humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1